We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm”
Review of Royal Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Lodge Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Went to hope this past week on a whim to do some hiking. Checked out a couple of different places and when we stopped here we looked at the room and wasn't blown away by it but then again most of the accomidations in Hope are older. We told the owner we were going to go check out some other places and he asked us what price we were looking for. We told him and he reluctantly said he'd do it for $5 less. So we decided to stay. The tv in our room would not switch channels so we had him come check it out. He said he's had this problem before but seemed a bit miffed we expected it to work. He couldn't get it fixed so we moved to a different room. Tv worked. This place is by no means fancy but all we were doing was sleeping and showering there so it was sufficient. Owners wife was very friendly but whole he acted friendly to you there was something lurking under the surface.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daintygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Host (owner-operator) was very kind and accomodating, anxious to please. Rate very reasonable. Sheets clean. Motel is very dated, but if looking for a quiet place with comfortable bed to sleep in Hope, this may be the answer. Fridge with small freezer for holding cooler contents overnight very helpful too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This Motel looks good on the outside and that's about it!
The rooms are old, bathroom small, old and the shower.... if you want to have a good scrub! It is "clean" allthough it doesn't feel like that. Just because everything feels old! Way to expensive!!!

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room first!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marieke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Seriously. This is what the owner asked us.
We were travelling west to Vancouver. We decided to stop in Hope for the night. We pulled into this motel and asked if we could see a room before deciding. I was with my father and my uncle. I'm 45 so it's not like we were a bunch of teenagers. The owner gave us a key so we could go have a look. While we were heading toward the room he watched us suspiciously. We went into the room and had a look around. It wasn't too impressive so we decided we'd have a look at the motel next door before deciding. I handed the key back to him and said we wanted to look around a bit before deciding.

Then he angrily asks us, "Did you ---- in there? Is that what you wanted the key for?"
We were stunned. We didn't know how to answer this question that came out of the blue.

Needless to say we decided to stay elsewhere.

I have no idea whether the stay there would have been nice or not. You'll have to decide for yourself.
Just be prepared for bizarre questions from the owner!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canada_SunSeekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Checked into this motel late in the evening with a friend. The clerk refused to give me a receipt and gave me a door key. Upon moving our vehicle into the spot we saw him and his wife watching us. He then came out and told us we were causing a disturbance shining lights into his motel. So we were not supposed to park our vehicle? we said thats fine we want our money back. we do not need someone watching us before we even step into the room. He took our door key and slammed the office door saying you will not get your money back you woke me up. Spent at least an hour outside with the RCMP untill we got our money back. He blatantly lied to the police and said we still had the room key. The owner of this place is an absolute liar. I would stay as far away from this place as possible. Makes me never want to step foot in hope again period. A complete disgrace.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank Chevy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We asked for a non smoking room with 2 beds and received an overcrowded room with 2 comfortable beds furnished with rejects from a thrift store. The security chain on the door was broken and the rooms smelled old and moldy as if an attempt had been to deodorize a smoking room.
The carpet was lumpy, the floor creaked and there was no counter in the bathroom.
Truly an old motel with needs, the beds were a good start.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getonwithit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

That was why we chose this motel, their slogan: Impeccably clean. We don't mind an older motel as long as it is clean - but this was NOT! After we had paid the rate we were quoted on the phone (rather than the rate they tried to charge when we arrived), we were expecting a clean room.

The carpet had a dinner plate size stain as we came in, the air conditioner had so much dust I wouldn't have dared turn it on, the fridge was rusty, the tub had NO FINISH left on the bottom of it, the towels were stained and worn, and to top it all off, the sheets were so stained (or possibly even unwashed) we removed them from the bed!! They certainly won't be getting our business again.

On the bright side, the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallygirl277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope hotels
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Hope
0.5 mi away
Slumber Lodge Motel
Slumber Lodge Motel
#5 of 20 in Hope
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 20 in Hope
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#1 of 20 in Hope
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hope City Centre Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lodge Motel

Address: 580 Old Hope Princeton Way, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range: £57 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing