We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Owl St Cafe

Owl St Cafe
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Hope
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Came here with a group of friends en route to the okanagan. Wonderful and warm ma and pa operation. Simple menu and quality ingredients. Definitely worth checking out if around the area!

Helpful?
Thank kevintkluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gluten Free options”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

They have gluten free bread that they have especially made for them. I love the Bacon and tomato sandwiches. Love the decor, and in summer they have a really nice patio in the back. Good service and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful people”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great hospitality and food. Well worth the side trip off the beaten path. Would recommend it as a must should you be in the vicinity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere while enjoying a quality meal”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

On October 05,2013 at 1215pm we attended the Owl St. Cafe in Hope, British Columbia. We live 90kms away so phoned Owl St. Cafe and a very nice ladies voice answered advising me yes they were open from 0800 to 1600pm. We drove on hwy no.1 East towards Hope, B.C. and took the off exit 168 which there is a hwy sign advising food, restaurant, lodging, Hope, B.C. The exit road to the restaurant is approx. 1 km and on your right is a very large sign with pointing flashing arrow Owl St. short intersection and a tall attractive A frame Cedar front restaurant with all glass windows, patio with two tables a nice tall tree with small bears climbing up carved on it. Two entrance doors with beautiful owls cut in the door windows. A vehicle parking side also entrance with a very wide eagle bird its wings folded down as if landing on a tree stump nicely carved.

Inside you immediately see long trees cut in half displaying the growing years of grains and very highly lacquered to a high polish. Numerous tables that are also varnished from big to medium cut stumps making a interesting table edge design with comfortable chairs with high backs. The tables are supported with tree trunks with varnish finish. The counter to order is surrounding the owner's and cook Graeme and waitress Sonia. Met with a big pleasant smile and food orders taken right away. It was lunch time menu but no problem for me getting a very big item quality breakfast and a nice soup and sandwich for my wife.

Out another side door is to a open patio with flower pots and a Owl sitting on a tree to watch over you. This patio was in the sun and well wind protected. It was a beautiful setting to look out a large window and see the fall tree leaves. You are not seated too crowded having a right size table and near well lighted windows to the outside.

In side you hear the light chatter of the locals and you feel this is your home. Fresh coffee is always brewing and no charge for refills. Our meals were hot, adequate and I feel well priced to the reasonable side. We eat out a lot at many nearby city restaurants and we did enjoy the tasty food. Remember all the food you order is listed on a large menu board and they advised me you get this exact food all the time. You get eggs, sausage, or other meat and toasted bread and soups like you requested. We were satisfied with the selection on the menu for each day.

This restaurant has a trailer court in the back with a laundry mat, good close parking and the street is just a short distance to Hope's main centre of town streets with many Skoda store wall paintings and Peter Ryan tree carvings. Hope has a nice small park with a Japanese garden and also is very close to the beginning of history (Othello Tunnels) railway for the gold mining years which the area makes for a nice days picnic and short walk along the tunnel trail.

This Owl restaurant was built by the owner who purchased a log mill and cut the needed tables and structure. Built (2003) with the Pine Beetle killed timber from Manning Park. Inside wood is 150yr.old barn wood from near by Chilliwack(naturally weathered). Almost 200 owls donated by customers as far away as Mexico. It fits with the heritage of street building, pioneer stores and the high beautiful mountains that makes for a picturesque back ground in all seasons.

We recommend this restaurant for all seize of families. It is unique and will accommodate social, birthday ,fundraisers, anniversaries, and party meetings. No.1 listed & mentioned of 10 great Canadian pit stops recommended by MacLean's readers-2012 Magazine. Ph.-604-869-3181(GPS N49 21.580,w121,27.655.(Email-Sonia@604-869-3181orgraeson@telus.net). Will be back! Remember to spot and count all the owls watching you! softsand-13.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lastingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Hope”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

You'll love it! The Owl street cafe is 100% worth the extra short drive off the highway. Amazing fresh food prepared with love with lots of great options like free range eggs, fresh farm sausages and home baked gluten free bread. Great coffee, cute atmosphere, the best place to stop for a bite in Hope!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wcoastalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Owl St Cafe also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Owl St Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing