We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good room, if you like train-spotting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prestige Inn Nelson
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Prestige Inn is on the edge of town, a bit of a walk to the old town of Nelson. Check-in, rooms and bathrooms were absolutely fine but there are absolutely no facilities here at all. You have to go down the road to their sister hotel which I think is called the Resort where you have swimming pool, bars and a good restaurant in an absolutely picture perfect position, on the lake. The other thing is the trains. Twice a day, one at 6am and one at 6pm, a mile long freight train passes by your window (so close, you can almost touch the train) and not content with rattling your windows, the train driver insists on sounding his klaxon for about 10 minutes as the whole train goes through Nelson. Shame, will remember it for all the wrong reasons!

Room Tip: Stay at the sister hotel down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

We are grateful you appreciated the staff and amenities of the Prestige Inn as well as our sister property the Prestige Lakeside Resort. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

It's not a great hotel but for Nelson it probably is fairly decent. Found all sorts of reasons why it wasn't totally clean - do their cleaners ever move anything? But basically was fairly clean with a good bed, decent linens, good parking but no restaurant, No counter space in the bathroom and lack of towels. Two towels are not enough! Extremely loud air conditioning!!! Could buy a $10 certificate for $5 for their sister hotel down the road but breakfast there was outrageously priced and not good. Only did that for one day. Skip it as there are better choices. Train does run by sometime in the night but if you know that it probably won't be a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminigemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments and I will be happy to address your concerns with our team. It is our hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was the first hotel we found when driving through Nelson. Although clean it was quite a way to the town. You need a car. We found the hotel very noisy and we were unable to sleep. The sister hotel was more central with more facilities and had a good restaurant. Nelson was a lovely town.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Janis888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Nelson and the facilities at the Prestige Lakeside Resort. I will pass along your concerns to our team and hope that we will see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We were Blocked out of staying at the prestige lakeside due to only staying one night (2 night minimum) on the Long weekend.
So booked this hotel for the stop over.
Looks great on first impression, central location, parking is limited and spots in front are small and tight.
nice decoration and furnishings and reception was pleasent, and they do make you aware the train is near and comes by 2 times a day once in the afternoon and again in the morning....
...er....(4:00am). But goes by in no time and wasn't a real bother.
Check out your room prior to accepting!!!! We did not booked 2 weeks in advance over the phone and recieved the only room with an obstucted view on our floor next to a common area and according the the floor plan one of the smallest.
now some picky points,
a/c unit was small window mount type and was loud and droned with varied pitch. Patio door curtians had a damaged track and missing parts to allow the curtian to close which allowed the patio lights (no off switch) to illuminate your room. Screen door did not operate.
The prestige "lakefront" access that is included for free...Pool etc... is "NOT" just around the corner but on the far side of the adjacent mall so unless your motivated and the weather co-ops is a moot point.
Overall, Bad first impression and won't stay here in the future.

Room Tip: visit the room first. the higher the better, top floor has great view of lake, park and mall parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

I am happy we were able to accommodate you on your trip through Nelson. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our team will be addressing your concerns and we hope that on your next trip we provide you with a much more enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We liked this hotel; comfortable beds, clean room updated nicely. The staff, especially Daryl, was very helpful, friendly and available. There is no restaurant but we got a breakfast voucher at Prestige Lakeside (hotel, mall & marina just a few minute walk). We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW4EVER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

It will be my pleasure to pass along you compliments to Daryl and the rest of the team at the Prestige Inn Nelson. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I liked the outside but the inside does not reflect it. We checked in & decided wanted a balcony room so it cost us $20 to do so, we got to the room and I was severely unimpressed. The elevator stank of old beer, our room was a King "Suite" and there wasn't anything that made me think it deserved a charge of 149.99 a night. Wallpaper was peeling under the bathroom sink & toilet paper wall - holes from where they must have taken out a previous towel hanger. The sheets felt like sandpaper, and the bed was not made well at all. The pillows had no support (super thin). The Air conditioner was SUPER loud & if we turned it off the room was a dry-hot. The train shook the room. And our breakfast vouchers didn't cover their buffet (which re-fill service was going at a glacial pace & we had to go to the other location for). They don't even have so much as a bar on site.

Will not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will be sending you a private message in hopes to get a more detailed review of your stay. In the meantime, I will pass along your concerns to our staff and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

When I first checked into my room the bathroom was still dirty and had wet towels laying around. When I asked for a new clean room I was given a smaller room which surprised because the hotel was mostly empty. The curtain in the room covered the air conditioner which meant the curtain could not be closed at night. The check in was strange too. I asked for a recommendation for supper and was told every place was good and that I was paying a Special rate (does that mean I get special service). The hotel is beside the railroad tracks and yet the hotel clerk said the hotel was very quiet (except for the train horn in the middle of the night. The wifi service was poor when it worked at all. I would not stay at this special hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David99731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Inn Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not receive our normal Prestige service. I will be sending you a private message in hopes to get a more detailed review of your stay. In the meantime, I will pass along your concerns to our staff and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#9 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Inn Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Inn Nelson

Address: 1301 Front St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestige Inn Nelson 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestige Inn Nelson is an elegantly appointed French boutique style hotel located near the cultural district of Nelson. Our superior service and elegant guest rooms make this the ideal property to ensure your visit to Nelson is a memorable one. Lifestyle and Getaway packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prestige Inn Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Inn Nelson Hotel Nelson
Prestige Lakeview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing