We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless in Hope!”
Review of Coquihalla Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coquihalla Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After checking several other motels in the vicinity decided to take a comparably priced room at the Coq. What a nasty surprise. Room was dirty, spiders in the corners, rug very very dirty albeit a pet room, smelled like smoke and on top of all this, the electrical outlet in the bathroom did not work and with 2 ladies we needed the use of this for our blow-dryers and curling irons. Just a complete inconvenience all around. Last but not least.....very very expensive for what we got. $115. I would not recommend this motel. On the other hand, the front desk clerk helped me with figuring out the tv channels. Would not stay here again and do not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Channybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Motel, good sized room and clean. No where to hang clothes. No iron/ironing board available from motel. No hair dryer.No glasses in room.Towels in bathroom very thin and old with holes in it. Most other guests trades men in pickup trucks Many other motels in town to choice from.
Could not recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquihalla M, Manager at Coquihalla Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We're sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with your room. We make sure every room has at least 2 coffee mugs, 2 water bottles, & 2 plastic cups in them. If the room was missing any of the items listed we're very sorry and really wish that you would have said something so that we might have remedied the situation. We did however take into consideration your displeasure with the towels and we've thrown all the "old" towels out and replaced them with brand new ones. (Hole free :D ) We'll be bringing in an iron/ironing board shortly to be lent out by request only. All of the tradesmen you saw taking up half of the rooms, come here for months at a time & have been doing so for years because they prefer it over other motels.

We would very much like to change your mind about the Coquihalla Motel and hope that you would be willing to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here for a couple days over the winter.
Basic. Courteous. Inexpensive.
Close to the Home restaurant.
Definitely a little older and could use some updates, but I wasn't looking for anything special.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquihalla M, Manager at Coquihalla Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

So glad to see you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write a helpful review =)
If you enjoyed it in the Winter, you'll Love it in the Summer. Kakawa Lake is just a short drive away!

Until next time! :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

it was clean, practically immaculate! perfectly located at the edge of town and we got the "family" room #9 and the four of us had loads of room. Great value. I would rate it a 4 but it is pretty dated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navigatrixssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquihalla M, Manager at Coquihalla Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! The family room is quite spacious and it certainly helps to have the separate bedroom. We are always looking for feedback in regards to your experience with us and would love to know how we can improve for next time. Updating is something we are always trying to do bit by bit, and hopefully we can turn that next review into those 5 stars!

Thanks again for your review and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Needed a place to sleep so pulled into this motel. Check in was quick and pleasant. Rates average for area. Was in my room in 3 min. Climbed into bed and was asleep in no time. Great sleep. Woke up in morning refreshed. Room was clean and there was a coffee maker and fridge. Better than average sheets and towels. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquihalla M, Manager at Coquihalla Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Hi Dayn62!
Happy we could get you to bed quickly and to hear you were refreshed in the morning. We understand that no matter the reason for travel, when it comes to settling down for the night, comfort is key and we do our best to make your whole motel experience comfortable.

Thanks again, and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

It was one of those occasions, when after taking the room sight unseen, I wondered why I always do that! Although I had been assured at check-in that the room was nonsmoking, it reeked of decades of cigarette smoke. The carpet was probably the worst I have seen in years traveling with (clean) dogs and being relegated to the lowest of low rooms - many many stains, and a huge burn, somewhat larger than an iron. The TV didn't work; and the bathroom tub, toilet and sink were old and in mismatched colors. I could go on, but only wrote this review after checking TripAdvisor to see where I should have stayed, and found this place recommended.

Room Tip: Room 16 needs major overhauls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Drivemuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquihalla M, Manager at Coquihalla Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

We're sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with your room. Agreed that there are some repairs that need to be done within the unit, and they will be addressed. We've done our best to eliminate any presence of smoke within the units during our last two years as management, and do what we can to keep it smoke free. ( I am personally anti smoking and understand completely.) As for the television, if there were issues we do wish you would have let us know. We would have remedied the issue immediately. I do also acknowledged that although the tub and toilet don't match colors in that unit, we do make sure that they are spotless. But it is certainly an upgrade that will be taken into consideration.
We would very much like to change your mind about the Coquihalla Motel and hope that you would be willing to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Absolutely felt like visiting family. Managers Chantal and Ben go the extra mile to make sure you have what you need. Room was exceptionally clean and cozy. Lots to see in the immediate area. Very affordable and that includes the awesome restaurant just across the street. Was going to stay for one night and ended staying three. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquihalla M, Manager at Coquihalla Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Those are the reviews that make us blush. =)
We're very happy you were happy and we appreciate the review. I personally agree that the Home Restaurant across the street is a bonus, we love it too!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hope
Travelodge Hope
#12 of 20 in Hope
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Motel
Windsor Motel
#4 of 20 in Hope
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#1 of 20 in Hope
361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Continental Motel
0.8 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#5 of 20 in Hope
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coquihalla Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coquihalla Motel

Address: 724 Old Hope Princeton Way, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range: £44 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're in need of a road-trip rest or an escape from the everyday, our family run motel will charm you with its clean rooms, great rates and some good old-fashioned hospitality. Drop us a line, fire us an e-mail or stop on by. We look forward to meeting you. Coquihalla Motel- We're Quaint. We're Quiet. We're Quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coquihalla Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing