We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value”
Review of Rondo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rondo Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Wow! Value for money is exceptional. At only $60 a night for a room for two, spotlessly clean, with a microwave and fridge, this little motel competes with the larger much more expensive motels in Golden. Great to be in the townsite and able to patronize the small cafes and shops in the center.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canadianfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Rondo. Our unit was on the second floor and hauling the luggage up the stairs was a bit of a chore. While the unit was clean, the decor and furniture were clearly dated. The washroom while clean was a bit spartan and the linens were a bit thin. I would stay here again if no other location was available but I think it is over-priced by about 10-15% given the age and condition of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we had some prejudice about cheap hotels in the small town of Golden, but the Rondo, despite being relatively cheap (in Canadian terms, especially compared with Banff and Jasper) proved just as adequate, if not as posh, as other, more expensive hotels and motels we stayed in, and offered great mountain views.
It has wifi, a microwave and a small TV, and uniquely, an electric kettle, where you can prepare instant coffee, even more disgusting than the horrible brewed coffee available in more expensive places. Otherwise, for the prize, its great

Room Tip: upper floor rooms probably have better views - but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Renan A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Room was clean and quiet but smaller than normal. Motel has not been refurbished for years. No frills,. No pool. Hot tub "closed for summer." Located in older section of town with city adminstration buildings in neighborhood. Outside looks like a rundown dump but rooms okay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerdude76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A perfectly serviceable motel – perfect as somewhere to 'stop off' on a long journey. Microwave, fridge, hot water. No frills. There was an air-con unit but not sure how this was controlled. Golden is not as dire as some posters suggest. This Motel is off the Trans-Canada – which to me was a plus – but easily accessible provided that you take the correct turn off Highway 1. My GPS struggled (truthfully failed totally) to find the Motel from the address and post code.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank budd4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This little hideaway had everything we needed for a good nights' rest. Staff were very polite, and our room was so quiet!
Thank you, Danny & Bernice.

Room Tip: Always speak to a REAL person when booking. That way you receive exactly what you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
1.1 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#6 of 17 in Golden
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 17 in Golden
371 reviews
3.8 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#5 of 17 in Golden
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondo Motel

Address: 824 Park Dr | PO Box 258, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £41 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rondo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Rondo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing