We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”
Review of Hells Gate

Hells Gate
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This attraction definitively has had its hey-days back when traffic went past the old highway 1. Now it seems much more like something from the 70's that are trying to stay in business.
Nice atmosphere and an interesting ride in the airtram across Hells Gate.
At least it was nice to stop and stretch the legs, but not something we are coming back for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaneCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    19
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth alook with kids and priced ok”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Amazing ride down to the deepest part of the Fraser river. A long suspension bridge over the water. Definitely worth the price to take the family down. Also lots of shops, museum and things to look at once you have landed with the gondola.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManitobaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hells Gate Air Tram - Not Scary!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We went with a group on the Air Tram - there were many things to look at at the bottom, including getting an ice cream cone or one of their many flavours of fudge. It was a very nice stop on our trip, worth the admission price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorr16aine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth a Stop!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We thought the Hells Gate AirTram might just be another tourist-y roadside attraction, but we found it very enjoyable and definitely worth the stop. Every staff person we encountered (especially our tram operator, Dan) was personable and helpful. The Fraser is an awesome river, especially here, and standing mere feet above its whirlpools on the grated bridge deck is only a little scary but so impressive. If you’re a skier, the tram ride won’t be a big deal, but the view is great and the patter informative. We had lunch at Simon’s--a delicious salmon sandwich, and the best fries we had in BC. Our only regret was that there were no raft trips to photograph while we were there, but it was great fun watching and waiting for them to show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“OK but not scary - maybe Devils Grate?”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I am scared of any heights and this is kids’ stuff, no more than ski lifts in Europe cannot understand the hype! The Chinese exhibition is good as is the salmon spawning presentation but the bridge other than to take some nice pictures is nothing much and the restaurant is fast food. Ok for a visit if you have a discount but to pay full price a bit of a rip off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hells Gate also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Hells Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing