We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

Sakoon Indian Cuisine
Ranked #14 of 43 Restaurants in Hope
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Passing through Hope, we met friends at the Sakoon Indian Cuisine restaurant for dinner. We chose this restaurant due to the Trip Advisor reviews (and we do like East Indian food). The food was delicious, the service was excellent and the prices are very fair. This is definitely a hidden secret and the all round quality a surprise for such a small town! Our server, a young East Indian woman was very gracious, knowledge, friendly and efficient. The owner even sent all of us a complimentary and very yummy dessert after our meal. We felt very welcomed and had a thoroughly wonderful evening! We will definitely return to this restaurant when we are next in Hope!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeulahCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yale, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Meal ever, bar NONE!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not sure about authenticity but this was the best meal I have ever had, without exception! Restaurant is family run with Mom & Dad doing the cooking and daughter waiting on the tables. It is also likely the best keep secret I know of so get there now before the word gets out. Better still, pass the word,family run restaurants of this quality must stay in business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine in the mountains.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A real surprise in a B.C. mountain town a long, long way from India. Great hospitality from charming waitress and knowledgeable chef/owner.
Good value and excellent food, with sensibly limited menu. We chose the lamb with really good rice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BRCOxton_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, crazy music”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Food here was good and you get lots! Don't be afraid to share! They need to move to a newer building! Not really a great Indian feel and there was a damp smell that took away from the experience! Waitress was super nice! Looks like a family business. We would for sure eat there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandclintG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For real indian Taste "sakoon "is the best place...”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I went to the resturant with my friends and family to celebrate my birthday.I have no words to say about the food and the service they gave us.Environment was awesome and all the staff members were so friendly.We had not much knowledge about the indian food but they recommend us some dishes for an appetizer and for main meal.we enjoyed each and every dish with original indian taste.Butter chicken, baigan bhartha was soo tasty that i could not stop myself to lick my fingers.garlic naan was so soft and fresh with a great aroma of garlic and cilantro.Morever, we all enjoyed Indian beers with Indian music.and it all was under my budget.I am eagerly waiting for someone's birthday so that again,i can get a chance to eat and enjoy the real indian taste at """""SAKOON INDIAN CUISINE,HOPE""""

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakoon Indian Cuisine also viewed

Hope, British Columbia
 
Hope, British Columbia
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to Sakoon Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing