We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean motel”
Review of Rondo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rondo Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,023 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Nice clean motel”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed one night in two rooms at the Rondo Motel. All the other hotels/motels in Golden with higher ratings were fully booked. We were pleasantly surprised. Easy to find, friendly and quick check in, and parking outside our rooms. The rooms were clean with good aircon. We needed this as it was 30+ degrees outside. Walking distance into town. Breakfast was not included, but most motel breakfasts are only a coffee and donut anyway. We certainly can't grumble for the price. I would certainly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    52
    52
    15
    7
See reviews for
32
56
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fast check-in, parking spot directly outside the room, free wi-fi, good showers, not too noisy airconditioning. Within walking distance of the town centre so you can have a glass of wine and walk back to the motel after dinner instead of driving. It's a bit run down, and breakfast was not included in our room rate, but overall this was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had no problems with this place. The room was clean, the staff were friendly enough and the wifi was reasonable. The parking was good just outside the rooms. Room had tv, microwave, fridge and blackout curtains. Was pretty cheap. Close to shops etc.

Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rondo as a pit stop between destinations so it was a short stay but very comfortable. Has everything you need, they could do with new linen but it certainly wasn't bad. We particularly appreciated the free parking right outside the rooms and close proximity to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Buttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A nice simple motel in Golden, BC.
Good way to give back to the local community and local people. Looks like a nice independent motel in the heart of the town of Golden, BC. Close to the downtown area. Close to grocery stores and Convenience store. Also some nice restaurants within walking distance. Here you get a very nice accommodation for fraction of the price of what you pay for at the resort. Sure it is nice to have a ski in ski out property beside the lift. But for one person 300 a night is a bit steep.
At Rondo Motel, you get a nice parking spot by your door. Makes it easy to store your skis inside after a day on the slopes. You are no more then a 10 minute drive from the Kicking Horse Resort.
Area is very safe and quiet. You will not hear anything to disturb your sleep at night. Check in was the fastest I have seen in the world. I show up at the desk and guy gave me the key. Nothing said or signed. very fast.
Each room gets WIFI all included. Good hot water. Microwave, Fridge, clean carpet. And all towels cleaned everyday. Always that new carpet smell every day I came back from skiing.
Would Recommend this motel to single, families, couples ,seniors or anyone on a small budget. Good bang for the buck. Would stay here again as I will be coming back in 2014!!.

check out www.excitingworldtravels.com

Room Tip: Take ground floor. As it is handy if you have lots of gear to take from car to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Wow! Value for money is exceptional. At only $60 a night for a room for two, spotlessly clean, with a microwave and fridge, this little motel competes with the larger much more expensive motels in Golden. Great to be in the townsite and able to patronize the small cafes and shops in the center.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadianfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Rondo. Our unit was on the second floor and hauling the luggage up the stairs was a bit of a chore. While the unit was clean, the decor and furniture were clearly dated. The washroom while clean was a bit spartan and the linens were a bit thin. I would stay here again if no other location was available but I think it is over-priced by about 10-15% given the age and condition of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.0 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
1.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondo Motel

Property: Rondo Motel
Address: 824 Park Dr | PO Box 258, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rondo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rondo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing