We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Hope” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swiss Chalets Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swiss Chalets Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay in Hope”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Drove from Calgary to Hope, called the motel on the road to say we would arrive around 10:30PM. Gentleman stayed up to greet us and let us into our massive two bedroom chalet. Clean quiet and close to grocery store/liquor store in town. This is a great place to stay in Hope and probably the only place I will stay when I'm making the drive over to the island especially in a group.

They are very accommodating, allowing myself and my 3 friends to stay in one room with two beds and the layouts of the two rooms/chalet's I've rented have been fantastic. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Can1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    32
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Upon disembarking the last ferry in Tsawwassen, our party traveled North to Hope for the night. We arrived to a very dark town and hoped for the best.
It appeared the The Swiss Chalet Motel was the only available motel, we run the bell and were greeted by a friendly woman. She placed us in the last available chalet (#2) for a very reasonable rate. We slept very well in our small chalet and checked out the next morning at our leisure. Despite the room being next to Highway #1, the bedrooms were very quiet.

The Chalet contained a small living room with nice TV, fireplace and couch, a good-sized kitchen/dining room with small fridge. It also had two bedrooms with a conjoined bathroom. The hotel is not new, but it is well cleaned and updated.

We were very thankful for their service.

Room Tip: Book ahead and make sure to phone for late arrival. Although our chalet was road-side, the rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Many reviews have used terms such as dated, older motel. Yes this motel was was around since the 1930s BUT we stayed in one of the cabins which was completely renovated (#27) and was nicer than any chain motel room I have ever stayed in. The owner is Korean and the decorations reflect the simplistic beautiful styles of the Japanese and Korean cultures. The room was huge and had all the amenities you could want. eg. large eating table with 4 comfortable chairs. Place is spotless and the owner obviously takes pride in the way the hotel looks. I can recommend this property without reservation. (We did not experience any noise from the highway).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERTA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

- Motel is very easy to find on the highway, however noise of traffic is not heard in rooms - very quiet.
- The beds here are very comfortable, allowing you to have a great restful sleep.
- Pet friendly - good areas to walk your pet to look after their needs. Making it very easy and helpful to travel with your furry friend.
- While the motel is dated, it is clean, and we noticed many renovations that are happening as well giving it a fresher look.
- Water pressure was good and hot water was easily available
- One recommendation I have for them is to install a mirror outside of bathroom as well - so that 2 people can get ready in the morning at the same time.
- I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We arrived in Hope without a reservation and were pleasantly surprised to find Swiss Chalets with little cottages. We had a full two bedroom cottage with living room and kitchen. Cinnamon, the blogging Coonhound, was thrilled with the private grassy yard and picnic table. Although dated, it is kept up and we saw evidence of some repairs in the bathroom. The A/C unit was in the livingroom/kitchen area only. But we really didn't need it once the sun went down. Nice and clean. Very friendly owner provided attentive service. Great price too!

Room Tip: There are rooms farther to the back but the road noise really didn't bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Would recommend. Clean,quaint and great service for a great price. Had a cottage for the night and was spacious and clean. Comfortable bed too. Right off the road after driving the Fraser Canyon. Owner was really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaJ0695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

After a long day of driving I was pleased to get off the road. I had made a reservation ahead of time and at first was given a not so pleasant room (room 19). I asked later about a cabin and was very pleased when the front desk gentleman gave me cabin 24. It was all I had hoped it would be. It was very warm out and I appreciated the air conditioning. The bed was comfortable and I loved the quilt. The bathroom was basis but clean. I did not use the kitchen but it looked as though it had everything you would need. I enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: Not Room 19. I was very pleased when I was moved to Cabin 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanooseJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope hotels
1.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#5 of 20 in Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#9 of 20 in Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hope
Travelodge Hope
#8 of 20 in Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn Towne Motel
Inn Towne Motel
#18 of 20 in Hope
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Motel
Windsor Motel
#4 of 20 in Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Chalets Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Chalets Motel

Property: The Swiss Chalets Motel
Address: 456 Highway 1 | Box 997, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Swiss Chalets Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Swiss Chalets Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing