We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elvis loved the Blaylock Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blaylock Mansion
Ranked #1 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Elvis loved the Blaylock Mansion”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were traveling through Nelson a few weeks ago (July 2013) and decided to see if the Blaylock Mansion could accommodate us on a last minute request. Although they aren't really set up to accommodate people with pets they graciously made an exception for us as we were far from home and traveling with our small dog Elvis. We had a wonderful stay and Louise couldn't have been more accommodating. The Mansion, the grounds and Louise's wonderful hospitality made for an amazing visit to Nelson and to the Kootenays. We are regular visitors to the area and we will be certain to return.
David, Ruby & Elvis

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis-Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    12
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The house and gardens are grand and situated overlooking the lake 5 mins from Nelson. The interior is finely finished, luxurious and comfortable. The host are charming and delightful to talk to. Our breakfasts were fantastic. We had a great time at this place.
Tony and Setsuko (UK & Japan)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s4awn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My friends were in awe of Blaylock's. The mansion is stunning. The gardens were wonderful to walk thru. Louise cooked us fabulous breakfasts each day. She is very knowledgeable about healthy choices, makes her own yogurt, granola and delicious muffins. We spent 2 nights there so we could drive to Kaslo and Ainsworth Hot Springs. Nelson has wonderful pottery and paintings in the Craft Connection. At Blaylock's we had 2 adjoining bedrooms with a bathroom in between. It worked well with 4 women. One room had twin beds which were comfortable. I want to go back in the summer so I can swim in their fabulous pool. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nelson....the experience of living in a mansion was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had planned to stay two nights but decided to stay three. Dan and Louise are wonderful hosts and you need to spend at least a few days at the mansion in order to really begin to appreciate the gardens, the mansion and the history. The mansion in conveniently located to allow checking out the attractions around Nelson (we golfed, hiked, hit the hotspirings, biked and more!). Waking up overlooking the gardens and Lousie's breakfast are the best way to start any day. An afternoon drink on the front veranda and we were transitioned back in time. If you're going to be near Nelson don't miss this experience.

Room Tip: A little extra but the presidential suite is incredible and well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicNicOrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Great place to stay! Louise and Dan are lovely, truly making you feel welcome and at home from the start. The Blaylock has a wonderful history and I fell in love with the peacefulness and charm. Our sleep was amazing because the beds and pillows were incredibly comfortable. They also served a delicious breakfast, full of homemade, granola, quiche, fresh fruit salad, and muffins. It is a gorgeous location with spectacular grounds that include a pool and tennis courts. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraLee_Musters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

What a great place to stay. I stayed at the mansion with a group of ladies and we had booked all the rooms. They are beautiful with a lot of character. The hosts are wonderful and the breakfast was fabulous. Louise and Dan are a pleasure to be around. There is a bar and pool table in the basement which we used in the evening. The grounds are extensive with a beautiful garden. The mansion is just across the road from the beach that they also own. It was cold while we were there so we didn't use the pool or go to the beach. I would definitely go back again and this time bring my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cicely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I am from Albera and have seen a lot of BC but nothing compares to this gem.
Built in the 1930's in what one can only describe as a perfectly preserved jewel, B & B is like no other I've stayed in before. Caretakers Louise and Dan welcomed us like family and treated us to organic, gluten free cooking complete with homemade quiche and muffins to start our day. Having visited in the off season and being stunned by the beauty of the grounds, I can't even imagine how spectacular the spring and fall must be and will be returning to witness it first hand likely this fall.
Linda and friends

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touraholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson
3.9 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
680 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
355 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
184 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blaylock Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blaylock Mansion

Property: The Blaylock Mansion
Address: 1679 3a Hwy | P.O. Box 491, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 6J7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blaylock Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blaylock Mansion sits on 44 acres, 13 of which are beautifully manicured gardens with ponds, reflecting pools and waterfalls. The Tudor revival mansion is majestic and awe-inspiring. Located so close to Nelson, you get the best, serenity and seclusion with town amenities just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Blaylock Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing