We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pristine and Private and absolute gem........”
other travellers have booked this property
East facing view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East facing view
West facing porch Dining table and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
East facing view
West facing porch
Dining table and kitchen view
Cooking island and sliding door to deck
Outdoor shower
Living Room windows..facing South
Downstair bedroom
Soaker Tub
Tub with lake view
Second bedroom leading to pond area
The Nest
Deck chairs facing South
Porch table and hammock
Outdoor shower in evening light
End of day at El Nido entrance
Sunrise July 30th
Garden Bench at pond side
Early morning on the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eamonn L
Okotoks, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pristine and Private and absolute gem........”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at El Nido the second week in September. My wife, toddler and infant and myself. Great layout and enough space for all. We arrived on a Sunday and were blown away with the stunning property that is "el nido". Directions were spot on and Mick had the place spotless. Its an amazing combination of good old BC rustic charm along with some great updates like the bathtub and steam shower. We spent the week exploring the area and taking in all the area has to offer. Great beaches a few minutes away, hot springs 15 min up the road and Nelson of course about 20 min down the road. We really enjoyed all days on our holiday. The people of Nelson are so friendly and warm. We will be back next summer without doubt. Mick was a treat to meet and chat with. He is a very interesting fella with such a great positive outlook on all things. Very hard not to like!! He even made sure we had some smoked salmon in the freezer to eat......... If you want to get away into one of the nicest places we have spent time I highly recommend staying at Micks place.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature Lover's Paradise”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous vacation stay at Kootenay Lake Sanctuary. The lovely rustic cabin has all the amenities we needed as well as a fantastic deck with comfortable lounging areas, lovely container gardens, hummingbird feeders and a hammock that everyone fought over. The views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding mountains are absolutely stunning. The convenient location, although quite close to the main road, is surrounded by nature and completely silent. It seems as if you're far away from the rest of the world in your own private paradise. The property has lovely gardens, a small trickling water feature with a pond and a lovely gazebo with curtains and a comfortable bed for a wonderful outdoor sleeping experience. While we spent time visiting local attractions and really enjoyed the area, the best part of the vacation was spending time with our family in the cabin and on the deck enjoying the beauty and serenity of the Kootenays. The owner, Mick, is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. It was a vacation we'll never forget and we wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views and complete privacy
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgloverne...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our time in the Kootenays. Mick's home was the perfect place as our rest stop during a beautiful stay in the area. The home is on a stunning property with panoramic views of the lake and has everything you need to relax. The location is also great for exploring. 30 minutes from Nelson and also close to Ainsworth Hot Springs and Kaslo. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return one day.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janisj16
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“PEACE”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband, I and our two twenty-something daughters stayed at this amazing house for a week. The total quiet and peacefulness and unbelievable mountain and lake views from every room in the house was like no place I have ever stayed. We enjoyed meeting and visiting with Mick ! He was so responsive and helpful in suggesting places to eat and explore. Hope we can return one day. Total peace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outdoor sitting areas
Liked least: the wasps.......:(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan D
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Where Dreams come alive!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

letting a light breeze and sunshine melt away the stress as you enter the forrest road up to "El Nido". The rustic exterior is just like that in old books you read and upon entering to window after window after window with some of the best views i have seen of Kootenay lake. We got greeted by the amazing Mick who instantly offered us a cup of tea as we got to know one another and show us around his great property. We loved utilizing each of the little gems on the property for getting a little quiet time and just listing to the breeze and the creek *natures song*. Morning coffee on the deck with the humming birds and waxwings was such a treat. In the evenings the Ravens, squirrels and wild turkeys were a joy to watch.

Mick provided EVERYTHING you could ever need on a vacation home not one thing was missing. We had the pleasure of hosting Mick for a few dinners in which we shared great stories of life and laughs. The Bathroom with its views from the tub are just SPLENDID!!! watching the moon rise over the mountains from the tub was such a treat. Bedrooms had ample storage and the beds were very comfy thanks to memory foam mattress.

If you want a TRUE NORTH getaway close to a Hotspring and the great towns of Nelson and Kaslo then El Nido is the place. Views and solitude await. will return!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, birds, tranquillity
Liked least: having to leave =(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Momof2car...
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

El Nido was incredible! Mick the owner was a delight and so much fun to talk to when we arrived. The cabin is absolutely gorgeous and you will not find a a better view of the lake. No neighbors either. All you get is absolute silence except for the occasional humming bird buzzing by, or chipmunk cracking sunflower seeds. The outdoor hammock and couch are so comfy with a spectacular view. Our memory foam bed was very comfortable. The steam shower was great, and the separate tub had a great view too. There is a full kitchen, a gas bbq on the deck and an amazing surround sound system perfect for your I pod or movies. We will definitely be back in the future. Thank you Mick!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy30
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once you step inside and see the view, you feel tranquil and happy.”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay. Every room has a view that you get lost in and immediately feel at peace. You literally can feel the stress melt away. We came for total relaxation and we sure felt it. The property is so beautiful, peaceful, and private. The view of the mountains, and Queens Bay is one of the prettiest I've ever seen. We never tired of it. We loved the great room's view for sure but I have to say, waking up to the view in the bedroom downstairs was our favorite.
The cabin's wood work is beautiful (old growth wood was used as well as new) and has such a feeling of warmth. We never wanted to leave. So we made use of the gourmet kitchen and had most of our meals in. Grilled steaks, made a pot of chili, drank wonderful wine and read a lot. Due to the cold weather, we loved having the use of the wood burning stove. We did some hiking at Kokanee Glacier Provincial Park, had lunch at the Dock and Duck there at the Balfour Ferry, and enjoyed a meal at Relish in Nelson.
The owner Mick was most welcoming and so accommodating. We really enjoyed our dinner with you Mick at La Cantina in Nelson before we left. Great food and wonderful company.
Thank you for sharing your home with us. It was pure bliss.
Peggy and David
Bellevue, WA USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the privacy and the peacefulness. Did I mention the view?!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing