We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rondo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rondo Motel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight and wasn't expecting anything for what you pay for. And that's exactly what you get. But the room was clean and that's all we needed for the night. Also in a good location close to the restaurants and off the main highway. Would stay again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    49
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
49
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked this motel because it was cheap and also because it scored 6th out of 17 hotels in Golden. We got what we paid for: an average motel, a bit outdated. It was not what we had in mind. When visiting the rockies or yoho national Park in summer, don't bother to stay in Golden anyway: it's too far from Yoho n.p; and Golden doesn't offer anything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a large crew of cyclists riding the Golden Triangle - it got the job done but I was SO disappointed to find that the hot tub was closed for the season. The Rondo Motel Website advertises "Large 12' x 9' hot tub and sauna" but makes no mention that it's only open from about November - April, according to the front desk. PLEASE keep it open through the May long weekend in future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place suited our needs to a tee. It was easy to get to, clean & friendly. The room looked older, but was very liveable. We had a small fridge in the room, & the bed was quite comfy. Check in staff was a very friendly lady. Great value for the price in this area .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were basically forced to stay at this little motel because golden was completely sold out of rooms except the Rondo. To be honest I was apprehensive but the reception and staff was very friendly and accommodated our late check in. It was very easy to find and about 3 minutes off hwy1. The room was old school and not updated but clean and suited our needs very well. It had a tv and comfy bed. Basic everything. 2 towels for 3 people no shampoo or other such toiletries but we didn't care. It was very quiet and allowed us a restful sleep in our way to AB. That's all we needed. We would stay again if needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kodaloa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms, even if a bit dated. Very quiet and comfortable. We'd stay here again! Easy to find and it seemed quite as the lot was nearly full. Easy to get to off the highway. There is a sign on the main road telling you the hotel is 3 blocks ahead - don't do what we did and accidentally pull in there, it's just a gravel lot.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuckJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
248 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent two nights here while exploring the nearby Yoho National Park. We had quite a large room on the second floor. The location right in the town was quieter than the chain motels along the busy Trans-Canada Highway. Nearby Aristotle's Greek restaurant was recommended to us and we had a very good meal there. The following night we bought food at the Sobey's supermarket and used the microwave in the room. Golden is a rather charmless town, but a great base for Yoho. We thought it would be convenient for Glacier N.P. too, but it is a 45 minute drive to Glacier from Golden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
3.5 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
138 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondo Motel

Property: Rondo Motel
Address: 824 Park Dr | PO Box 258, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rondo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rondo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing