We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful view, great living spaces inside and out”
other travellers have booked this property
View to the West from the deck. We really do have the 'Best Views in Nelson'!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the West from the deck. We really do have the 'Best Views in Nelson'!
400 sq. ft of outdoor living space with big beautiful views. BBQ / kitchen space at the back. Views are stunning from the deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View to the West from the deck. We really do have the 'Best Views in Nelson'!
400 sq. ft of outdoor living space with big beautiful views. BBQ / kitchen space at the back.
Views are stunning from the deck.
The views cover 180° from south to north.
Commercial-grade stainless steel outdoor kitchen. Cold-water sink, bar fridge, smoke extractor hood
Looking from the corner of the deck back through the sliding glass doors to the dining room/kitchen
The breakfast bar can seat three; it's also handy for serve-yourself buffet dinners
Dining table has two extensions. Bench on one side, and chairs on the other, and you can seat 10.
The kitchen is bright, spacious, and stocked with everything you could need.
Crock pots, blenders, fondue sets: you name it, it's probably here.
Breakfast bar, looking into the kitchen from the dining room
Looking into the D.R. from the kitchen. The 400 sq ft covered deck is through the sliding doors.
The open-concept living room and work area in case you need. Warning: great views can be distracting
Some of the view from the living room. Pics don't do it justice
All the seating in the LR is leather: easy to clean, great for kids.
The large desk lets you spread out if you need to get some work done while you're here.
The large living room has several seating areas, and the gas fireplace is toasty in the winter!
LR has large windows; great view of the lake and mountains. At night, Apple TV, DVD, and Netflix.
If you're here over the holidays, we're happy to add some festive decorations!
The red sofa is a queen-sized pull-out.
The master bathroom with tub and shower. All interior doors are solid birch; heavy and soundproof
Double sinks speed up getting ready in the morning, and there are ample supplies in the cupboard
Main bathroom with heated tile floors
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with a newly renovated 3-piece ensuite bathroom, with heated floors
'Second' bedroom. Warm, soft cork floors were installed in all bedrooms in 2015.
'Kids' bedroom, with twin bunk beds and twin daybed
DVD and game library. We've also got tons of stuff for kids, including playpens, cribs, strollers.
The carport and 'house side' of the driveway is yours. Carport fits full-size SUVs
View of the house from the top of Houston and Cedar streets
Backyard, looking west
Looking west at the spot where Kootenay Lake becomes the Kootenay River.
Elephant Mtn is the dominant part of the view directly across from the house.
Views - even in the rain - are stunning. Binoculars are provided so you can scan for wildlife!
View of the house from the backyard / alley.
If you're here in mid-late August, help yourself to the tons of delicious plums in the yard.
Pulpit Rock on Elephant Mtn is a popular, short hike with spectacular views of Nelson
More views of the lake as it turns into Kootenay River
The bluffs at the base of Elephant Mtn have ancient Indian petroglyphs visible from the water
Water, mountains, trees - it's beautiful here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CateR54
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful view, great living spaces inside and out”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our second stay at Stephen and Judith's vacation rental (thank you for the discount!). It is such a peaceful and relaxing location. We ate all our meals on the amazing deck, what a great bonus living space! The kitchen is very well stocked, with quality items, as are the bathrooms and laundry area. My son enjoyed the Apple TV, and the WIFI worked perfectly. We enjoyed Nelson's amazing beaches and parks, historic downtown, visiting family, and walking the Rail Trail, just steps away. Judith and Stephen are gracious and attentive hosts, thank you again for your hospitality and the great breakfast fixings you provided!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Great value for price, views, deck, lots of room
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thanks - it was lovely to have you stay again! We agree: in the summer, we live on that deck, eat on the deck (and the kids even had a sleepover out on the deck one night) Hope to see you again next summer!
-S & J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurianne...
Copenhagen
1 review
“A fantastic home away from home - everything you need to enjoy your stay in Nelson.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stephen and Judeth are wonderful hosts ensuring even the smallest of details are met to make your stay comfortable and worry free! We are so happy to have time here in Nelson with all of the family, three generations under one roof and loving it!! Thank you Stephen and Judeth for sharing your lovely home. Lauri, John and Family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Thanks so much - it was great to meet all of you, and we're happy you enjoyed your time in Nelson. Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again! (Winters are lovely here, you know!) And we do offer a 10% discount for returning guests.
Cheers,
-S&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Thanks for kind words, Chris! You'll have to come back in the summer - there's great mountain biking and hiking just steps away from the house (and hanging out on the deck watching the sun set down the Valley is pretty sweet!)

-S&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coquitlam
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Thanks Jeff! We do like to try to add some nice touches for our guests like a little 'welcome home' 6-pack of Nelson Brewing Company's best...

Stretching out in front of the fire after a day at Whitewater is our favourite thing to do too.

Cheers, and thanks for the kind words!
-S&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Feb 2014
Thanks Julie - we're glad your group had fun!

Living at the house part-time means we get to keep it stocked with all the things we need, and that means that guests get the benefit of a 'home', not just a 'rental'.

(and the back alley is perfect for tobogganing, since it's one of the few in Nelson that isn't used, so it's safe and snowy!)

We look forward to having you stay with us again,

Cheers,
-S&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SCotland
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Feb 2014
Thanks again for staying with us - we're very appreciative that you chose our home for your home!

Groups like yours have become the cornerstone of our guests - family with extended fam or friends. There's enough room for everyone to feel comfortable, but cozy enough to feel like you're getting some good time together.

We'd love to have you back, anytime!

Cheers,
-S&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calgary AB
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Thanks Karen - we're happy your family had a great stay in Nelson!

Because we live in the house ourselves part-time, we try to keep it feeling like home, whether its us staying there, or guests.

(and we like the neighborhood friendly animals too!)

Hope to see you again,

-Stephen and Judith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$132
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing