We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but worth it”
Review of Oso Negro Coffee

Oso Negro Coffee
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy but worth it”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First time up to Osa Negro this year. What a great gem just off Baker Street. The outdoor patio is one you would die for in your own backyard. Don't let the line out the door intimidate you, they move quickly and efficiently to get through everyone as quickly as possible.

Lots of fresh baking, great coffee options, and a peaceful place to enjoy a visit with friends or sit out on the patio yourself.

Definitely will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    102
    22
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Relaxing atmosphere to relax and have a super coffee and snack. Lots of shade to escape the burning rays and beautiful decor on the patio. A must stop for any visitor to Nelson!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath217314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Look - another great kootenay koffee bar!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Trip advisor and reasonable parking (e.g. no meter) led me to Oso Negro. I am sure I have had coffee here before but those were the dark years.
Great little shop - filled with ageing patagucci hippies. Good quality food and the coffee lived up to it's name.
Worth stopping at.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mmmmm, tasty coffee!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I loved the latte I got at Oso Negro. They don't have any flavors that can be added but you don't really need them. I am used to adding syrups to my lattes but I only added a little sugar and it was tasty, tasty. Our breakfast (I had a breakfast bagel sandwich and my husband had yogurt and granola) was very good. We each got a muffin for the road and enjoyed those too. It seemed like this bakery had a lot of different options for people with different dietary needs (vegan, gluten free, etc) so I would recommend it for that reason too. I would most certainly recommend visiting this place for a treat and latte.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawnia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing lattes & allergy friendly treats!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had a soy latte and didn't need to add anything to it (no sugar, nothing). It was DELICIOUS. Plus, they had gluten-free/vegan treats which were delicious as well! I wish Calgary had this coffee shop!! 10x better than Starbucks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oso Negro Coffee also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Oso Negro Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing