We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
15
35
27
50
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
35
27
50
56
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We were hesitant to stay here after reading reviews, but we were glad we did. We had a room with jetted tub, new pine flooring/furniture, and a skylight. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The a/c was loud but cooled the room very well.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aumphress14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. We value all our guests and their opinions. We do hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

There was an unfortunate accident on the #1 Hwy east of Golden and wait times were expected to be about 6 hours!Being that we are older ,my husband and I decided to go back to Golden and secure a Hotel for the night. There was really nowhere to go to the bathroom as most of the terrain was steep....the first place we came to was the Golden Village Lodge and because of the numbers of people turning around to return to Golden we thought we had better grab this hotel! Firstly ,they would not take dogs,but because of our situation,they decided to allow ours for which we were initially grateful. Then came the bill..$228.85 was just a bit much for this 2 star-pool under repair,dirty blinds,dirty stove and holes in the flooring filled with white paint! Beds were comfortable and bathroom clean and adequate shower,but I have never felt so hosed in my life....buyers beware and especially if your a senior,this unexpected expense was outrageous

Room Tip: Do not waste your money and definitely not quaint
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank u2bon2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

As explained to you upon check in, our rate was at par for the time of year. You were given a opportunity to view the room prior to check in and we also made an exception for your pet. Our pool was under going a upgrade and was clearly explained to you multiple times upon check in. Our front desk staff also offered to find you alternate accommodation for you because of the pool. You happily refused and said that you would like to stay. To add validity to your review, I must add that our rooms don't have any blinds, we have curtains. We don't have holes in the flooring, nor are they filled with any paint as you claim. You were never "hoesd" by any means. In fact the waste and pet dander that was left behind by your dog was absolutely disgusting and required us to take the room out of inventory until it could be aired out and cleaned. However because you were a senior I let this pass. My staff and I did you a favour from the moment you arrived and tried to make your stay enjoyable in Golden, being at our property or another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Not a terrible motel, but could use some upgrades. Check-in was easy and our room was as expected for an average motel. New restaurant ( The Bear's Den) next door served fabulous food. East access to and from the Trans Canada Hwy. Pretty nice view to boot !

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Sorry but the hotel that is located next to The Bears Den is the Pondorosa Motor Inn. You have mistaken my property for another motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We were going to stay here as we were passing through. Checked in, very bland, non hospitable concierge. Got to our room, left a lot to be desired. There were dirt smudges and stains as well as many long dark woman hairs/hair balls on top of the bed, on the sheets and pillows. You could also see daylight on 3 of the 4 sides of the door. We were not impressed and not wanting to try another room (most likely the same poor housekeeping). When we asked for a refund he didn't seem surprised or concerned about our complaint. We found another hotel that was much cleaner and friendlier.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank sjer208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

I am sorry you felt our front desk staff was not friendly. As for your comments in regards to your reservation. When you returned to the desk you never mentioned anything in regards to you room. You were asked if you would like to be moved to another room and you refused. Upon inspection of the room housekeeping was not able to find any of the issue that you have mentioned in your review. You were in the room for less then 4 minutes before you returned and said that you were not going to stay. All our rooms have been newly remodelled with all new linen, beds, tv's, furniture, wifi, bathrooms, granite countertops and much much more. In this case we have done everything that was possible to have you stay with us. Your mind was made up to not stay in the 4 minutes you went into the room and we hope that you enjoyed your stay at the other place you felt was better.

Thank you for the experience and learning opportunity for my staff.

Pavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We stayed one night passing through the area and were pleased to have a room with no carpets, instead light wood, possibly pine look flooring, very comfy bed decked out with white cotton bedding. Bathroom has very modern fixtures, and yes, there isa blow dryer, lightly scented toiletries, lots of towels, table and chairs, coffee, tea. Everything we need to make us comfortable. Check in was pleasant and the bonus was a great Indian restaurant where we had supper. I would say it was the best meal we ate the whole week we were on the road! We had a main floor room that looked recently renovated.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susanaloberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenvillage, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Our entire property has undergone a major remodel and renovation. This includes new linen, new furniture, new beds, new electronics, and much much more. Our goal is to provide our guests with high quality accommodation for a reasonable price. Our restaurant is been open for less then a year and the Indian Kitchen Golden has had amazing reviews from all our guests that have had the pleasure to enjoy a wonderful meal. We are also launching a new breakfast program for our guests and we hope it only gets better. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews