We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corbett Lake under new owners”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Corbett Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merritt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Corbett Lake Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Merritt
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Corbett Lake under new owners”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have been going to Corbett lake for 11 years, several trips every season. The accommodations
have always been above average for a fishing camp with showers, flush toilets, 24 hour power
etc. in all rooms and cabins. The fishing and meals is what made this place special. Rainbow trout from 2 to about 20lbs ( yes - no typo ) and lots of them. The food has been outstanding for years. Well, new owners and the place has taken a steep nose dive. The welcome feeling and friendly atmosphere is gone. Fishing has declined significantly. I am very sad writing this report
as I have experienced a lot of great times at Corbett. The time has come for me to move on.
2 or 3 years ago I would have givin this place 4 to 5 stars. Today I can only give it 2.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorbettLakeLodge, Manager at Corbett Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Rob Lester, thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize the service was not up to your standards. If you would like to outline exactly what issues you had during your stay please email corbettlake@gmail.com. We will use your comments as a learning tool for our team to ensure we consistently provide better service in the future.

Best regards,
Corbett Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Country, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

A great weekend for a 50th Birthday celebration. The cabins were rustic but very clean & have everything you need. We had a big deck with a beautiful view of the lake. We cannot say enough about how accommodating the staff were. They were very approachable and have good knowledge about the lake & the fishing. The fishing was fantastic and every fish we caught was trophy-sized. The flyfish only and no motorized boat rules make it a special place. Kim is a wonderful hostess and an outstanding chef. All 8 in our party agreed she made the best prime rib dinner we've ever had. Most of the people we met at the inn were return guests that have been coming for many years - that says a lot. We hope to become return guests ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaceforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

You may think I'm talking about the cabin MM that we stayed in but no...I'm talking about the mouse that woke me up at 3am and was about a foot from my head.
Just drive by and chose this place to stay for night. Very rustic and quaint. Great setting and if you are a fly fisherman who likes to catch fish this looks like the place to go because I saw about 15 big trout just at the end of the dock.
As another reviewer said service was pretty much nonexistant which was our experience too,and I thought it was a bit pricey for what you got (even if you don't get a mouse like I did).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorbettLakeLodge, Manager at Corbett Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
This review and all reviews prior are from previous owners. Corbett Lake Lodge is now under new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Nice place, clean, warm, all the amenities fridge,stove, indoor plumbing,shower.Very helpfull staff. Dog friendly, good horizon if you have a telescope. Good fishing on a dry fly, average around 3 lbs , easy access off the no.5. The food in the lodge is very good and good value for the money. Stayed a week with my dad(87) getting around was easy for him. All in all a great fishing trip, and worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loneyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This place is about 15 minutes from Merritt. Although the rooms are sub standard to say the least. If you are going there to catch fish(and BIG) ones. It is absolutely amazing. It is a beautiful lake as well. They have row boats and don't allow motors so if you have the chance bring your own electric motor. We kept only one fish and ate it. The taste was great. If you're an avid fisher and can overlook the rooms. I'd highly recommend going here!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whisperingwhilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Corbett is a terrific fishing lake. Great shoals, lots of fish in the 2-pound range. It's right on the highway so expect some traffic noise. The accommodations, however, are pretty run down. No money has been put into the place for years, and that's reflected in the cabins themselves and in the staff, who all seem a little run-down themselves, although they're friendly! If you want great fly fishing, don't mind the proximity to the road, and don't mind the rustic accommodation, you'll enjoy Corbett.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Professoronthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

We have been coming to Corbett for over 20 years (which makes us "newbies" compared to many of the guests). Looking around at dinner and seeing generations of Corbett Lake devotees speaks to what an incredible place this truly is. Peter McVey is the proprieter...an English gent in his late 60s (though you wouldn't know it by how busy he keeps)...truly a jack of all trades...meeting him is worth the trip alone. Peter manages the property, cooks delicious, hearty breakfasts and dinners each day (he used to cook in London for a political higher-up), offers up his expertise whenever asked, makes incredible cane rods (he was trained at Winston and those that know confirm that though his rods are a fraction of the price, they are even better), and most importantly, cultivates these amazing rainbow trout! The best part is Peter visiting your table at the end of the night...he's always good for a few jokes or some interesting political views (if you share your wine he might stay a bit longer!).
Now...to the FISH! If you want to see some of the largest rainbows you've ever seen, just look off the dock. But don't even think about fishing there, those fish are "pets"...no fishing 50 meters around the dock. But don't worry...there are tons more fish in the lake. It is not uncommon during the last few years for patrons to catch rainbows exceeding 10 pounds (in fact it happens at least weekly). There was an 18 lb rainbow caught this May! (It sounds unbelievable, I know, but when you see the pics up on the wall you'll see that this is no joke).
Overall, Corbett is wonderful. Be prepared for rustic, but clean, cabins. The staff is lovely and works incredibly hard...we always tip them well at the end of our stay (be prepared...20% is the norm...they serve all the meals, clean, cater to all your needs, etc). You fish hard, eat well, and sleep like a log. If you love fly fishing this is a definite place to go...though may not be around much longer due to plans to sell!

  • Liked — Fly fishing & food
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveling4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merritt hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Merritt
Quality Inn Merritt
#1 of 12 in Merritt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Merritt
Knights Inn Merritt
#3 of 12 in Merritt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Merritt BC
Super 8 Merritt BC
#6 of 12 in Merritt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Merritt
Ramada Limited Merritt
#5 of 12 in Merritt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ranchland Villa Motel
Ranchland Villa Motel
#7 of 12 in Merritt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Merritt
Travelodge Merritt
#9 of 12 in Merritt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbett Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbett Lake Lodge

Property: Corbett Lake Lodge
Address: Hwy 97C | 15 minutes East of Merritt, BC, Merritt, British Columbia V1K 1B6, Canada (Formerly Corbett Lake Country Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Merritt
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Merritt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corbett Lake Lodge is a premier fly fishing resort and escape destination located 15 minutes from Merritt, BC, Canada and 2 1/2 hours from Vancouver, BC, Canada. The rustic and comfortable Lodge and fully equipped cabins are set next to Corbett Lake in the beautiful, rolling grasslands and poplar woods of south central British Columbia. Our fully licensed Lodge offers a wonderful dining experience and a great location for gatherings. We offer the best of fishing, food and hospitality to individuals and families and we welcome retreats, reunions and weddings. Escape to Corbett Lake Lodge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Corbett Lake Country Hotel Merritt
Country Inn Merritt
Merritt Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing