We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, quiet location outside Golden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Farview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 19 Golden B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B, quiet location outside Golden”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a great stay here for 1 night while traveling through the Rockies. The B&B is about 10 minutes outside of Golden, in a beautiful area surrounded by trees, and Stan and Olive were very welcoming. We had a nice room at the top of the house, with a sitting area for relaxing and a private bathroom. There was also a downstairs lounge for guests with TV, tea & coffee facilities, microwave etc. Breakfast was tasty and filling and set us up nicely for the day. A great stay and perfect if you like peace and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Armstrong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've been able to stay at this B&B twice, both times in the Hideaway Cottage. I would highly recommend it! The mountain setting is gorgeous, you have your own scrupulously clean and comfortable (approx 800? sq ft) cottage with a full kitchen and your own completely private yard, yet you're a very short walk (or drive,if you preferred) from the main B&B and hosts. The hosts Olive and Stan are very warm, friendly, and helpful. They ask about your breakfast food preferences when you register and very generously stock the cottage, in addition to cooking you a delicious breakfast at the main house one morning. They are knowledgeable about hiking and other recreation in the area, offer a full selection of area info and restaurant pamphlets, and in general are very helpful. They welcome you to come up to the house and visit any time you like, but will give you as much privacy as you like. I was able to see the B&B room upstairs in the main house (the Purcell room?), which looked spacious and comfortable, ditto the basement sitting room.
I cannot eat gluten or dairy. Olive and Stan very kindly (without me asking) went to the trouble and expense of baking/buying me gluten & dairy free muffins and bread!
I should mention that the cabin does not have a television, which is great for me. But if you love television, I'd recommend staying in the main house, which has beautiful architecture/cathedral ceiling. The B&B is about 20 km south of Golden. Yoho National Park is an easy drive, as is Glacier National Park. There are lots of hiking/other recreation opportunities very close to Golden, and of course, Boo, the Grizzly, who has his own 22 acre sanctuary with the Kicking Horse Resort. {He was orphaned at an early age before he was able to learn adequate foraging skills. The staff at Kicking Horse seem very dedicated to his wellbeing}.
I would highly recommend this B&B and I can't wait to go back :)!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountain E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had one night only last week during my Rockies trip (wish I had stayed longer) - what a charming B&B very comfortable, large rooms, very comfortably furnished - We were 5 adults - and had one large room on the 1st floor 'the Purcell room" (the room has a huge bed and a pull out sofa bed (to a full double size) with sliding doors so we could have privacy even though we were sharing a room ) This room had a private washroom at the entrance with a skylight. Very cheery and bright atmosphere .

My friends had a room downstairs at the lower level which was called the Wildflower - which had a lounge and sitting area with TV, DVD, tables & basic kitchen amenities. So very comfortable - we sat here and shared a bottle of wine late night.

The hosts Stan & Olive were so charming & helpful and warm and friendly - which is a very important factor in any B&B. The breakfast served by them was talked about by us till the end of the trip ! - warm freshly baked scones (raspberry & Blueberry) fresh oatmeal pancakes with syrup strawberries & whipped cream sausages, jams, juices, eggs, fresh coffee . Olive woke early to prepare this feast for us. We were so full we couldnt possibly eat anymore and Olive was so kind to pack some more scones for us to eat on our long journey ahead. When we opened our packed scones were also found cutlery, small packets of butter - so very thoughtful of them.

Thank you Stan & Olive again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast and we would highly recommend it. The room we had was nice, spacious, and clean. Our personal bathroom was well-stocked and had a beautiful skylight which really brightened my mood. We were given lots of advice and pamphlets on things to do around the area. And the breakfast was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. It was served to us next to a large windowed area which gave us a beautiful view of their garden. We would have had a nice view of the mountains too, and also a great view of the mountains from our room, but unfortunately it was quite foggy when we stayed there. There was also a shared area in the basement with a microwave and kettle, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, popcorn, couches, books, TV with video tapes, and a mini fridge. Stan and Olive were super friendly and I can't wait for a chance to go back there again :)

Room Tip: The Purcell Room bathroom has a great skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Farview B&B was our best accommodation in ten days in the Rocky Mountains. Stan and Olive made us feel at home and treated us like friends rather than guests.

We chose the bedroom in the basement, like an apartment where you will find all kinds of utensils, and can relax watching a movie or reading.

No matter if it is a little far away of the city or the national park itself, because this place has a special tranquility that makes up for the distance. All around and inside the house is beautifully kept: the garden, the terrace, the BBQ area, the gourgeous living room... And everywhere you will find endless details that make you stay there so confortable.

Regard to breakfast ... the best without a doubt all the B & B we have visited in years. Everything is freshly and lovely cooked. Every day you can choose to try different things sweet and salty from a huge variety of meals. (You would wanted to stay a month to try everything). Also, if you can not finish something, Olive kindly prepare it to you to take away.

Thank you very much Stan and Olive for your warm welcome. We really would love to see you both in Spain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaisbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahlen
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A very calm place in Golden. The Hideaway Cabin is fully equipped with cooking and eating facilities inclusive a grill and picnic table. So it is no problem to have dinner in your cabin if you do not want to eat in Golden. The separate bedroom is comfortable. A huge breakfast was in our fridge and we were also invited for a delicious homemade breakfast in the main house. We stayed in Farview B&B for the second time and enjoyed the hospitality from Olive and Stan very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merville
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We arrived just after another couple with 2 children and the children kept it interesting. I didn't realize when we arrived that this part of BC is on Alberta time. We had the basement suite which was clean and comfortable. We had been late booking as I had to work around my work schedule and finding good accommodation was difficult in all the small communities we stayed in. If we would have had a choice we would have preferred one of the suites with more windows as that is what we are used to at home. We had a good breakfast my wife really enjoyed the fruit smoothie. We spent an enjoyable time in the morning visiting with Stan and Olive before we hit the road again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
12.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
12.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
204 reviews
14.1 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
467 reviews
10.8 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
13.3 mi away
Home Lodge
Home Lodge
#2 of 19 in Golden
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Farview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2186 Campbell Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our secluded mountain cabin situated on a bench above the Columbia River! We offer a self-catered breakfast. Items included are bread, spreads, milk, cream, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, eggs along with coffee, tea and hot chocolate. You can check out the weather nature attractions with your hosts who are a meteorologist and naturalist. Our cabin is Tourism BC Approved. The cabin is self-contained making it amenable for longer stays. There is a gas BBQ's, screen tent and picnic table available. The cabin has full facilities for cooking and dining with cozy warmth provided by wood heater with glass door and electric heat.You'll enjoy the quiet park-like setting in a young forest of aspen, birch, fir and spruce with stunning views of the Rocky and Purcell Mountains. Hike on trails from the secluded Hideaway Cabin or in winter X-Country ski. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing