We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and what a view”

Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Grand Lakefront B&B was an excellent place to stay. It is up overlooking the water and mountains. Views from our room's private deck were fantastic, a great place to share a glass of the local wine on a warm afternoon. Virginia was an excellent hostess, with lots of good ideas on walking and resturants. Our room was comfortable with room to sit, play cards, and wireless access as well. Breakfast was served in the round turret area of the old house - it is decorated beautifully with great gardens to explore. A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bonita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Grand for three nights in August 2011...what a wonderful, spacious, comfortable, lovely place it was! Ours was the Dijon room--we had our own entrance, a large deck overlooking the lake, all the comforts of home and amazing hosts! The house and gardens are beyond lovely...I could have spent many an hour just walking around admiring the sights. The Grand is convenient to shopping, gas stations, downtown attractions and the residential areas of Nelson. Breakfasts are amazing and served in a beautiful sunroom by a consummate host--Virginia is a wealth of information about Vernon and a delightful woman who makes her guests feel special and welcome. We will stay with she and Duncan the next time we are through Vernon, only THIS time, it will be for a week!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLF8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

If you want to get a sense of how Canadians view their 'heritage homes' then a stay here is a must. We stayed for 4 nights in the Master and Dijon rooms. Both have a shared private entrance and balconies with absolutely fantastic views. A fridge is provided on the balcony which was very useful for sitting out with a nice cold drink at the end of a busy day. The hosts were away and the house was being looked after by their niece who was very friendly and made us some lovely breakfasts. That being said, coming from the UK we found the furnishings to be over fussy and bit of a dust trap! Obviously the owner is an inveterate collector of 'stuff' - the dining room was a constant delight to us every morning as there was always something new to discover. We particularly liked the new and old portraits of the Queen and the dead orchid on the spare table! This is a very quirky house and I wish we had been able to meet the owner as I'm sure the house will reflect her personality. The only negative we had was the rather dangerous light fitting attached to the bedhead in the Dijon Room - we ended up unplugging it.

Room Tip: The Dijon and Master Rooms have fabulous views and balconies - great for 2 couples travelling togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inchmeaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Charming house, spacious rooms, warm and friendly hostess/owner, good location, good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilanrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at this B&B with our Australian friends while touring them around to see a bit of BC. We were in the Master Suite and our friends in the Dijon Suite. Each of these suites had its own entrance at the back which we really appreciated. There was a small deck which we shared overlooking the Lake. The Dijon Suite had the better view of the lake and the Master Suite was slightly larger I think. Virginia and Duncan were friendly, knowledgeable hosts and Virginia made us the perfect breakfasts for the two mornings we were there! We also fell in love with Milton the cat! What a gorgeous addition to a warm and friendly home! The B&B is walking distance to town (town is, however, up quite a hill but it felt good to walk to town to have dinner and then walk off some of the dinner on the way back). My husband and I love Nelson anyway and were thrilled to find this gem with beautiful views of the Osprey fishing in the lake. There is a huge green area in front of the lake and we enjoyed watching the kids playing soccer with the blue lake behind them. Very picturesque! Would highly recommend this B&B. One caveat, there is a train that runs by sometime in the very early morning. We heard it the first night but slept through it the second night!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010
Google Translation

Thank 星さんぞう
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.8 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lakefront Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1413 Front St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing