We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dancing Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dancing Bear Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Nelson B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this great wee hostel in Nelson BC.

Friendly staff, great attention to detail like the cleaning, fantastic new kitchen, great location.

Really hard to find any faults with this great place. if I was to suggest any improvements they would be small, here some for you to make an great hostel even better : some wooden or stiffer plastic cooking utensils as the flexy ones they have are no use, be worth the cleaners having a maintenance needed reporting system as the tap in the bath room and bin lid needed fixing for several months and so easy to address those small things if there is a system in place.

If I was them I'd build bespoke bunks out of wood in the dorm rooms ( which would fit well with the wooden trim else where in the building, then the lower bunk person has more head room and slightly longer beds, also this would save money as I think the wooden bunks they have will not last long. check out the ones at the green tortoise in Seattle, each with its own reading light and curtain making each bed a separate zone with in the dorm room, a great solution. That also means room for 2 lockable storage spaces under each bunkbed which would mean two lockers per person-staying, another great improvement for longer term residents.

But really this is improving on perfection, as this is such as great place, check out the entrance area, super nice.

music played in communal areas is a good idea, but I'd get some play lists made up as for example 'Michael Jackson all day' one time was not good!

the more Nelson 'folk' type tunes were much better.

Overall a great place to stay highly recommend.

Look forward to saying in the future.

Room Tip: So see note re bunks, would improve sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
18
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have done a decent amount of travelling(Europe, SE Asia) and this is one of the cleanest hostels I have come across. AS well, the staff are exceptionally pleasant. The Hostel is on one end Nelson's main street, Baker. Therefore, the hostel makes a great launching pad to get out and see the sites. I will certainly be staying at the dancing bear for next years powder trip!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a good time in Nelson with a great stay at the hostel (March 2013). It is very neat and clean with friendly staff, a small library, collection of board-games and renovated self-catering kitchen(with range of utensils and cookware). The only little inconvenience was the absence of mixer tap in one of the washrooms-thus one tap would give real HOT!! water. The overall experience was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj_K3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I am coming from Kelowna to Nelson every weekend and I stay here.
This place is very nice clean and safe. If I was in charge I would paint the walls in the kitchen a bright color. No complaints other than than fantastic staff fantastic location great music in the lounge. Will return, ask about month rates for the off ski season if your not just in nelson for the powder.

Room Tip: Private rooms are nice you have a little more space. I saved money and just use half my bed as a she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_sierhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Another great hostel in the powder triangle , great staff and friends
Nelson is such a cool little town with a great hart, super friendly and great bc bud wiser,;) great location and pow pow
Will be going back to the koots for sure

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeldrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed at this hostel a week in January (2013). They just had renovations done so almost everything in the house looks new and it's very clean. Guests and staff were very friendly. The dorm is well designed so it doesn't feel like a room for 8 people. There's always nice music playing in the reception, which is also a comfy living room with a fire place and nice couch, and the kitchen. The only inconvenient is that there aren't enough bathrooms (the hostel wasn't full so it was ok).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montbline_Parsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Dancing Bear Inn has clean dorms and private rooms, a somewhat cramped kitchen, well-equipped communal washrooms, comfy lobby, and inviting foyer with a fireplace. The staffers are very courteous, helpful, and ponctual. The only thing missing is a TV room, but for the pri-ce, I am not complaining. Very good value and right prices. Cheerio!! Value: ****.



Note: I will OFFICIALLY arrive in Nelson at 6:50 P.M. (P.S.T.) on Friday, 02/22/'13, on the Greyhound bus via Kelowna. I already reserved my dorm bed with a valid VISA credit card. Ciao!!

Room Tip: 3 different floors to choose from. It will be my third stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dancing Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Inn

Property: Dancing Bear Inn
Address: 171 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dancing Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dancing Bear Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dancing Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing