We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hume is where my heart is...”
Review of Hume Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hume Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hume is where my heart is...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent stay! Wonderful room, excellent menu and friendly staff. I will be staying there next time I am in Nelson in the fall. Big huge 'Thank You' to the crew at the Hume! It's right in the middle of town as well so if you wanted to take a stroll in the evening, I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    182
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
108
319
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband & I met in Nelson for a wedding last weekend. I drove my car, he drove his motorcycle. We had plans to take his bike to visit friends while staying at the hotel. I had forgotten my helmet at home. When we mentioned this to the women at the front desk (Loralee & Jesse) they both got on the phone right away to track one down for us! Wow, we were impressed.
Our room was clean & nicely decorated. The bed & pillows were extremely comfy. The hotel was quiet at night, especially considering that we were there over the weekend. The complimentary breakfasts were very tasty, hot & of ample portions. When you take into account what you would pay for two decent breakfasts at a restaurant, the price of the room is quite fair. All of the staff in the hotel seem very friendly & accomodating...they really seem to enjoy working there! The only negative thing that we can think of is that the carpets in the hallways & our room are in dire need of replacement. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Hume Hotel over the past weekend and we were quite disappointed. We did not get a newly renovated room. Perhaps we should have complained, but one doesn't expect to put guests in room that is below standard.

The room although clean and spacious was not up to the standards that one would expect for what we paid. Here were some of the problems:
* No air conditioning, just a ceiling fan and a portable fan
* Bathroom counter very small and the arborite chipped
* Cap covering screw on toilet seat missing and appeared dirty
* Shower terrible: no pressure or temperature control and spray sparse and poorly directed
* No hair conditioner, no lotion, very small bar of soap
* Towels small
* No room safe
* No ice bucket in room (only one ice machine on main floor)
* Room noisy from street and pub noise (ear plugs provided!)
* Front desk reasonably efficient but not very friendly
* Breakfast (which was included) was fair, OS NEGRO coffee served, but seemed watered down
* Service was a bit slow in the restaurant
* Parking is limited to about 12 (?) spaces and street parking is limited

On the plus side:
* The queen bed was fairly comfortable
* The Hotel is well placed in the centre of town

We are guilty of not reporting the problems, but as I said earlier one doesn't expect to be put in a room which is below standard. Even on our "deal" the room with taxes was almost $170.00 per night. Not cheap! From reading other reviews the newly renovated rooms are very nice, but we were not given that choice. Sadly we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a newly renovated room, not over the pub and not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Ouch - definitely sorry that you found everything so below standard. Because we were running a full house, a Heritage Room is all that was left. It is no doubt worth it to pay the extra money for a newly renovated room but unfortunately they weren't available.

You are right - no air conditioning or conditioner. The arborite is slightly chipped in that room and the cap covering the screw IS missing. There is no room safe in any of our rooms. The ice buckets are found on top of the ice machine - there is a secondary ice machine on the fourth floor as well. Parking IS limited - we have 14 spots for a 45 room hotel. They are given out on a first come first serve basis. Luckily we are located next to the City Parkade and meters are free from 5pm to 9am.

I was surprised that you were not impressed with our quality breakfast or from any of the amazing staff we have serving it. It may have been a bit slow, when all breakfasts are made to order fresh off the grill, they take a bit more time, especially when the hotel is busy.

We are fixing that toilet and putting in new shampoo and conditioner in the rooms thanks to your feedback. I will test out that shower myself.

You paid $149.99 for the room which included a full breakfast which has a value of $30 if you were to buy it in the restaurant. I personally feel that there is great value in these Heritage Rooms but respect that you just couldn't see it yourself. Next time you really need to book a Deluxe Room in advance!

Thanks for your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

stayed for two nights.Room was clean and comfortable.Food was fabulous.Both dinners at the library lounge were delicious as was the complimentary breakfasts.But the best thing was the staff.Very personable helpful and genuinely happy.From the service at dinner to the smiles from the chambermaids to the gals at the front desk.WELL DONE.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beggsy580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was very nice and clean, with modern furnishings. Staff was friendly and helpful. Maya in the library restaurant was great. Food was very good. They supply ear plugs so we thought it might be loud but we thought it was pretty quiet. There was a kureig coffee pot in the room which was a nice surprise. This is a heritage hotel worth staying at. You get a choice of 4 hot breakfasts with your room and one of them was bacon and eggs. My only complaint is the lack of parking there are about 12 stalls for cars and room for about 5 motorcycles if everyone parks close together.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Non-fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us and writing a review of your experience. Parking can be a challenge everywhere in our city. We have fourteen stalls that fill up on a first come first serve basis. Luckily we are located next to the City Parkade so finding a spot is never an issue. In addition, all the metered spots around town are free from 5pm - 9am and all day on Sundays.

We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A beautiful heritage building. Lot's of character, the antique elevator is a fun ride. Atmosphere, staff and food was all great. My room was lovely, clean, great view! Had a great stay. I could live there easy LOL! They can also accommodate pets if you are travelling with your fur friend. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I was given a choice of two rooms, one above the bar (still very nice) without a/c or a smaller one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a remarkable heritage hotel which has been very tastefully modernized to preserve the heritage value. Very friendly staff. The hotel is spotless and exceptionally well maintained. The full breakfast is equal in quantity and quality to any breakfast available.
Nelson has taken great care to preserve the historic downtown as well as scores of houses dating to the early 20th or even late 19th century. By far my choice of cities to visit in the BC Interior!

Room Tip: The fully renovated and tastefully 4th floor is excellent and the entire hotel will soon receive the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 10 in Nelson
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hume Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Property: Hume Hotel & Spa
Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing