We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Town”
Review of Dancing Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dancing Bear Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Best Hostel in Town”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I am coming from Kelowna to Nelson every weekend and I stay here.
This place is very nice clean and safe. If I was in charge I would paint the walls in the kitchen a bright color. No complaints other than than fantastic staff fantastic location great music in the lounge. Will return, ask about month rates for the off ski season if your not just in nelson for the powder.

Room Tip: Private rooms are nice you have a little more space. I saved money and just use half my bed as a she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_sierhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    29
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
18
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Another great hostel in the powder triangle , great staff and friends
Nelson is such a cool little town with a great hart, super friendly and great bc bud wiser,;) great location and pow pow
Will be going back to the koots for sure

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeldrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed at this hostel a week in January (2013). They just had renovations done so almost everything in the house looks new and it's very clean. Guests and staff were very friendly. The dorm is well designed so it doesn't feel like a room for 8 people. There's always nice music playing in the reception, which is also a comfy living room with a fire place and nice couch, and the kitchen. The only inconvenient is that there aren't enough bathrooms (the hostel wasn't full so it was ok).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montbline_Parsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Dancing Bear Inn has clean dorms and private rooms, a somewhat cramped kitchen, well-equipped communal washrooms, comfy lobby, and inviting foyer with a fireplace. The staffers are very courteous, helpful, and ponctual. The only thing missing is a TV room, but for the pri-ce, I am not complaining. Very good value and right prices. Cheerio!! Value: ****.



Note: I will OFFICIALLY arrive in Nelson at 6:50 P.M. (P.S.T.) on Friday, 02/22/'13, on the Greyhound bus via Kelowna. I already reserved my dorm bed with a valid VISA credit card. Ciao!!

Room Tip: 3 different floors to choose from. It will be my third stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I had a very happy one night stay at this Hostel this (2012) summer. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean (we chose to stay in a private room, rather than in the dorms). There were not, in my opinion, enough bathrooms, and of the two bathrooms that served all the guests on our floor both, only one had a WC. But the usual hostel facilities were great, the whole feel of the place is remarkably welcoming, and the location in downtown Nelson, is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I only stayed in Nelson for a few days, but I got to explore the whole town, because everything is in walking distance.
The Hostel was very nice and clean, I especially like that you have to take your shoes off, so that the floors stay clean.
However my room wasn't very nice (I was staying in a 6-bed dorm), as I had the feeling I was staying in a cellar. Although the room had a large window, you couldn't really open it and once opened the noise of the air conditioning of the hotel next to the hostel was very loud.
Besides that, you cannot do a lot in the hostel as they don't have a common room that offers activities other than surfing on the internet or reading.
But all in all a nice hostel, not much to do there, but definitely the right place if you're looking for a clean & cozy stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in room #4 - private twin bunk bed with sink and mirror. The room was clean along with the mattresses which were also comfortable. The hallway was air conditioned at certain times in the evening but our room did not seem to be. Yes it was a bit noisy with the window open but we found people talking outside to be louder than anything else. The noise definitely carries… but you need the window open for fresh air as it can get stuffy. Having the sink and mirror in the room was a bonus for sure! Very convenient.
Parking sucks: 2 squeezed-in spots in the front-side, 5 spaces in the back and yes I could easily see someone being blocked in by another vehicle. Very crammed! Parking on the street is great but you have to pay Mon-Sat 9-5pm. So you can park for free on the street overnight – just need to leave by 9:00AM.
Both my husband and I believe it was a good value overall – it’s not a hotel it’s a hostel, so yes you share the bathroom and shower. Not a biggy – seemed clean enough for us.
Shared kitchen had everything you need along with a large commercial type fridge.
Staff were accommodating when we asked to change our arrival and departure dates.
We would return to this hostel for sure. There are 2 other hostel types to consider: White House Backpackers Lodge and The New Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Inn

Property: Dancing Bear Inn
Address: 171 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dancing Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dancing Bear Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Dancing Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing