We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Historic Hume Hotel”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Historic Hume Hotel”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

For the past several years my wife and I have driven from Spokane to Nelson (130 miles) to enjoy a two day stay at the Hume Hotel over Thanksgiving. The hotel was built in 1897 and it is filled with wonderful photographs taken during the early years. It is their policy to include a full breakfast as part of the room rent and the food is excellent. They have a dining room with fireplace that is reminiscent of old England. Some outstanding features include close proximity to the Nelson shopping district and views of Kootenay Lake and the nearby mountains. We were told that the rooms on the fourth floor have recently been remodeled and the rates are a bit higher than for rooms on the second and third floors. Their rates are quite reasonable for the wonderful experience that this fine hotel offers.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake on the third and fourth floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSaxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    178
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
102
301
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had asked for one of the renovated rooms on the 4th floor, but we were assigned to a room on a different floor. The room actually included 2 bedrooms but only one bath. Fortunately, the nightclub or whatever everyone else is complaining about wasn't happening on Monday. It worked for a place to stay for one night, but I'm not a fan of unrenovated Victorian properties.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am sorry that you did not receive a room on the fourth floor like you had requested. It is likely that they were all booked up and we were simply unable to offer you one at that time. It is unfortunate because I know you would have loved the changes we have made up there. Hopefully on your next trip through you will give us another try and stay in one of the deluxe rooms which will knock your socks off. Phase 2 of our renovations will be completed by Christmas which will be the entirety of the fourth floor.

Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was told to Check it out by Family.. Havaing (CP) Disability was unsure about access but have done some travelling.. This was truly one of the best vacations ever.. The Staff was excellent went above and beyond and treated me like a real guest. I loved the feel of the hotel even my aid dog felt @ home.. The staff made sure that everything was great. Even with the beautiful historic hotel it does have disability access. A bit loud on the 3rd floor but renovations should correct that problem.. Over all excellent job. Ryan Martin & Hume Staff. I was for the first time very happy.. Very accepted... It is what a vacation should be... My aid dog & I will be back soon.. Keep it up.. Many Thanks Teddy

Room Tip: Choose higher floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thanks for mentioning our handicap accessibility. I think it is the first review to have ever mentioned anything. With our Ward Street entrance being level with the street, our elevator and our handicap accessible room, we have often been a choice hotel for guests with physical disabilities. I am happy to report that one of the brand new deluxe rooms on the fourth floor is currently being outfitted to be handicap accessible as well. This room will have a roll-in shower and a king bed and pull-out sofa.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This play is great! The historic feel is what I love when I come to a place like Nelson. I have been staying at the Hume for 3 years now and every time I am more than satisfied. On this visit I also had a chance to check out the newly renovated 4th floor which is where I will be staying on my next visit.. can't wait!

Room Tip: 4 floor baby :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Nelson is'nt for everyone. And being that we are in well into the 21st Century - neither is the Hume.

Keep reading...

Now that i've started with a negative sounding comment, I would like to boast about the positives that the Hume has to offer.

The Hume is rich with everything that a vintage hotel should have. Walking up the front stairs, you know immediately that you are about to experience a stay unlike any other. The smell of the wood, the creak of the floors. The elevator which is as good as any thrill ride in BC. Once in your room the steam heaters, porcelain and brass lamps, vintage beds and bedding put an odd smile on your face.

The staff is a major part of what makes The Hume our home away from home. Friendly faces, remind you that you are in the right place. Need to know anything about the Hotel, or the surrounding area.. Just ask.

The Hume boasts a great family restraunt, a dining lounge w/ 1900's era fireplaces, a dedicated pub and a seperate night club in the basement of the Hotel. If you are looking for a place to unwind, and have fun for the weekend the Hume is definitely the place. You'll find that once you are at the Hume, you can have an "evening on the town" without ever having to leave the Hotel!

With world class performers at the downstairs night club called "Spirit Bar" you can dance the night away with friends, or make new friends completely. The acts that Spirit Bar draws, are often acts found only in large cities - how they do it? I know.. It is too much fun, and it looks as though the entertainers love being there too! When the show is over, all it takes is a trip upstairs and you are in for the night. Should you choose to call it an early night, you may experience some noise from the show downstairs - but it'll be a friendly reminder of the fun you are missing.

Ryan, and the Hume staff.. Don't change a thing, don't try too hard to modernize the Hotel... It is what keeps us and many others coming back. An experience truly unlike any we have ever had. With every year that passes we have a larger entourage join us for the unforgettable experience! See you in early November this year!

Not once have we had a poor experience at this fine establishment! We make an annual fall trip to Nelson, with a stay at the Hume being the top of our priority list.

Room Tip: -If you plan to go to bed early, pay extra, book early and get a 4th floor room. -In the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for such a detailed account of what we are all about. You nailed it and I couldnt agree more that the Hume Hotel is not for everyone. It is for people that want a unique experience. It is for people who want to be surrounded in history. It is for those that don't want a typical looking hotel with typical features and amenities. Well, pretty much the way you put it! I couldn't say it any better. So thank you for taking the time to say so. We still try to incorporate some new technology but always attempting to maintain the heritage charm we are known for. It is a delicate balancing act that we face every single day. We turn 115 years old this March and we will celebrate in grand fashion...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Unfortunately, this once wonderful historic hotel in downtown Nelson now has a club scene downstairs that goes until 2:00 am. Even though our room was on the third floor on the opposite side of the building, it sounded like the band was in the room next door. The management here has made a clear decision to place the club goer's interests above those of their hotel guests. "Can't sleep, don't like the music...you can leave." Despite claims to the contrary, they do not adequately warn guests in advance about the sound issue and are unapologetic when you complain about it. If you want a good night's sleep in Nelson, BC, the Hume Hotel is NOT the place for you. Our worst hotel experience in Canada, bar none!



Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
We are truly sorry that you were kept awake due to noise. We have had a room that offers live entertainment and dancing to our guests since 1984. We really do let our guests know that, particularly on weekends, we can't guarantee quiet rooms. We continue to make every effort to minimize disruptions but there are indeed times when it can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. Reservations made by phone or by email have this warning. Perhaps in your case we had forgot. Our sincere apologies - thank you for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We book this hotel at least once per year. We specifically take a motorbike trip to Nelson just to stay in this hotel. They are incredibly biker friendly--granted, we are not really bikers just people who ride a bike (if you get the distinction). The rooms are all lovely and very clean. This time we chose to stay in the renovated fourth floor rooms. The rrom was lovely but the renovation process took away some of the character. The next time we stay --and we definitely will-- we will go with the non renovated room. We really like the charm of the past. The included breakfast is wonderful and if you don't want any of the many choices on the set menu, you are given the option to choose off the main menu with some credit applied to that choice.
We absolutely love this hotel and would highly recommend to anyone who wants to stay in something more than just a box with a door.

Room Tip: The Rapunzel Suite is awesome, but any of the rooms are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humehotel, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thanks for the favorable review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad you were able to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms on the 4th floor. We hope to see you next year on another ride through the West Kootenays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing