We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice jazz lounge & desserts”
Review of The Library Lounge

The Library Lounge
Ranked #3 of 95 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Hume Hotel has three different food outlets to eat in that offer the same menu and a vast array of food. A family restaurant called the General Store, an intimate fireside lounge featuring live jazz called the Library Lounge or a lively, old English-style bar called Mike's Place Pub. We cook up amazing steaks, pastas, seafood, the '100 Mile Burger', sandwiches, salads and homemade desserts. There is a full Gluten-Free menu available. We are also known for a legendary Sunday Brunch that goes from 11am - 2pm every Sunday. We are popular for our consistency, generous portions, food quality and reasonable prices all to be enjoyed in a character atmosphere that was built in 1898. There is no place like the Hume.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice jazz lounge & desserts”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Liked the in house made pies and tortes.
Liked hot blueberry tea with amaretto.
Liked Ange (short for angela I suppose) who waited us the second time we were here, after realizing she hadn't taken our drink order for quite some time she comp'd our first round. Thanks Ange!
Liked the fireplace very much to curl up to in the dim light and just relax.
Actual good jazz musicians, Nelson has some great talent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lromanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    161
    44
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Seriously Good Food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I'm pretty reluctant to order a steak dinner unless the restaurant is known for that "type" of meal, so when I ordered the New York Strip and took my first bite, I was in love. The whole dinner was beyond my expectations. My husband ordered the Mediterranean Chicken dinner and was equally as impressed. The Eggs Benedict the next morning was great and everyone else enjoyed their meals too. We also stayed and took in the Sunday Brunch which happened to fall on this past Thanksgiving Wknd., so not only did we have a massive breakfast variety but a turkey dinner with all the fixings.

I do have to say our Friday night server, Will, was top notch!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monetville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PLEASANTLY SURPRISED”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently made a one week trip to Nelson BC. Eating out for an entire week can be challenging and then add to that a newly aquired Gluten Allergy. We ate at the Hume Hotel Library several times ......they actually have a "Gluten Free" Menu. Awesome! I have to say everything we had was excellent with regard to Flavour, timely and friendly, knowledgable service and tasteful entertainment during our meal. Value for our dollar was good. Would highly recommend this Restaurant on your next visit to Nelson.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

If you're a fan of liver and onions, make sure you order them. The liver was fork tender and the onions and sauce fantastic. My wife ordered the salmon and was impressed. The decor left a lot to be desired but the food was great. (If they offer you the dining room or a booth, take the dining room. The booths are very uncomfortable)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch and diner.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday brunch with the tator tot lady that wrote the last review and have nothing but fantastic things to say about the food and service. Now on wendsday evening I'm sitting in the library pub at the hume eating wings and a pint of NBC honey ale. Great place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at The Library Lounge, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
The Sunday Brunch has been a longstanding tradition in the community. Thank you for coming in and expressing how great it was. Sundays and Hume brunch are meant for each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Library Lounge also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Library Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing