We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in a small town”

293 Wallace Street Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The chefs at 293 Wallace Street Restaurant rarely look farther than 150 kilometres away for their meats and produce, sourcing organic ingredients from farmers throughout the Fraser Valley whenever possible. These ingredients lend harvest-fresh flavours to their eclectically influenced menu, which includes aged-in-house Angus steaks alongside traditional Creole, Indian, and Italian entrees. They also whisk together all of their own sauces and dressings, and modify dishes to accommodate vegetarian and gluten-free diets. The restaurant features outdoor seating for scowling at clouds during the warmer seasons, and shelters guests with rich earth tones and dark wooden accents within the dining room. Red tulips add vibrant splashes to the decor, as do the tabletop colouring sheets that busy children's hands pre-meal.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in a small town”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We used trip advisor to search for places to eat in our quick stop in Hope. We went to the #1 and weren't overwhelmed. So walked down the street to the "#2". Let me tell you, this the NUMBER ONE!

We had the Confit Duck and Brie, the Full Pork Nachos, Bacon Mac and Cheese and Fish and Chips. Note to self, get the small portion of the nachos as they are HUGE. Everything was incredibly delicious. If I remember correctly, the menu is mostly local.

If you are in Hope, run straight there! PS it's now called the 293 Wallace St Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    120
    44
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A 'big city' dining experience in downtown Hope! Fabulous food, great ambience, and excellent service - what more could anyone ask for!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bethanybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, CAD
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amusing glass placement ...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Appears this place has changed ownership. This is my first time here, and the street appeal is very inviting. Once inside we were greeted well and our party of three were seated immediately. Our server was Alexis and she helped us with the wine selection and appies we ended up with wings! The menu was simple yet interesting. The sirloin lamb was just right, and had a very interesting flavor. For some reason I kept getting my wine and water glass placed on my left each time folks from the kitchen showed up, I found it amusing! I would go here again, if only for the amusement :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2stepRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another find!!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Joe's in Hope...we accidentally found this as we were looking around town. Passing through the town on a overnight trip to Regina...we found a jewel! We only had the appetizers and they were great. A busy little place with outdoor seating and indoor setting. We got the best table. Food was super...a not to miss stop!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent menu, good value”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We didn't find the interior of Joe's as quirky and interesting as some other reviewers, but in any case we wanted to sit outside and watch the locals wander by. The small sidewalk patio holds only a handful of tables, and Joe's seems popular, so you might have to wait for an outside table.
Food was good, though not outstanding. Menu was decent, though not innovative. The service was attentive and cheerful. Overall, we enjoyed eating at Joe's, and felt we'd made the right choice of restaurant in Hope; we would certainly go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 293 Wallace Street Restaurant also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to 293 Wallace Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing