We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Library Lounge

The Library Lounge
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hume Hotel has three different food outlets to eat in that offer the same menu and a vast array of food. A family restaurant called the General Store, an intimate fireside lounge featuring live jazz called the Library Lounge or a lively, old English-style bar called Mike's Place Pub. We cook up amazing steaks, pastas, seafood, the '100 Mile Burger', sandwiches, salads and homemade desserts. There is a full Gluten-Free menu available. We are also known for a legendary Sunday Brunch that goes from 11am - 2pm every Sunday. We are popular for our consistency, generous portions, food quality and reasonable prices all to be enjoyed in a character atmosphere that was built in 1898. There is no place like the Hume.
Calgary
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had dinner in the Library and the food and service were both top notch. Good quality food with reasonable prices makes it a good value. The night we ate there they had a two piece jazz band which was a bonus. I would recommend this eatery

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    156
    42
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome for World Cup watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Really enjoyed an excellent lunch while watching one of the semis. Great friendly service from Jodi, good and hilarious atmosphere from the local fans and Keno players. Full range of Nelson Brewing Co beers on tap. The mexican chicken dish was superb. Wonderful massive high def screen. Well done all!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew4038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Above Excellent Place For Food and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I just walked in the door from another excellent time meeting friends for lunch at the Hume Hotel! I can't say enough Great adjectives for, not only the tasty food, but the incredible service by Shauna Long! Her demeanour for treating the customers with such caring and wonderful service just makes the visit to the Dining Room all that more special! It's no wonder that my friends and I always choose that establishment first and have had nothing but great food and the best service ever! Thank you Hume Hotel, and thank you, Shauna Long!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilly653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at The Library Lounge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
You are right - Shauna Long is fantastic. She's another long term employee that we adore. Thanks for posting another great review about this place. We feel the love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visit Nelson every summer and eating at the Hume is always a must. Our server Adam (this last visit) was friendly and professional and Richard always comes for a chat. Burgers, borscht, the beef dip and the cabbage rolls are all favourites. When the fries are ordered crispy they are my favourite of any restaurant. Always a great place to eat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, General Manager at The Library Lounge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for the glowing review. Richard is a General Store veteran while Adam has been with us for almost one full year. These guys really know how to hold it down when it's busy and always with a smile. We are lucky to have them on board. Thanks for coming in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nude in The Library”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The best meals we had while in the Crawford Bay/ Nelson B.C.area were in The Library lounge in the historic Hume Hotel. Not only was the food excellent, but the service was friendly -- the kind of natural, unassuming interaction you expect in a small Canadian town. But, of course, Nelson is a B.C. gem ( and I don't mean jade). As for the nudes -- I spy with my naked eye -- check-out the ceiling and the fireplace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seabreezes93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Library Lounge also viewed

Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
Nelson, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to The Library Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing