We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another 5 Star Review”
Review of Cloudside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cloudside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another 5 Star Review”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Yet another glowing endorsement of this inn!! We stayed here for four nights on a ski trip to Nelson and I was very sad to have to leave. We had a lovely time on our trip and our stay at Cloudside was a big reason why. We have travelled all over BC and Alberta ski towns staying at similar type properties and Cloudside definitely sets the bar very high. The location is excellent - walking distance to all things of interest in town. Each room is unique and very lovely - we enjoyed sneaking peaks of the furnishings/decor of each one as we passed by. Our room/bathroom was spotless. I had the best sleeps I have ever had at a hotel/B&B; I am a very light sleeper but was never disturbed which surprised me given the age of the heritage property. The delicious breakfasts are different each day and offered plenty of fruits/veggies which are often lacking in other places. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I truly felt that Chris and Sally went WAY above and beyond to be accommodating and welcoming to their guests. Running a business like this means that the owners presence/personality contributes greatly to each guest's experience - Chris and Sally get this and set a shining example for everyone else in the industry. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCorbett02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are very glad that we could meet your expectations and make your trip to Nelson a great one. Thank-you for choosing to stay with us.

Chris and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
192
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Absolutely everything about the Cloudside Inn was wonderful (comfort, friendliness, breakfast quality, hominess) ... except the TV. Singular, no TV in the room and a small 30" (or so) old school one in the common room. To watch the big gold medal hockey game I had to get a dining room chair and put it right up to the TV. Hey Nelson's a sports/outdoor adventure town ... watching it on old technology just doesn't cut it. Don't mind going to a living room to watch, but hey Sally, 50" full 1080 HD TV's have really come down in price. Make a new statement and invest in one!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank-you for your review, and for your generous comments, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. However, we find it hard, and somewhat incredible, to believe that you took the time to post a review on TripAdvisor where the focus was on the TV alone. In common with many, many B&Bs, we opt not to have TVs in all of our rooms, and this is clearly outlined in our website room descriptions. The vast majority of our guests do not watch television whilst staying with us, and even thank us for allowing them to escape from the 'temptation' for a few days (especially those with children at home!). If this was of such paramount importance, as it seems in retrospect to have been, it would have been advisable to have checked this with us directly. However, you opted to book through a third party and we had no contact with you prior to your arrival.

The TV in the guest lounge is a 2013 HD 30" flat-screen model, wired to a satellite service with several hundred channel choices. Only a couple of years ago, this size of TV was hardly even on the market. We are grateful for the opportunity, if this information is ever helpful for any potential future guests, to state that we never, ever intend to buy a 50" home theater-style screen as it would be totally out of line with the nature of our business and our clientele, not to mention the architecture. If such a fixture is crucial to your plans, we do not hesitate to recommend somewhere like the Best Western Plus on Baker Street, which is an excellent hotel and one in which such facilities are accepted and expected, in line with their guest profile. However, we are not a Best Western or a motel; Cloudside Inn is a converted Victorian residence and tries to attract guests to whom such trappings are largely an irrelevance.

There is no issue with price here, but more an approach to style and ambiance, and a reflection of a certain level of values. A larger TV would be completely out of character for our home, the nature of the service we are offering, and the desires of the majority of our customers.

Nelson is indeed an outdoor/sporty community, but it is generally populated and visited by folks who get out there and do it, rather than sit at home and watch it. We welcome the feedback, but would like to take this chance to warn other future guests that we are not the best place in town to stay if a vast TV is a priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We always try to find a B&B rather than a hotel if we go to smaller places, and we’ve tried quite a few by now. Cloudside Inn is one of the top contenders; it has everything we look for in a B&B. We stayed in the Cedar room, which actually feels larger than what you expect from looking at the photos on their website. We had a nice view over the lake, town and mountains. The bed was very comfortable and there was a drawer with lots of room for clothes. The private bathroom is down the corridor, nice shower and very clean.

We took a peek at other rooms and they all looked very nice. The blue room (Fir) looked a bit crammed but has an on suite bathroom. The Willow suite looked really nice! Downstairs is a lounge with a small desk and (slow) computer, large TV screen with cable (also in all rooms) and books to borrow.

The breakfast at Cloudside really fulfilled our needs; yoghurt, fresh fruit and homemade granolas to choose from, and always a cooked breakfast on top of that (scones, quiche, scrambled, pancakes). We could do 5 h of skiing after that breakfast without needing to refill.
Very friendly staff and owners.

The B&B has a great location in the middle of Nelson “city centre”, close (walking distance) to shopping and restaurants.

Just remember to specifically e-mail/call them to get the $10 off when showing you lift tickets from Whitewater. We thought that was included by booking through their website, but it wasn’t.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin_B_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colville, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A lovely stay!!. A friend in our ski group found this B&B online. The hosts and the Historic home surpassed all of our expectations. Rooms, linens, beds, & baths were wonderful. Breakfasts excellent. Quiet, very relaxing downstairs TV guest room. Location perfect for easy walking to great restaurants, generous parking in back with very easy access to rooms. Highly recommended and we'll be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Till V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonners Ferry, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I found this B&B online thru great reviews but it was so much better than expected! The staff were all so friendly, the food was amazing, the room was so clean and comfortable and our 3 day trip to Nelson wouldn't have been the same had we not found this quaint little place. We will definitely revisit!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crs924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

During our ski trip we stayed in the Willow and Pine rooms. The B&B was excellent. Don't get turned off by the steps in the front entrance; you can access the 2nd floor directly from the lane parking.
The decor is great, beds are comfortable, the rooms and bathroom facilities are spotless and the food is good. Home made cereals followed by hot breakfast.
Remember to eat at the famous (checkout the cookbooks) Whitewater restaurant when skiing on the hill. Try the Ymir bowel or the soup special.
Cheers
Alex

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We made surprise visit to our children both working in nelson (from Australia!) and rented room in cloudside for 9 nights. So glad we did. In the centre of town (not hard nelson is not a big place) but beautiful B and B historic Victorian building which has been nicely modified and had all we needed. All the little touches are thought of including shampoo etc in bathroom face towels, all the things many places ignore. Rooms are not huge but big enough for us and three cases and Christmas presents! Heating was essential and by water radiator, much nicer than ducted gas. Bathrooms were not ensuing in our room but private just down hall, no problems and immaculate.
The breakfasts are great, home made muesli, granola and fruit salad, yogurts with coffee, tea and juice plus a hot selection which ranged from blueberry pancakes to eggs and bacon, toast, savoury biscuits or waffles. All freshly cooked to order by host Chris. A real bonus was option for 8 or 9 o'clock breakfast, 8 on ski days and 9 on sloths days! All meals were excellent. There is also a fridge to store personal drinks etc (small amounts) and a coffee and tea making facility available 24/7.
The owners Sally and Chris were amazing inky accommodating and fun to be around and the main helper Amelie ? Delightful. They could not have been more helpful and we even got passes to the hot springs. We used the phone when ours failed and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We will visit nelson again as kids there and we will always stay at cloudside. We travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels, lodges and B and B s and cloudside rates as one of the best value and quality combinations we have found. 100% recommend cloudside inn.

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes and not much price difference so choose what suits, all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggieboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi folks - it's taken us a while to get around to thanking you for your review - sorry! I am very glad that you chose to stay with us, and that is without even realizing that we had a distant connection between our families; even more amazing considering that you had travelled here from Australia. We are glad that you were happy with your stay, and hope that your kids stay in Nelson long enough for you to need to come and see us again.

With kind regards,

Chris and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Property: Cloudside Hotel
Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing