We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To forget about everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
Ranked #14 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
333 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“To forget about everything”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and we forgot about everything here. The lodge is situated quiet far away from Golden and the cabins are well equipped so you can stay in the premises and enjoy the beautiful landscapes and the peace of the place. We were even lucky and we could spot some deers at early morning.

Anyway, we didn't stay there and we ask the hosts for activities. They were really attentive suggesting activities or places for having dinner nearby (excellent suggestions by the way).

The cabin was clean and the sleep quality was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The positive
Very nice setting. A secluded cabin in the wood without TV.
The hosts are friendly.
Limited Internet access which forced the kids to play real games and do family stuff.

The negative
The lodge had not been properly cleaned. We found cobwebs, garbage from the previous guest, some kind of dirty plush toy behind one of the beds and even an old dress from the previous guest hanging on the door.
The furniture was as best spartan and very basic.
There was a master bedroom in the cabin, but as we booked a 2 bedroom cottage the room was locked. I understand the thinking but I am sorry that is cheap!
The owner's dog was very "energetic" so much so that he nipped my son's leg.
I know that mosquito come with the territory but maybe if some anti mosquitoes devices were placed on the deck it would have been better.

I would have expected some confort for 330$ a night. I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayhemQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate200, Owner at Blaeberry Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We value all of our guests opinions and take any reviews to heart. Our place is definitely true to its motto, "to be one with nature" . We have a simple but comfortable decor, equipped with all necessities. While our furniture is not modern, it is comfortable and we have never had a complaint regarding its functionality. We do keep the upper bedroom locked as it was not part of the rental for the stay. We would have gladly given you access to the 3rd bedroom should you have required it, however, for a higher rate per night. We do apologize in regards to our over energetic puppy Paula, who is still in training. We have her on a leash by our home to prevent her from being a nuisance to our guests. We understand that children and young puppies sometimes can misunderstand one another. We hope you understand that our dog is still learning about her environment and we are trying hard to inform all our guests about how best to interact with the pup. In regards to the mosquito situation, it is unavoidable that we do live in nature and cannot influence the bug situation. We have tried mosquito candles, diffusers and smoke coils but these things usually don't make much of a difference. The best thing is to use bug spray, wear long sleeve clothing and try to be scent free as all these things will make it easy for bugs to bite. We leave the spiderwebs on the houses on the exterior for this purpose, to help in a natural mosquito control. We apologize if you found our cabin to not meet your standards of cleanliness, but rest assured we do a thorough clean after any guests have stayed there, and the old toy or previous clothing may have been missed by one of our newer staff members. We hope you will come back another time so we can hopefully change your mind and you may leave with a more positive outlook. We thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in the red Indian cabin with our two teenage daughters and lab dog. Awesome place, awesome hosts and awesome dog. We will definitely be back. No tv was great made my kids do something besides sit in front of the tv. Our dog Jack had a great time running around and playing with Paula. Couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend from our busy lives. Thanks for the great weekend.
The Ahners

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the smaller cabins at Blaeberry at the beginning of March. We loved it! We were the only ones there (checked in on Sunday and left on Tuesday). We had a fire burning stove, kitchenette, comfy bed - an over all relaxing and nice set up! Rainer and Paula (the property dog) were very friendly and made sure our stay was comfortable and relaxing. I'd highly recommend this place and can't wait to visit again in August and see how different and stunning the mountains are in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came for the weekend and stayed in the red Indian log cabin. We were greeted every morning by their new dog at outdoor step because she loved playing with our dog Molly. We will definitely come here again. The host were very friendly and knowledgable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate200, Owner at Blaeberry Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
thanks very much! it was a pleasure having you here. Paula misses Molly, she checked the place a few times... looking forward having you back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked it all. 2 cabins, the cottage and the log lodge. It was my 40th Birthday and I wanted to spend it in the mountains with friends and family. We couldn't have picked a better place. Renate was always quick to respond to the many questions that I had emailed before our arrival. Renate and Rainer are wonderful hosts and their property is truly a winter wonderland. Our friends enjoyed great snowshoeing on the property, cross country skiing on the Blaeberry River and snowboarding and skiing at Kicking Horse. My 2 huskies and I enjoyed the kicksledding and skijoring that we were able to do right from the door of the lodge. This is the kind of place that you never want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate200, Owner at Blaeberry Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
thanks Cathy and everybody else who was in your birthday group! It was a pleasure having you all here. We never know about big groups.. it can be a surprise in many ways! your visit was just amazing and thank you for treating the place with respect! looking forward to having you back here again !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

While the locale is quiet and scenic, about 20 minutes outside of Golden, the accommodations are very comfortable, spacious, and well appointed, woody but not too rustic. There is a tipi, though, if you'd like the experience of sleeping closer to nature.
One afternoon when it rained, we sat on the front porch of the Moberly cabin, dry and cozy with a view of the mountains. In the evening guests gathered around a bright, warm campfire. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. I'd stay there again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RipleyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
7.8 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
6.8 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
8.1 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
6.4 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 19 in Golden
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaeberry Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaeberry Mountain Lodge

Property: Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
Address: 1680 Moberly School Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blaeberry Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful Log Lodge, unique Cedar Log Cottage, and our cozy Cabins are situated on a 64 hectare private property with magnificent views of the Purcell and Rocky Mountains. We are located 15 Km northwest of Golden, nestled in-between 5 National parks. The peace and tranquility you will experience in our accommodations will stand out in your memories for years to come. The Log Lodge accommodates up to 8 guests, the Skyberg Cottage up to 6 guests and our Moberly or Red Indian cabins each sleeps either 2 adults or a family of 4. Accommodations at it's best. Both summer and winter activities abound with available guided tours and rentals. Ski and Stay packages are available for Golden's own Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, only 25 minutes away. The relaxing atmosphere and the friendly people here at Blaeberry Mountain Lodge will make this place feel like your home away from home. All units at our Mountain Lodge are well equipped and provide you with a cozy comfortable welcoming feeling. There are kitchens, comfortable living areas and cozy lofts, the woodstoves all have glass windows. Bedrooms either have twin or queen size beds, towels bedding and kitchen utilities are provided. Sundecks are offering great views of the Canadian Rockies. On request we serve delicious European-style breakfast and dinner. The Blaeberry Lodge works hard to accommodate you and your family for your summer and winter holiday in the Rocky Mountains Local Area Attractions: hiking, biking, canoeing, river rafting, float trips, horseback riding; National Parks, bird and wildlife watching/ wolf center and buffalo farm close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Blaeberry Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing