We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love staying at the Hume Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Castlegar, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love staying at the Hume Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Our room was VERY clean, well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Everything we wanted was in the room. The staff at reception were very welcoming and the breakfast was terrific the next morning. We love that the hotel is a "heritage" hotel and not the more normal "Amercan" style hotel. It still had the amenities we look for in a hotel and we enjoy staying there.

Room Tip: I suppose a room that isn't over the pub would be quieter but this time around noise was not a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thanks Sue B, for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on how clean we are. Our housekeeping department does such an amazing job every day to keep this place looking great. You are right that this hotel is such a departure from your typical American-style chains. It is a character property rich in history with very unique rooms. It's nice to see our Castlegar neighbours spending an overnight stay in Nelson! We hope to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    176
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
101
292
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We booked this hotel based on the Trip Advisor ratings and because it served a full breakfast included in the price. The breakfast was great but the big problem was the noise. The room we had was located above a bar and the pounding beat of the live music never ceased until at least 1 am. The room was very clean but the old hot water system of heating was also a bit noisy. The staff were very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghosttown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
We have a wing of rooms that sits directly above our pub and particularly on weekends noise from the pub can be heard in these rooms. While we can't guarantee quiet, we can move you to a higher floor or rooms facing the inside of the building which have a tendancy to be quieter, especially during the week.

Our sister property, the Best Western PLUS Baker Street Inn, may be a better choice if you are sensitive to noise. It has been recently renovated and we can guarantee a quiet stay there.

I am glad that you enjoyed your hot, complimentary breakfast in the morning and that you had a great experience with the staff that you came in contact with. Thanks for staying with us.

Thanks for choosing the Hume.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Slocan, BC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My stay at the Hume Hotel this past April (2011) was amazing! As always, the staff was kind and courteous and the room itself was impeccable. It's always a pleasure to stay in a hotel as lovely as the Hume. I highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Nelson, as you are sure to enjoy the unique character of the property, the great on-site amenities and the wonderful decor, including vintage photographs of the Nelson area from years' past.
Definitely a must!

Room Tip: Room 333 is an awesome executive suite with three beds, a full bath and plenty of room for leisure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just loved the hotel. It's something from an older area. We had a great room with a bit of a river view. The staff were welcoming and fun. The food was also excellent and you couldn't beat the atmosphere. Would love to go back and stay longer. Nelson is a great little town and so much to do there, even if it's just checking out the buildings.

Room Tip: the guide book says don't get a room above the kichen vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I were traveling with another couple and decided to spend the night in Nelson. I had read some reviews here and suggested we all stay at the Hume. We arrived with no reservation in the early afternoon. The parking lot is very small but there were two spots left! We went to the desk and it seemed so busy inside I was losing hope that we would get rooms. Not only did we get 2 rooms, they made sure we got great rooms, on the 4th floor, away from any noise we may encounter from the bar below! It is an old hotel, refurbished and it is so nice! Very clean rooms at a reasonable price. The whole staff is so nice and friendly from the front desk to the waitress in the Library, and the waitress in the morning for breakfast (which is included with your room, very good too)! We will definitely stay there again next time!
Almost forgot, they gave us a beautiful, hardbound book on British Columbia! Thank you Hume Hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysajourney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
I just wanted to thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the book on some of British Columbia's treasures. We were cleaning the office and came across a few of those so it's nice to know that they are going to a good home. We hope to see you again with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This has been our go to hotel for quite a while. It is a very sympathetically up-dated period hotel located just one block of Baker Street which is the main shoping area. The staff are super friendly, the food good, and the included breakfast is amazing. There is a wide range of places within the hotel to spend time without having to leave the hotel. A game of pool, a glass of wine, listen to some laid back jazz, kick up your heels and dance, have a lovely dinner or a quick lunch - it is all under one roof.

Room Tip: The Rapunzel room is the best - top corner with two double beds and lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janecoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Spectacular service, 5 stars, second to none. And the very best hotel I stayed on my three weeks on the road. Ryan and his staff treated my friend and I like we were regulars. Plans are now changed for the 2012 road trip. If you are looking for me, Ill be at The Hume!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnybigbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#7 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing