We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A backcountry experience like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talus Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Invermere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talus Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A backcountry experience like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The spectacular setting of Talus Lodge is breathtaking, and the comfortable environment that owners Chris and Joanne have created allows you to enjoy every part of your stay. From amazing hikes through pristine wilderness to delicious meals and relaxing evenings on the deck, Talus Lodge is an ideal place to refresh and rejuvenate. We had a fantastic time with family, met new friends and enjoyed the peace and beauty of BC’s backcountry. Thank you, Chris and Joanne, for an adventure that we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Having visited over a dozen different back-country lodges in as many years in the BC/Alberta interior, Talus Lodge stacks up as one of the better ones. Talus lodge was the meeting point for our corporate get-away for several days in February 2013.
The helicopter ride-in gave a great first impression. Nicely situated in a picturesque clearing, it makes for breathtaking scenery. Our host Chris was busy preparing for our arrival and greeted us as we off loaded our gear.
Our group and guides did daily back country ski trips and the terrain was just challenging enough for our group of skiers ranging from novice to expert. There were no shortage of Kodak moments and we lucked into the full gamut of weather from cloudless, windless skies to lots of the fluffy white stuff. We did not limit ourselves to skiing as some ventured off in snow shoes for a more relaxed stroll. Not to let the unspoiled snow around the lodge remain untouched, a snow fort complete with chimney was soon carved out of a massive overhang.
An unexpected snow system forced us to stay an extra night but Chris was prepared and accommodated our needs including access to a satellite phone so we could notify our families that we were delayed.
The accommodations were pleasantly clean and well cared for. Beds were comfortable, with walk out doors to the vast veranda. Extra pillows are available so don’t hesitate to ask for them. The views were inspiring. The main lounge and eating area are cosy and comfortable with large bright windows to take in amazing topography. Fireplaces on each level kept the place toasty and gave a nice ambience.
The highlight of the day was coming back from a day of skiing and relaxing in the sauna that Chris had prepared in advance of our return.
It was a pleasure to have Chris close by as he interacted well with our group and ensured we were comfortable and enjoyed the surroundings. His passion and interest in the lands and wildlife shone through and he had many great stories to help us appreciate where we were.
I would look forward to returning in the summer to enjoy another season at this gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary,ab
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We travelled with a group of 11 hikers and were fortunate to have this lodge to ourselves.

We arrived in a snow storm in mid-August. Undaunted by the conditions upon our arrival Chris, the ever cheerful and welcoming owner and able guide, insisted upon getting us out for a look around the lodge and glimpses of the hardy high alpine flowers before dark, after a frustrating day waiting for an opening for the helicopters to bring us in.

The next day dawned bright and clear and by mid-afternoon the flowers were once again showing their brilliant late summer best. Chris guided us to a spectacular ridge, stopping to point out animal digs, a pair of ptarmigan, lots of vocal marmots and all kinds of rock formations and geography. The dinner back at the lodge and the staff and atmosphere were first class, the showers and sauna were welcome adventures and the beds were cozy.

We have been hiking the high alpine for 17 summers together in the canadian rockies, as a group and this was decidedly one of our favourite destinations. It had it all: Chris and his staff were very friendly and helpful, the hearty meals were skillfully prepared and tasty, the lodge met all of our needs and the location and scenery were spectacular.

The surrounding high alpine hikes were to ridges and view points with plenty of challenges and some wonderful vistas. There is something for hikers of all ages and abilities in this terrain.

I would recommend this lodge for adventurous people, couples and groups particularly, who are looking for full and physical days in the outdoors and are well equipped for the weather changes of the region and the altitude. The lodge was of a very high standard for this kind of isolated location.

Room Tip: Prepare for primitive but well designed pit toilets and hot water showers that take some co-ordinati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bee-bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Talus Lodge is in a remote pristine alpine location. I have hiked extensively in the Canadian Rockies and I can tell you first-hand that Talus Lodge is a one-of-a-kind amazing destination and well worth the effort to get to.

My family and I visited Talus from August 6-10, 2012. We came as a family of four with two adults and two children aged 12. Chris and Joanne Espinel, the owners/operators of the Lodge, and their assistant guide Aaron made us feel most welcome.

The Lodge accommodations are solid. The bedrooms are comfortable although not particularly luxurious, but that is not the reason you come to Talus! Bathrooms are shared. There is a sauna that was not used by anyone in our group but was certainly available if we wanted. There is also a private cabin, if you choose, that appears to accommodate at least 6 comfortably. The "home cooked" meals created by Joanne were excellent - tasty and well prepared.

Daily hikes were fully guided by Chris and/or Aaron, although I believe there is a self-guiding option on their website. Both Chris and Aaron are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We saw incredible scenery and enjoyed our hikes immensely due in large part to our expert guides. For this reason, and even if you have stayed at Talus before, I recommend you take advantage of the Talus Lodge guides' expertise.

During our stay, the other guests in the Lodge were very friendly and interesting. People make the difference and the people at the Lodge during our stay were the nicest you'll find.

Thanks Chris, Joanne, and Aaron for an unforgettable experience. We hope to return to Talus Lodge again soon!

Room Tip: The "Forget Me Not" room has the nicest views and is among the quietest followed closely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I am a 79 yr old woman who has done a lot of hiking in the past but is not particularly fit right now. Coming from sea level to 7000 feet made walking uphill quickly challenging but the guides at Talus, Chris the owner and Aaron, set a pace that was very accommodating and offered alternative gentler hikes to the fast paced longer ones. The terrain varies from gentle limestone slopes to high peaks and is awesomely beautiful. The meals were exceptionally good. In total, the consideration, hospitality, and congeniality made the 4 days a truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiingAndHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary,canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is the type of lodge that appeals to hikers wanting to explore the high alpine region - with all the comforts of home. Hosts (Chris & Joanne) were fabulous -every need accommodated with a smile!
It's pure luxury to have full days of hiking in stunning scenery and then return to the lodge to relax & enjoy Joanne's creative & delicious meals. Chris & Aaron were our excellent guides - so we were able to divide into 2 groups based on distance to be covered.
Since this is the back-country, one has to appreciate such innovations as warm watering- can showers, and understand that pit toilets are the only option (but these are the well kept, clean etc.).
We're looking forward to another adventure there - perhaps with snow shoes.

Room Tip: In summer the downstairs rooms are probably cooler - and have direct access to the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEACalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This was the second time my father and I have been to Talus and it was just as amazing as the first time. The lodge is located in such a beautiful area surrounded by gorgeous lakes and offers the most beautiful views of the mountains and stars from our bedroom. Both times our meals have exceeded our expectations and they were able to kindly accomodate for my gluten intolerance, even baking desserts that include gluten free cookies, brownies and cheesecake. The hikes guided by Chris were absolutely fabulous. He has a wealth of knowledge and took us to see some of the most incredible views beyond my imagination. I would highly recommend Talus to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adnickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermere
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
North Shore
Holiday Inn Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talus Lodge

Property: Talus Lodge
Address: Box 731, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Invermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Invermere
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing