We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, it is possibly the best Chinese food in Merritt”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canada Cafe

Canada Cafe
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Merritt
Cuisines: Chinese, Cafe, Asian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Yes, it is possibly the best Chinese food in Merritt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We were a little reticent, but took a chance. Glad we did. Opted for the very reasonably priced supper buffet. Came complete with Wonton soup, Korean beef, Sesame chicken, Sweet and sour pork, deep fried prawns, calamari, veggies, noodles, rice, and desserts.

All foods we tried were tasty and non-greasy. Favourite? Their new recipe: Sesame chicken, moist and delicious.

Banquette and four-chair table seating. Staff is very pleasant.

We would happily eat here again. Not sure what it will look like in a few weeks as the space will be upgraded according to a staff member. First time in 5 years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A decent place for Chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for dinner on our way through Merritt. It is nothing fancy by any means but the food was decent. We had their smorgasbord which was nothing special but did contain a good variety of food and was pretty well priced. The two of us ate dinner with a pot of Chinese tea for just under thirty five bucks, tip included. If you like Chinese food this place is OK.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lingette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had the dinner buffet at this restaurant when we were here in the spring, and I was hoping this gem was still there, when we returned this weekend.It was, and the food was still great! Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the place.There is a very good variety of food on the buffet table, and it is all delicious.The lady who runs the place treats you like a visiting relative, and makes you completely at home!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Number 1 Chinese Restaurant in Merrit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We revisited the Canada Cafe on a recent trip to Merrit, BC. The friendly owners Sandy and Alan give us a wonderful welcome back and treated us to a dinner of Chinese Curry, Chow Mein and Chicken Wings. As always their food is wonderful and the highlight of our trips to visit my son's family.

Make sure to ask for their Hot and Sour soap. It is excellent.

We are looking forward to or next trip to try other marvellous dishes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We went for the evening Chinese buffet , and the food was all delicious! Service was excellent, and the lady who manages/cooks is very friendly

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canada Cafe also viewed

Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 
Merritt, British Columbia
Merritt, British Columbia
 

Been to Canada Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing