We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no air conditioning in our rooms”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“no air conditioning in our rooms”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

great food, large portion here!!..nice bar...good staff...BUT ...rooms (2 different rooms on two different floors) had NO air conditioning ..AND woke up stuffy and felt nauseated....but all in all it was alright for a 100+ year old hotel...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you so much for your review of the Hume Hotel. We appreciate the feedback. With regards to the lack of air conditioning in the guest rooms, we always do mention that to our guests during the summer when booking their rooms. Being such an old building, we only have air conditioning in our common areas on the first two floors. All the windows in the guest rooms do open and we provide fans in each room which really helps to keep the temperature down. We don't have all the modern amenities of a newer property and we continually try to maintain that heritage charm you wouldn't find anywhere else. We also enjoy providing a free full hot breakfast to all overnight guests.

Thanks again for the positive review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    180
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
103
308
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Every member of staff was keen and helpful at this characterful hotel.
Good dining in the restaurant, plenty of choice and well served.
Lots of breakfast choices promptly and cheerfully served.
Clean, comfortable bedroom and bathroom.
Convenient situation, near shops and river frontage.
Sorry the stay was only for two nights and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for a few nights on my first trip to Nelson and was just enamored with this hotel. Some of the furniture is a bit shabby, but very quaint and historic, and with excellent views of the mountains. Perfect downtown location, right next to the museum and shopping. Full breakfast with the room makes it a great value and all the staff were super friendly. Bar, pub, restaurant, hair salon and spa all on site.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I left my $300 sunglasses there and you had them the next morning. I did nOt Expect to get them back. Impressed! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiBahlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Hume Hotel is an excellent establishment that prides itself on making sure each customer leaves happy. My best friend and I have gone twice in the last two months and are already planning for our third trip. The employees are awesome and the spirit bar is a blast! We drive all the way from Spokane, WA just to enjoy the fun The Hume has to offer. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Had a great experience all around. Rooms were clean, staff was cheerful and helpful, and the restaurant attached was fantastic. In addition to that, the hotel has a very unique old charm to it. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2011

a wee bit shabby but comfy and cozy....it felt like being at home, always a smiling face and a friendly hello and welcome and great food.

the room rate includes a full breakfast-excellent value!

the library is a fabulous room and the live music was a treat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbruner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing