We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming and warm place”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcoming and warm place”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I haven't stayed in the rooms at this hotel, yet I can say that the staff and restaurant and bars and the hotel itself are all run very well. i have lived in Nelson since 1976, when the Hume was the only place to go for inclusive dancing. I always go to the restaurant when I come back from my very frequent trips to Vancouver and back by Greyhound, which arrives in Nelson at 5:30 or 6:00 am. The staff are always there to greet me and the breakfasts are fast and good with pleasant efficient service. What I like most is the willingness of the staff to go the extra mile; they let me store my heavy bags while I shop for provisions before heading off to my cabin in the woods. It means a lot to me to be given those little extras which they refuse to take money for. The bars which I have gone to with friends a fair amount are also warm and inviting and inclusive with good food and atmosphere. I figure if all those things are good, the accommodations must be as well. For me, over the last 35 years, the Hume has been a very nice place to have around. Recently, they have renovated the entire top floor of rooms. Don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: i am not reviewing rooms; just the general atmosphere and amenities of this hotel. i have not stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    180
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
103
307
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here on a weekend getaway recently. It was the first time visiting this hotel, and we were very impressed, from the moment of check in to check out.
We stayed in the Juliet Suite, which is on the fourth floor, and has a great view of the courthouse and lake and mountains. The room is beautifully decorated, meticulously clean, and very comfortable....the bed was awesome, as was the beautiful and very roomy bathroom. The room is probably in the quietest area of the hotel, since it is far from the pub, and high enough up to limit the amount of road noise. I am a light sleeper....I heard a bit of traffic, but nothing from other rooms.
We ate at the Library restaurant and were also impressed here...the service was friendly and efficient, and the food was surprisingly good - hot and tasty, and the atmosphere was great.
We thought the price was good for the room, which also included breakfast.
We had a great visit, and will recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: The suites are a little bigger, and are on the 4th floor, which is quieter. Our room was beautifull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the moment you walk into this beautiful historic hotel you feel like you are in another world. The staff are amazing and go out of their way to help you. I being a woman of a certain age suffer from hot flashes in the night. They were wonderful and supplied me with a fan to use for my comfort. The food is wonderful the staff always smiling, rooms so clean. When we come into town for business we always stay. I love this hotel and look forward to our mini trips to Nelson so I can stay again. We enjoy quiet evenings in the library with drinks and cards and the beautiful view.
Thank you to the staff for making our stays most adventurous and pleasing. See you soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Barb. I am happy to hear that you were happy with both the accommodations and food. It is not often that people will offer up reviews for both sides of the business and for that we say thank you. The smiling faces of the staff do go a long ways in any business and we are proud of our team. You also mentioned how clean your room is and that is because of the amazing housekeepers we have here keeping this old place shine.

It's an honor to be considered as your favorite hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I were in town for one night for a business trip (I was working, husband just 'tagged along'). The Hume came recommended from a co-worker and definitely did not disappoint! The first thing we noticed were the AMAZING staff! Every single member we came in contact with from The Library staff, to the front desk, to housekeeping and the restaurant were so friendly and genuine. My husband had time to kill a few hours in the Pub and absolutely loved it (excellent service, wings and beer!). We had lunch at the Library and it was delicious as well as very reasonably priced. We had a room on the 4th floor which had been completely re-do. All the modern amenities as well as a very comfy bed. Fantastic location to shopping, other restaurants etc. Definitely planning a 'non-business' trip in the summer where we can both enjoy more of what the Hume and Nelson has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor were completely re-do with all modern amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephRgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks for such a wonderful review, particularly your mention of our amazing staff who make it all possible. We have the best people working for this company and it's very rewarding to hear of somebody's stay that was a 5 out of 5 in all aspects. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the Hume Hotel for 3 nights on our first visit to Nelson for a ski holiday. Our room on the top floor was lovely with a huge bed and modern bathroom facilities. However, the room was way too hot (in the middle of winter) and there was no way to separately control the thermostat. This made it very difficult to sleep and we couldn't leave the windows open as there was too much surrounding noise. Other than that the location is great and the service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We apologize if your room was too stuffy. Unfortunately during the winter, the air conditioning function of our HVAC units are disabled to make way for heating the building. We do request that if the room is too hot, to open the window even if just for a few minutes to circulate the cool air. It sounds as though this was not a good option for you.

I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient and that the service was excellent. We appreciate the honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I come into Nelson once a year and need a room before and after heading to Baldface Lodge.
Great town, great people, and the hotel, restaurant and pub at the Hume are excellent!!!
I'll be back!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room #336 was perfect for 2 guys traveling together - it has 2 queen beds it 2 different rooms separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is my review

Out of all the hotels I stay at during my business travels, the Hume Hotel in Nelson, is by far my favourite place.

The staff right from Dave and Sheila Martin, through Ryan Martin their son and General Manager are 1st class.

Lorlei the Manager at the Front Desk, Greg the catering manager, and bruce and craig managers of the bar staff, are a hoot to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramrodbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks BB. You have been one of the most loyal overnight guests we have ever had. It's always a pleasure when you check in and even more fun when we succeed in pulling the odd prank on you...! As a customer, you epitomize loyalty and on behalf of everyone here, thank you.

Now when are we going to get you that DJ gig in the Spiritbar?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing