We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't ask for more”
Review of Beaverfoot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaverfoot Lodge
Ranked #28 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Lake Louise, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

What an Amazing place. possible some of the best scenery I have ever seen. Such a secluded and peaceful place with an amazing atmosphere. Beautiful horses and wonderful and friendly hosts. i will be going back again for sure.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank lalalasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    18
    13
    5
    17
See reviews for
41
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The horse trail rides they offer is AMAZING! They take you in and out of the woods, past streams, through meadows...it was such a beautiful experience seeing so much and loving every minute of it. We will definitely be back not just for the trail rides this time but to stay as well. Beaverfoot Lodge is definitely A+++ in my books!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Off2SeetheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hospitality was above and beyond. We stayed in the dream chalet for 4 nights. Catherine and Raf were gracious and outstanding hosts; treated us like family. The accommodations were tremendous, clean, inviting and peaceful. It is a magical place were the views, fresh air, horses in the pasture, Sasha (the dog) our beautiful walking companion, the dining room with home cooked food, sauna with the glacial feed plunge pool, the incredible hike around the property and to Wapta waterfalls - breathtaking! We pulled in spiritually on empty and within one day we had been recharged. We left as forever friends and plan to be back soon! Thanks again Raf and Catherine and the staff for everything!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestieScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My Husband told me we were going to spend a long weekend in the mountains. What he didn't explain was that we would be staying in a "Dream Cabin" in an idyllic setting, with innkeepers that would look after our every need, and make us feel like family while we were there.
Winding our way down the logging road, we were tucking ourselves right into the valley with each twist and turn, and leaving all sense of the every day behind long before our arrival at Beaverfoot.
When we arrived, we went to the lodge, and met our gracious hosts who after warmly welcoming us, directed us to what would be our home for the weekend. What a charming place it was, too!
The Dream Cabin was absolutely that. An absolute dream with plenty of room, stunning architecture (all log-built, railing and all) with incredible views out every window.
The beds were comfortable and tastefully dressed, and the little wood stove worked wonderfully at keeping us toasty, even though it was deep winter when we arrived.
Breakfast att he lodge set the tone for all our meals. The comfortable, bright and welcoming dining room is the heart of the lodge, where guests have the opportunity to mingle with Raf and Catherine, as well as all of the others working there.
Unique to this place, there are young people from all over the world, bringing their unique talents, interests and abilities to this amazing little spot of tranquil escape.
The recipes reflect this itnernational influence which adds to the charm, on top of feeling like you are eating only fresh, whole ingredients.
Home cooked, hand made-rustic goodness can be found here.
Simplicity, heart felt welcome and peace is to be found here. What I remember is being surprised at how simple it was, and how much soul filling enjoyment we were able to soak up because of exactly that. Simplicity.
Much is accomplished by few hands at Beaverfoot, and those few pairs of hands are adept at looking after this hidden gem.
What we left with is a sense of longing to return as soon as possible, not only for that blissful sense of escape, but for the wonderful friends that remain there.

Room Tip: For a romantic weekend get away, or a family treat, the Dream Cabin is absolutely wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixiegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, Owner at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
What a beautiful and inspiring review! We try hard to suit each and every persons unique desires........Thanks very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent just over a week at the lodge in their Dream Chalet. Raf, Catherine and their staff were all very personable and went out of their way to make the stay memorable. The views and hiking in the area are second to none. I would highly recommend a visit to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CG1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
It means a lot to hear your personal feedback. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a wonderful place to get in touch with nature! I stayed for a month and have never had such a beautiful holiday. Views are breath taking, woke up to mountain views with horses in the paddock everyday. Food was wonderful, with an emphasis on healthy eating. Home-made granola and fresh baked sour-dough bread every morning! Staff were more than happy to accommodate any additional requests. My kids were included in any of activities and made to feel welcome. Kids were thrilled to see real wildlife! Crisp, clean, 100% cotton sheets & down duvets, a luxury in the midst of wilderness!

Room Tip: This is a relaxed and easy going atmosphere, with some ruggedness. Be prepared for the real Canadia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
The pleasure was all ours. Like you said "no bad attitudes allowed at the Beaverfoot Lodge" It was nice when you guys would emerge for a bit and entertain us all!
Sincere thanks from us and especially the wwoofers for the tip you left!! The month went by so quickly!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corydon, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Very poor stay and have to say the Management is rude, Will not recommend to anyone. Raf was very rude and not nice towards my friends and I that stayed there. The rooms were very un-sanitary. The food was ok but I would not recommend to any family and friends. Not happy with the stay at all :(

Room Tip: Very poor stay and have to say the Management is rude, Will not recommend to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, General Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2015
You are definately the worst human being that I ever met. It would be worth you writing 100 bad reviews so long as we never have to SEE your face again. Hope your life gets better and you one day see the truth and aren't so mean and jealous - that's right I should have been a psychologist.
Cheers
Raph
it's spelled Raph
do you have a name? Course not - your a NIC. Nameless internet coward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
25.9 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
28.8 mi away
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
Blaeberry Mountain Lodge
#22 of 43 in Golden
36 reviews
23.7 mi away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#20 of 43 in Golden
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mount 7 Lodges
Mount 7 Lodges
#3 of 43 in Golden
189 reviews
48.4 mi away
Heather Mountain Lodge
Heather Mountain Lodge
#5 of 43 in Golden
228 reviews
21.3 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaverfoot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaverfoot Lodge

Property: Beaverfoot Lodge
Address: Beaverfoot Forest Service Road, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaverfoot Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modernized wilderness log-built lodge originally constructed as a hunting cabin in 1928, offering a relaxing atmosphere, 11 comfortable rooms and great home cooking. Adjacent to Yoho National Park in the heart of Canada's Rocky Mountains, Beaverfoot is also an ideal setting for family reunions, club meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaverfoot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing