We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best romantic getaway”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“best romantic getaway”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Prescription strength stress relief!!!!
My husband and I are in love with quirky old hotels and the Hume Hotel is the top of our list, and has been for years. The renovated rooms are spectacular without having lost the historical charm the building is so famous for. Not your typical business class place to put your head down. The Hume is a destination hotel that fits in seamlessly with the Kooteney / Nelson relaxation experience. The staff are attentive and accommodating beyond the standard of most hotels, and we felt at home there.
The young chap in the wine boutique helped us select a very nice French blend I never would found at home.
Dining beneath cherubs in the Library Lounge is always one of our favorite memories of the Hume, not to mention the great live entertainment that suits the atmosphere. We most recently stayed in the renovated Juliet Suite which was luxurious beyond our expectations, a comfortable bed, palatial bathtub & walk in shower. The rooms are really as good as they appear on the website! Unlike most hotels, the comp breakfast is a REAL BREAKFAST not a coffee and a muffin. Definitely got our moneys worth at the Hume, compared to a getaway in Vancouver.
We will keep going back to the Hume for years to come!!
Hope to see you there!!!
Ward & Barb

Room Tip: Choose a renovated suite with a/c. Themed suites are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks Ward & Barb. I was happy that I was able to meet you in the parking lot before I headed home for the day. It is rewarding to accommodate guests such as yourselves that enjoy a quick four hour drive from the Okanagan to enjoy Nelson and stay at our hotel. Romantic getaways, as you put it, are a fun escape. As I had mentioned, we are looking forward to the addition of our new Day Spa in February. It will enhance our services beautifully and I invite you to come back and check it out in the new year.

Thanks for your patronage and I hope you had a nice drive back to Vernon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    181
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
106
314
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Hume was a neat hotel. History of it was cool. Great location. The library was my favorite place to eat/drink. Stayed in nice renovated "Minnie's room" but thought it was too expensive overall. Have stayed in some really nice hotels for less

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This old Heritage Hotel was built in 1899 and is undergoing renovations. The 4th floor and part of the 3rd floor rooms are renovated. We didn't get into a renovated room so with no A/C our room was quite hot. The hotel supplied a fan which helped a lot. When the renos are complete it will be more comfortable during the hot summer days. It's location in the heart of downtown Nelson is a real plus. Easy walking access to all the great shops and Restaurants. All the staff from the front desk to Restaurant staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If it's hot outside make sure that you get a renovated room that has A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the Rapunzel room (corner room facing Kootenay Lake) which had been recently renovated. The room was was very nice and clean, and had a room to sit in to enjoy the view as well as the activity of downtown Nelson. Definitely recommend staying there as a special treat - it was our wedding anniversary and well worth it.

The staff was very good and breakfast the next day (included) was good. Only down side was that the coffee in the room could use some improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I am glad that you were able to experience the Rapunzel Room which offers the best view in the hotel as it over looks downtown with a clear shot of the lake and mountains. I am a bit surprised that you did not like the coffee service in the room because we just upgraded all of our Deluxe Rooms with those slick new Keurig coffee makers and a choice of a French Roast, a Medium Roast or Tea. The feedback has been overwhelmingly positive.

If guests don't like the coffee in the rooms, you can always enjoy some freshly brewed Oso Negro in our restaurant when you have your free breakfast.

Thanks for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of all the great reviews. Great service started when we phoned to reserve and she took alot of time to make sure we were in the right room. The elevator was out of service while we were there and she was very up front about it which I appreciated. We stayed in Minnie's room and it was such a great room. Totally renovated with still a touch of history in it to make it feel unique. Nelson was so hot when we were there and the air conditioning did keep up in our room. The road can be a little noisy but they also provided ear plugs just in case, the bed was so comforterable that we didnt' even care that we could hear the early morning traffic. We parked our vehicle at the parkade next to the hotel and the front desk girl had already told me that when we made our reservation so it wasn't a surprise and it was very close by. The breakfast they served free with the room was great, it was a full breakfast and the staff in the restaurant were super friendly. Overall the staff was amazing and very service oriented, if we go back to Nelso we will for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Couple of times a year we visit Nelson and stay at the Hume . I always enjoy the charm and history of the hotel. We were in the newly renovated room which was nice and clean. Of course we hit the Library for happy hour and then Mikes for some great pub fare. it seems the all the staff enjoy their jobs and have been there for years which sometimes is unusual for the hospitality industry. Anyways, its noticible in the level of service that I had this weekend. I stay in hotels all over the Pacific Northwest and this is a unique great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family spent a couple of nights on the 3rd floor at the Hume. This place is something very special and it's so much more than just a cool building in a great location, it's the incredible staff. For starters the elevator was out but we received an e-mail a week prior to our arrival letting us know about this temp. repair. They explained the issued and assured us that they would help with luggage if needed, which they did (Thanks Richard). Upon arrival we were met with some of the nicest staff we have ever encountered in all my years of travel. The day we checked in we were greeted by the Hotel Manager, Ryan Martin. He introduced himself and welcomed us to Nelson, very impressive. Our room was newly remodeled, perfect size for my wife, daughter and I. The free breakfast each morning was fantastic. Eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, hash-browns and OJ, what more could you ask for. We also ate dinner one evening at the Hume, it was also great. We have been letting our American friends know about the Hume experience !! Thanks Ryan and staff for making our summer vacation one of our BEST !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks a lot Ron. It was great to meet you in person after exchanging some emails. I am glad that the lack of an elevator while you were here was not an issue. We have the elevator door all fixed up now and it is operating smoothly.

You are right, the staff is what truly sets this place apart from so many other establishments. It is a pleasure to be surrounded by happy people who enjoy their jobs so much. As you can see, it shows in the overall service.

We hope to see you guys back again, thanks for the review!

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing