We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total rip off”
Review of Corks Restaurant

Corks Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Golden
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Canadian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Corks features an unparalleled mountain dining experience that has reinvigorated the culinary scene at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. The restaurant has been under new ownership and creative leadership since November 2014 and has quickly created a loyal following of foodie fans. The incredible kitchen team has created a carefully chosen, inspired menu that is as refreshing and memorable as the area's stunning mountain backdrop. Corks has a passion for locally sourced food and wines from British Columbia. Here you can sample all the comfort food classics such as elk, beef and pork all served with a unique Corks twist while sipping on a perfectly paired pour from the Pacific Northwest. Corks Restaurant is conveniently located at Copper Horse Lodge, Kicking Horse Mountain Resort's only boutique hotel. The warmth and character of the lodge spills over into the restaurant and makes you feel as though you have just stepped into one of your closest friend's homes for an evening of great conversation and even greater food. Copper Horse Lodge and Corks Restaurant is the perfect combination for intimate events including weddings, family gatherings and corporate retreats.
Kensington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“total rip off”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Ate here with family in feb.2013.first of all only 5 entrees, all between 24.00 &34.00 one course only.for this price it should include at least soup or salad or even dessert.the male waiter was very bland,as if he were filling in for someone.the food itself was not great,had chicken very small portions.and to top it off the tip was included with check.go next door to the pub.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peitraveller902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to ruin a great day of skiing.”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were a group of six, our friends were at a table over. Other than a convenient location, there is nothing nice about this restaurant. We had salads, pizza, salmon, shrimp, and chicken. If we weren't trapped we would have sent it all back. I was suffering through salmon that was was so overlooked that the only thing that remained of the salmon was it's colour. When one friend complained, four other guys chimed in - charitably they cancelled all the salmons served from the bill.

We were served three first and then three about five minutes later.

At 21 for a pizza and 6 for bread- you pay for your mistakes.

The finale was a chocolate pecan pie that needed a chisel to cut.

Stay away.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tusker_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

We really wanted to like this place since the service was great and the menu was interesting (with wine recommendations for each course) but the food didn't quite deliver.

Starters - My wife had the salmon flatbread which would have been nice but had too much cranberry compote. I had the Cajun cream clams which were ok but slightly bland.

Mains - we both had the 10oz ribeye and both were overcooked (with hindsight we should have sent them back), the chimichurri sauce was more of a chimichurri-influenced pesto (having had chimichurri from a number of other places, it's never been like this!) and the potatoes were under-done.

Dessert - had the NY cheesecake which was OK but needed a crunchier base

On the upside, the service was excellent and it made a difference to Peaks Grill (which is great, but you can only go to the same place so many times).

Helpful?
Thank DanCMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner was superb!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Staff is amazing, I love the location and atmosphere. Food is exactly what you are looking for if you want quality! Wine selection is fantastic as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lammingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“reliable.”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

we stay @ the vagabond lodge next door when we are visiting family in golden, so we usually come here for dinner one of the nights. a small room. mostly tourists, so a fun feeling in the air. both the wine and food are good. 2 weeks ago we were travelling with young ones, so we ordered take away pizza, which was very tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corks Restaurant also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Corks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing