We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great luxurious alternative to a hotel!"”
Review of Evergreen B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Evergreen B & B
Ranked #1 of 5 Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Great luxurious alternative to a hotel!"”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover on our way to Vancouver. The accommodation is immaculately decorated with a luxurious feel. The hosts were very welcoming and although we didn't spend much time in our room (other than to sleep) we had a very comfortable stay. Breakfast was good and it was nice to be able to meet and talk to the other guests. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenpitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinnalovestravel, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for our Bed & Breakfast! What a lovely review and we do hope it helps others traveling to our beautiful area to find us for a stay.

Life can be so busy after a holiday, so we appreciate all the more guests who take the time to let other know about us. We are thrilled to know that even though your stay was short you enjoyed your room and our little town as well! Hope is a beautiful place! We sure love it here and love hosting guests from around the world! Thank you again.

Kindly, Corinna & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
135
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

l would recommend staying here. It is very nicely decorated and clean. The breakfast was excellent. Loved meeting you Corinna, since we had so much of the same interests. Thanks to you both for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinnalovestravel, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our B&B on Trip Advisor!! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your room and stay with us! That is always wonderful to read and makes our day!

Wow! We sure did have lots in common!!! It was so fun to talk about our much loved hobbies and interest! Thank you for letting me enjoy your crafts too! We do hope to see you again soon! Kindly, Corinna & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife & I were travelling through the Rockies on summer vacation as she had never experienced this before. One of our overnight stays was at Evergreen in Hope, BC (I chose Hope, as it is right at the intersect of Hwys 1 & 5 and it would be perfect to end a day there). We arrived to check in and were welcomed by Corinna, one of our hosts. Evergreen is just off a main road right at the edge of Hope, walking distance from everything in town, and the whole town is surrounded by mountains. We were in the Tranquility room, and from the deck off the front of our room, we had a great view of the mountains that surround Hope. It's absolutely beautiful there! The B&B is very well kept and very clean. After check in, we were able to explore the town, enjoy a nice dinner at Joe's at 293 Wallace, and walk back to the B&B for a very quiet, restful sleep. In the morning, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast and conversation with other guests and our hosts Corinna & Paul. Our only regret is that we hadn't planned to stay longer in Hope. We're already planning a future trip to BC which will include a longer stay in Hope, and will definitely include a return to Evergreen. Keep up the good work, Corinna & Paul!

Room Tip: We were in the Tranquility room which is up a flight of stairs, but has a it's own deck and a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewie476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinnalovestravel, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and what a wonderful review!! We are always so thrilled to read that guests enjoyed their stay with us and enjoyed our beautiful little town! We so appreciate reading all things that you enjoyed while staying with us! We "HOPE" others find us through your nice review!! We would love to host you again someday in the future and yes, we often hear that "one night is not enough" to see and do all the wonderful things in and around Hope! Kindly, Corinna & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

On a recent B. C. trip we stayed here. It was nice, clean and well maintained. The hosts were basically welcoming. The female a good conversationalist. The male somewhat aloof. Interaction with him was to the point and limited. We arrived at 6:35 P.M.- 35 minutes after the check in window of 4 - 6 to find that our credit card had been run at 6:00. Granted we were late and should have called the toll free number to alert the proprietors. However, we were not carrying cellphones-probably couldn't get a signal anyway- but this action was extreme. Who can account for traffic and stops along the way? It seems we were already counted as no shows.
The room was spacious and provided amenities beyond many establishments in the US. (A small refrigerator to store our cold food, for example.) Posted throughout the room were many proscriptive messages. "Don't put suitcases on the bed." "Don't use the shams as pillows." And numerous others. We felt uncomfortable with all the specified restrictions. To their credit, it is their establishment/home but notes made it less welcoming.
Breakfast was very good and well prepared the next day. We chatted with the female host while the male basically excused himself from the room and us.
Perhaps many travelers find little fault with all the "No's" and "Don'ts", but this made our stay less pleasant. There was world map on the wall with push pins indicating the numerous provinces, states and countries from which they had guests and they have been running the Bed and Breakfast for more than a decade, soooo. . .perhaps we expect too much, they were having a bad day, or we were not regulars.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms face the main road, so traffic goes by pretty heavily with a McDonald's right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinnalovestravel, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our B&B. I am sorry to read that there were a couple of area's that you did not enjoy and I would like to address these for other guest possibly looking to stay at our B&B to prevent future misunderstandings.

We do ask on ALL reservations confirmations that we send to guests to please call our toll free number to advise us if they are going to be later than 6:00 pm. Usual check-in is from 4:00-6:00 pm. We have had guest arrive as late as 11:00 pm with no problem as they called and we were able to make arrangements for them to check-in. Your reservation stated a 4:30 arrival time and the reservation had been made months before. When we do not hear from guests by 6:00 we do try to phone to see if we can confirm an arrival time of if they are in heed of any help.

If we cannot reach them we do run the card (if it had not been do so already )to make sure it is a valid booking. If the card is valid we will hold the room "all night" even in the event of a "no show" as the booking is paid and confirmed. We do this to confirm your booking. If the card was not valid and the guests did not arrive then we would at least have an opportunity to rebook the room and not lose the revenue. Many B&B's charge the card upon reservation even if booked months in advance. We do not. So to confirm your credit card to ensure a valid booking two hours after your arrival time would be fairly standard in Canada and I am very sorry if that seemed unkind in anyway. We actually state on our web site that cards will be charged 7 days prior to arrival date to match our cancellation policy.

As for the "signs" in the rooms; You did notice and comment on the world map with pins from all over the world. We do host guests from every corner of the world. Most of our guests tell me they appreciate the signs so they know how to use appliances, Wi-Fi, No smoking, and yes, we do ask guest to not put luggage on our beds and to use the extra pillows in the closet in lieu of decorator pillows. This is for sanitary purposes and most of our guests appreciate the extra care we take in keeping beds fresh, clean and sanitary. I am again truly sorry if you found this unfriendly in anyway.

We are located across from a restaurant and walking distance to downtown Hope and many other restaurants. I believe this is posted on our web site under directions and on the map. This is appealing for many guest who want to walk around town or to a restaurant after a long drive. I always tell folks that call us that we are not secluded in the forest but walking distance to downtown. However, You can take the amazing "Chainsaw Carving Tour" right from our front door and have access to some pretty amazing trails near our house as well. I am sorry if our location was not what you hoped for. Most of our guests tell us how quiet our B&B is. This is because it was built especially for a B&B with lots of extra's in place to make it as quiet as possible so our guest can relax. Guests especially like our private entrances and full private ensuite bathrooms with 6' soaker tubs and spa amenities waiting in the bathrooms that our complimentary.

Lastly, you mentioned that my husband was not as talkative and left shortly after breakfast was served and I was the host that stayed to visit that day. This time of year when we are booked up at close to 100 percent we do have lots to do each day. Some days we do have to start chores as soon as possible and only one of us can visit while the other starts chores. With guests coming and going each and every day there is lots to do to prepare for and it is not always possible for both of us to stay and visit as much as we would like to. We like to offer a spotless accommodation, sheets to iron, there is yard work , etc.) so it is sometimes difficult for both of us to stay and visit.. Once again, we both apologize if this appeared unfriendly. Most days our guests are so busy visiting with each other we can carry on with cleaning up from breakfast etc.. Offering a two course menu breakfast is extra work. However, I love offering this special extra. I think it is so worth it though when we serve all the different choices and thrill our guests. However, it can sometimes cause me to be in the kitchen longer cleaning While Paul would be the one visiting while I am cleaning. It does differ each day. We do try to visit with each guests and make sure they know what is around our beautiful town, such as the Othello Tunnels, Carving Tour, Hell's Gate, trails, lakes, rivers, and may awesome restaurants.

I was very thankful to read that you did enjoy your breakfast and that you found your room to be very clean! That was a total relief to read among your comments.

I can assure you that we do read every review and try to see if we can improve and glean anything with every review. If so, we would certainly try. We have been blessed to be here now for 12 years and have been blessed with so many repeat visitors and referrals we can't express our appreciation enough. We have been blessed to win many awards and to be # 1 on Trip Advisor for the last several years. However, we would love to please 100 percent of our guests 100 percent of the time! That is what we strive for! We will continue to do so. We do hope that you did enjoy our beautiful area, local attractions, and nice restaurants. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review when life can get so busy after a holiday. Kindly, Corinna & Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family of four (two boys age 7 and 10) in the big suite. Very nice place that was extremely clean, beautifully decorated, and excellent breakfast! It is right off the main drag so easy to find and close to restaurants but a bit noisy when sitting on the balcony at night. Surprisingly, however, no noise while inside the room! Felt like a boutique hotel with B&B service. This was our first time staying with our boys in a B&B so we were nervous about everything being so "pretty" and making sure our boys were on their best behavior so unless you have well behaved kids it may not be a good choice but is ideal for couples without kids. Our kids however liked it and loved the Belgian waffles with whipped cream and strawberries!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evergreenbb, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Evergreen B&B. We so enjoyed hosting your family! Your boys were amazing! So friendly and polite! We would welcome your family anytime! We are happy that you found our rooms quiet and comfortable! It was built especially for a Bed & Breakfast with thought put into privacy, comfort, and to be as quite as possible.
It always makes our day to read such a nice review and that our guests enjoyed their stay! Hope to see you again someday when coming to our beautiful area! Thank you again! Kindly, Corinna & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Guided by the Information Centre, we arrived, not having booked, and had the warmest, most informative welcome of our Canadian stay. Paul & Corinna are lovely, generous hosts, sharing their home, experiences, pride in their country and town and ...well, God's love.

Rooms are sumptuous, warm and homely with beautifully thought out needs supplied in the en suite as well as the bedroom. We were offered but didn't have time to try the hot tub because we wanted find all the chainsaw carvings Hope is known for... It's worth looking out for the old train tunnel walk, too.

I loved that they stayed & chatted over breakfast. Judy D

Room Tip: All wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evergreenbb, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Love your Title! Love you Review!!! Thank you so much for your kind words!! We enjoyed hosting you and really appreciated all the wonderful things you shared about us on Trip Advisor! We hope your review helps others to find us! We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future! Enjoy the rest of the summer! Kindly, Corinna & Paul Yorke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The title says it all. We wanted to break a long road trip and decided Hope was the right place to do this. The town itself has perhaps less to offer than many small places in B.C., but we still enjoyed our 1-day stay.
The B & B was very clean and nicely maintained, the owners helpful and outgoing, and the breakfast very good. Our only - very minor - concern was that the house, although on a side street, is quite close to a main road. However, our room was well soundproofed and as it turned out the road didn't bother us at all. What little there is of Hope is within walking distance, so the car can be left behind when going off to find somewhere for an evening meal.
We were pleased that we chose Evergreen to stay overnight; I don't think we could have done better in Hope.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evergreenbb, Owner at Evergreen B & B, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our B&B on Trip Advisor. We hope it will help others find us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, your room and breakfast! That always pleases us and very happy to read that your found your room to be quiet. We are in town and walking distance to most restaurants and downtown which is nice. However, we are very thankful that our home was especially built to be B&B with extra features to include better sound proofing, and that each room has controls for heat and A/C making each rooms as personal and comfortable as possible. Once again, thank you for your kind review. We hope we can host you again someday! Kindly, Corinna & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#7 of 20 in Hope
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Hope
0.4 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#1 of 20 in Hope
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windsor Motel
Windsor Motel
#4 of 20 in Hope
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Motel
Alpine Motel
#10 of 20 in Hope
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen B & B

Property: Evergreen B & B
Address: 1208 Ryder St, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Evergreen B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourism BC Approved, boutique bed & breakfast. "The friendliness of a B&B, the privacy of an Inn." Three luxury suites, full private en-suite bathrooms. Electric fireplaces, TV/DVD, movies, CD players, air conditioning, wireless internet. Private balconies with mountain views. Full breakfast included. Close to many attractions including Othello Tunnels and Hell's Gate. Walk to downtown & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Evergreen B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing