We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

New Golden Star Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 45 Restaurants in Hope
Restaurant details
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I was really hungry when I went in this restaurant and their buffet was good. You can eat healthy and a lot. It was what I wanted.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thomaslauer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food good price”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

we have a place near hope b.c. and stop in at the new golden star quite often,we have never had a bad meal, the smorgasbord has a lot of choices and is always quite fresh and reloaded often the chicken wings are fabulous as well as the chow mein the lunch smorgasbord is just as tasty and quite reasonably priced , looking forward to our next meal there.if you go make sure you say hi to bill...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vern c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We had the Buffet!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My sister was visiting me in Hope, and felt like Chinese food so we headed over to the New Golden Star Restaurant. We had the Buffet and it was just put out so the food was hot and fresh. There was also ice cream. For a small town my sister thought the buffet was pretty good and so did I.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinnalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“OK Chinese food”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Average Chinese food.

Nothing special.

Smorgasbord offered - it's incredibly average. But, for $14 you can fill your face if you want to.

I'm from Victoria BC where we have easily a dozen great places to go for Chinese food. This place is average.

To much batter on the chicken balls - that was below average. Other than that it was OK.

With that being said, I would go back if I was staying in Hope again and wanted Chinese food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle--Sportvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well cooked”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Everything was exceptionally well cooked. I do recommend to other customers that make sure you call to place an order instead of going there to order because this place is packed on Saturday, so save yourself some time and call before you come and pick up the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Golden Star Restaurant also viewed

 
Hope, British Columbia
 

Been to New Golden Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing