We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Heritage Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Clean Heritage Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were passing through Nelson and needed a one night's stay. We opted for The Hume right downtown instead of a chain hotel/motel. The room was clean, the front desk staff pleasant and the price right. The bedroom had its charm with balcony windows that opened to a view of the street, but the uneven floors and antique furnishings seemed a bit unsettling after having stayed in an ultramodern place the night before. We had a light supper in the dining room and were very pleased with the food and service. The homemade rhubarb pie was excellent. However, the hot breakfast which was included the next morning was awful. I applaud the owners for maintaining this beautiful building and for travelers looking for something other than the usual hotel room, I would recommend The Hume. Originally the parking lot was full, but we did find a spot just after supper.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I must say that this is probably the first complaint I have seen in years that our full hot free breakfast in the morning was nothing short of fantastic. Typically at hotels, free breakfasts are either continental breakfasts (stale bagels and bad coffee) or a buffet with very limited options. Here at the Hume, our guests can order a choice of two eggs any style with choice of breakfast meat and includes hashbrowns, toast and coffee. You can also choose a lighter, healthier option or whatever the breakfast special is which changes daily. Each breakfast is made hot and fresh for every guest and nothing comes out of a pre-made buffet line. Breakfasts are also all served by our friendly service staff in the General Store Restaurant. It is quite honestly one of the greatest selling features of the property that our guests covet the most.

I am sorry that it did not meet up to your satisfaction. If you are traveling through again, please let me know and we will see to it that we get it right on your next stay. Thanks for the honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    175
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
101
292
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I really wanted to like this hotel. There are so many good things to say; the restaurant was nice, the service was excellent, and the history was enlightening. The major issue was the noise. To be fair the staff warned me about the bar noise when I made a reservation. I was expecting loud music but not the loud obnoxious clients of the pub, who were outside yelling and screaming at the top of their lungs. I had taken a prescription drug to knock me out and the noise still woke me up. I won’t stay there again unless they tame the noise issue.

I put no parking because the lot is very small and it was full when I was there. The parking garage is a joke as you have to pay in twelve hour increments and wake up at six in the morning to get a ticket or risk being towed. Very unfriendly parking.

Room Tip: Noise, Noise, and More Noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liamputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you had a good experience in the restaurant and enjoyed the service and rich history this hotel has to offer. It is unfortunate, however, that you scored us so low for events going on in the street beyond our control. Nelson does have a vibrant nightlife and it is difficult for us to control the noise coming from late night socializers or even the traffic as we are on a busy corner in the heart of town. As you mentioned, you were warned that it can be noisy. Because of our downtown location, we just can't guarantee quiet and we are up front with our guests about that.

We do have quieter rooms that are on higher floors and/or face inward away from the street noise.

Thanks for staying wtih us and we do apologize that the noise kept you awake. We always appreciate honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

great food, large portion here!!..nice bar...good staff...BUT ...rooms (2 different rooms on two different floors) had NO air conditioning ..AND woke up stuffy and felt nauseated....but all in all it was alright for a 100+ year old hotel...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you so much for your review of the Hume Hotel. We appreciate the feedback. With regards to the lack of air conditioning in the guest rooms, we always do mention that to our guests during the summer when booking their rooms. Being such an old building, we only have air conditioning in our common areas on the first two floors. All the windows in the guest rooms do open and we provide fans in each room which really helps to keep the temperature down. We don't have all the modern amenities of a newer property and we continually try to maintain that heritage charm you wouldn't find anywhere else. We also enjoy providing a free full hot breakfast to all overnight guests.

Thanks again for the positive review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Every member of staff was keen and helpful at this characterful hotel.
Good dining in the restaurant, plenty of choice and well served.
Lots of breakfast choices promptly and cheerfully served.
Clean, comfortable bedroom and bathroom.
Convenient situation, near shops and river frontage.
Sorry the stay was only for two nights and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for a few nights on my first trip to Nelson and was just enamored with this hotel. Some of the furniture is a bit shabby, but very quaint and historic, and with excellent views of the mountains. Perfect downtown location, right next to the museum and shopping. Full breakfast with the room makes it a great value and all the staff were super friendly. Bar, pub, restaurant, hair salon and spa all on site.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I left my $300 sunglasses there and you had them the next morning. I did nOt Expect to get them back. Impressed! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiBahlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The Hume Hotel is an excellent establishment that prides itself on making sure each customer leaves happy. My best friend and I have gone twice in the last two months and are already planning for our third trip. The employees are awesome and the spirit bar is a blast! We drive all the way from Spokane, WA just to enjoy the fun The Hume has to offer. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing