We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Thia in Nelson”
Review of Busaba

Busaba
Ranked #25 of 98 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
553 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Unexpected Thia in Nelson”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are on a road trip across southern BC, spending two nights in Nelson. We like to eat vegetarian food and find that Thai restaurants often have some good offerings. Although Busaba has appealing outdoor seating area, a garden-style patio, we sat inside as it was a windy evening. We ordered a corn and scallion fritter appertizer, a veggie stir-fry and a green curry. All three dishes were tasty but all three had not been seasoned enough - we needed to add some fish sauce (yes, I know it's not vegetarian!). Service was friendly and efficient. We were pleasantly surprised to find Thai food of reasonable quality in Nelson, but we think they need to focus on their flavours a bit more: season better, use real lemon grass and Thai basil - etc. Food is average for Thai, but service and ambiance bring the rating up to 4/5.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My absolute favorite restaurant, ever!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm a local and I find it terribly hard to try any other restaurant other than Busaba. It is the best place I've ever been to. Try the chicken chushee. You need to be open to a bit of spice in your life but even my young children love it here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Thai food ever!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had the best Pad Thai and a seafood special - good selection of spices to add to your entree selection. Absolutely delicious and great value. Local organic beer we shared a pint and it was unique and delicious. 2 meals and the beer was under $40

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PVexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The food at Busaba is delicious and very well priced. Portions are large, we ended up taking some home with us & enjoyed the next day for lunch. The decor is wonderful, and although it was packed, it was not noisy. The service was very good, our server was knowledgeable and quick.

I definitely recommend Busaba for dining in Nelson!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcownden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very tasty Thai”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We went for a family dinner and everyone enjoyed their selections. The Chushee was very tasty and good sized portions. The satay sauce could have been a bit thicker and peanutty.
Overall a good place to go if you like Thai.

Helpful?
Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Busaba also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Busaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing