We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swiss Chalets Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The title basically says it all. You get everything you need including fridge and microwave. The owner is very nice and showed me to my room and how things worked. The water pressure was a little low and the hot water could fade during a shower. The shower stall (no tub) was cramped and the bathroom door height was low (I'm just over 6' and I'd bump my head if I didn't bend down a little).

The room was clean and the bed comfortable so overall it was good and I would recommend it however, again, temper your expectations because it is quaint but basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

The first time I stayed here was over 25 years ago during one of the famious snow storms that shut down the mountain roads. Hope hotels were full and we found this place by accident.. We have stayed here on many ocasions. It is very quant. Not a five star by any stretch but I doubt if any high value place could match the gunine welcome that you receive. There is room for truck and RV as well as trails to walk on .

With our busy life and business routine there are times to drop down to the plain and simple things that are all around us. This motel is such a place. The rates are around the 60 dollar range which reflects the age but it is clean and convient.
I highly recommend this place for family's travelling with children as they have kitchenette facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowboatbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way back to Vancouver and it was a very good experience. We were early to book in but the very pleasant owner suggested a place to eat so we parked up and came back in an hour. Our chalet was very sweet, very clean; a huge bed, flat screen TV (with the best channels on all the hotels we stayed in Canada) a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and kettle all you need really. The linen and towels were lovely and soft better than some 4* hotels so we were very happy with this quaint little place. The free WIFI was a bit hit and miss but for one night who cares a lovely motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This motel is old but exceptionally clean and well maintained. The proprietor offered us extra clothes to clean our bikes. The nearby Sushi restaurant is worth a visit. We can recommend it for other cyclists.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and on arrival were met by the very friendly and helpful owner Chris. We were upgraded to a King room, which for a motel room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the room had a fridge and microwave and small table for 2. Bathroom small but clean. Our chalet was away from the highway and really quiet

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Basically we hit Hope, BC without a reservation on a Thursday evening and after calling around the motels that were advertised in the local tourism brochure Swiss Chalets had the best deal at $66 including tax. And it was a great deal. The room was very nice and no complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azlib69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Easy to find off highway 1, as motels go this is pretty good. Quiet and friendly with everything needed for short overnight stop, fridge, microwave etc . The room was quite dated but overall I would stay there again especially as it is a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philhh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope hotels
1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 20 in Hope
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#5 of 20 in Hope
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hope
Travelodge Hope
#12 of 20 in Hope
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#1 of 20 in Hope
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Motel
Windsor Motel
#4 of 20 in Hope
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Chalets Motel

Address: 456 Highway 1 | Box 997, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range: £46 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Swiss Chalets Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Swiss Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing