We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccably clean rooms..NOT!!”
Review of Royal Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Lodge Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in ever in my life. 100 bucks for a dirty crack shack. Barf! There were shavings in the sink and the carpets were filthy. Everything was so nasty but it was 2 am after driving through a snow storm and everywhere else looked so busy!! I feel so gross and that was 2 weeks ago.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank ihatesubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

the sign advertised that it was "impeccably clean" and had the "best rates"...so naturally, i decided to stay there, being the gullible person that i am. the other motels/hotels near there looked pretty busy so i figured this one would be a better option, because they may have more rooms available. when i checked in, the guy said it was going to be $84+tax, i found that to be pretty expensive for a motel, but i had never been to Hope so i wasn't sure what rates were like in that area. i paid the fee ($96 with tax) and went into the room....it was gross. super old, the bathtub had rust and had a leaky faucet. the sheets had some weird stains on them (wasn't sure if it was just fabric softener, but i didn't wanna take a chance) ...i went back to get a refund, and the guy tried to sell me a cheaper rate in a "better room". seeing how old this hotel was on the inside, i highly doubted there was a better room so he finally agreed to give me a refund and i went somewhere else. next time, i am going to look at the room before paying.

Room Tip: just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdiogo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Royal Lodge Motel was the perfect place for me, as I was looking for a place in the center of the city. The motel is located in Hope's center, where many attractions are close by. The Hope Museum, the Othello Tunnels, and the Hope Recreational Complex are just some of the attractions I visited during my stay. The experience in the motel itself could not have been better. Sitting from the top floor, I had access to a million dollar view. The beds were extremely comfortable. The owner and his wife were extremely polite and courteous. I would definitely recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: The Hope Recreational Complex was in walking distance from the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great place clean cozy affordable and very polite accomadating staff My room had clean white towels and all the bedding was fresh and smelled clean I had an excellent sleep.Before coming here I checked the Herritage inn the rooms smelled really weird and the bed was lumpy staff was RUDE and they had all kinds of crazy rules. My stay at the Royal lodge was worth coming back for another stay.good job staff

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 224,488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Upon arrival the whole lobby reeked of curry and was very messy, I should have went with my gut feeling, which was to leave, but ended up deciding to give it a try. When I went to put my key into the door, it just opened by itself and it wouldn't lock with the key, so we couldn't leave the room if we wanted to because it wouldn't lock from the outside. The window was also open a crack. Furniture looked like it was from a garage sale, including the TV. Very poor lighting. The lamp had a burn hole in it. The mirror was cracked. There was a picture that was about 8 inches inches from the floor (maybe covering a hole?)

The bathroom had a broken toilet seat, and no fan. The shower head broke while I was using it and it was about 5 feet up so it was hitting my chest.

The wifi was terrible. You had to log in everytime. The microwave kept beeping so we had to unplug it.

The room just looked generally run down and the sign said "best house keeping", that was a joke.

For 10 dollars more, I would recommend going right next door to the Heritage Inn, it's like staying at the Hilton compared to this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bailey9998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Went to hope this past week on a whim to do some hiking. Checked out a couple of different places and when we stopped here we looked at the room and wasn't blown away by it but then again most of the accomidations in Hope are older. We told the owner we were going to go check out some other places and he asked us what price we were looking for. We told him and he reluctantly said he'd do it for $5 less. So we decided to stay. The tv in our room would not switch channels so we had him come check it out. He said he's had this problem before but seemed a bit miffed we expected it to work. He couldn't get it fixed so we moved to a different room. Tv worked. This place is by no means fancy but all we were doing was sleeping and showering there so it was sufficient. Owners wife was very friendly but whole he acted friendly to you there was something lurking under the surface.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daintygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Host (owner-operator) was very kind and accomodating, anxious to please. Rate very reasonable. Sheets clean. Motel is very dated, but if looking for a quiet place with comfortable bed to sleep in Hope, this may be the answer. Fridge with small freezer for holding cooler contents overnight very helpful too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hope hotels
0.5 mi away
Colonial 900 Motel
Colonial 900 Motel
#2 of 20 in Hope
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#1 of 20 in Hope
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Motel
Windsor Motel
#4 of 20 in Hope
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Motel & RV Resort
0.8 mi away
Skagit Motor Inn
Skagit Motor Inn
#3 of 20 in Hope
93 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sunshine Valley RV Resort & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lodge Motel

Address: 580 Old Hope Princeton Way, Hope, British Columbia V0X 1L4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Hope
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Hope
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing