We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and well priced”
Review of Dancing Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dancing Bear Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Like the other reviewers, I found it a fair value but the room was not clean, a sticky drink on the floor had not been cleaned. Food smells permeated the entire building, and not good food smells. Stay away from room #4, the window opened onto a very noisy air conditioner on the neighboring building. Any rooms on the west side of the building would have the same noise factor. The other side of the building seemed to have more space between it and the adjoining building.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernquest60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Dancing Bear Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

I don't understand the negativ reviews here. The Dancing Bear Inn is a great hostel for a great value. After you entered the Daning Bear Inn you have to take off your shoes. Sounds a bit unusal but it is a great idea as it keeps the rest of the hostel clean. The rooms themself are clean and ours had a sink in it.
One bad point is indeed the parking because the parking lot fits only 8 cars. We found a place and really enjoxed our stay in Nelson. Whenever you have a question, ask the friendly staff.

No I don't got paid for that review, but really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaRockies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in a triple private room for 2 weeks while waiting to move our son into the residence at the local college. At first view of the room, we were a little disappointed at the bed configuration - a double bunk on bottom and a single on top, but we made do as there were few options being the city was experiencing a high volume of visitors at that time due to local events. The front desk clerk did offer to call around to find us alternate accommodation elsewhere. They offered a reduction on the room price and we made do - it was late and we would try to find another hotel the next day.

As it turned out, I liked the atmosphere of the hostel and we did alright. The cost was probably half that of a hotel or motel in the area. I purchased a hostel membership for $35.00 and then I received a members price for my entire stay.

A shortage of shared toilets on the second floor, where we stayed, was the main issue - there was only one for nine private rooms, but two showers on the floor. Each room had it's own sink, so at least you could wash up and brush your teeth in your own room. The storage locker in our room had a flimsy and frustrating lock. We had our son's school equipment, our laptops, cameras and lots of other expensive items. No problems with theft or feeling at risk though.

I liked the shared communal kitchen downstairs. I never had any problem with access to using the fridge, stove or other equipment. We met lots of nice people over meals. A problem was that some guest left piles of dirty dishes on the counters and in the sinks, which made it hard to prepare food and clean up afterwards when we needed the facilities. The owner posted a note to the offenders, but nothing was done for a full day and likely the the guilty party had left the hostel. My husband ended up cleaning up the mess as we were tired of looking at it. I felt the owner should have looked after this sooner and it's just part of owning a hostel - deal with it!

Parking was limited. If you don't arrive by early afternoon, the small parking lot behind the hostel was full and you only have street parking, which is metered weekdays 9-5. There was also the problem of getting blocked in by other guests vehicles.

Overall, mostly clean, mostly quiet, beds were small but comfortable. Good storage area downstairs - lockers and bike racks. Outdoor bbq and picnic table area.

I would stay again.

Room Tip: If two or three travelling together, get a private room for the same price as the singles.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceansidegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We're traveling around B.C. for 3 weeks. The rooms are horrible, really tiny and not clean either. I hate the fact that the bathroom and toilet are shared. The location is good though and the staff is very friendly. Price is good for what it is. I would defenitely not recommend this to friends and family as I really not enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our bicycle touring group, 15 in all, used the Dancing Bear as an overnight stay midway through a Victoria Day Weekend tour of British Columbia's "Silver Triangle" route (a.k.a. "Silvery Slocan").

This is an urban, downtown hostel. Parking is terrible. We had to wait for a window of opportunity to bring our large support van around via the back alley to unload food, luggage etc. Not sure how you would fare if you arrived there by car. The place is built in to a hill: kitchen and back alley are downstairs from "street" level.

The person on duty graciously allowed us limited access earlier than the posted check-in time (4:00 pm) so we could stow our bikes. It was nice to see she had the names and the room assignments of all our group.

The indoor storage area for bicycles was nice, especially on that rainy day. So was the hose outside for washing the bikes down.

Rooms were nice for a hostel, mattresses were in good shape. No dust bunnies under the beds! (unusual for a HI hostel). The shared bathroom downstairs was a little "interesting" ... note over the toilet to please take care raising the lid, bolts broken awaiting a replacement (wonder how long ...?)

The sitting room on the ground floor (street level) is a pleasant place to sit, chill and chat. Nice to see a pay phone, and inside at that. There is a public computer with coin-op Internet access.

The kitchen and food preparation area, downstairs on the back alley level, is pretty minimal. Only two picnic sized tables. If you had more than one group trying to prepare a meal at once there would be issues.

CAUTION with the WATER: we filled up our water jugs from the sink in the laundry: water was TERRIBLE, possibly dangerous. Tasted like bleach, turned some stomachs. The rest of the taps in the building seemed OK. Had they recently worked on the pipes? Word to the wise: taste it first. The may have a grey water system and this may be what we inadvertently filled up from.

Overall this hostel came to us with a great reputation; our impression was "a little better than OK but not stellar".

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank energizer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I think this place would be worth it just to hang out in the lounge, a nice warm escape from chilly Nelson. My 6 bunk dorm room was massive, any other hostel would have jammed a couple more beds in there but instead it was super spacious. Plus I was in there alone and got a great sleep. The kitchen was so-so, a bit small but clean and had all the utensils etc that you need. Location is handy for hitting up restaurants and pubs on and around Nelson's main street. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Stayed at the Dancing Bear Inn during summer 2010 after reading reviews here. The hostel was as advertised- in a good location downtown and was a good value for the money. I havent done much Hosteling before, and the rooms/common areas were very clean and comfortable. THe only draw back here was that the restrooms were not as clean as the other Canadian hostels I visited. i was expecting shared bathrooms, but didnt realize at this hostel both sexes share the same bathrooms-which was different from the other hostels I slept at-and i wasnt super excited about that... but all in all it was a good hostel experience and would recommend if you need a value place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinookgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Inn

Address: 171 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dancing Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dancing Bear Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dancing Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing