We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaverfoot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaverfoot Lodge
Ranked #25 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Family Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in the executive cabin at the Beaverfoot Lodge and it was absolutely perfect for a family weekend getaway! The amenities were great the rink, trails for snowmobiling, sauna.
Beautiful cabin!
Big windows made it very easy to see the beautiful mountains around us.
The wood stove made the comfortable bed even more cozy!
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    18
    13
    5
    16
See reviews for
41
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My family and I went to Beaverfoot Lodge near Golden, BC for a friend's wedding. The staff was excellent. Food was amazing. We can't wait to go back for a vacation on our own. Beaverfoot knows how to host an unforgettable wedding.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The experience was so much more then imaginable.Free upgrade upon arrival!Felt like family within minutes .Raph,Catherine and kids were charming.Well worth the drive to the lodge.Accomadations superb,ambience ,food and company delightful! ......When the green woods laugh with the voice of joy, And the dimpling stream runs laughing by, ..this is a serenity fix you should'nt miss!Traveled through Montana,Alberta(Banff,Lake Louise)and Idaho on this trip in late September early October 2013, but Beaverfoot Lodge was the highlight of the trip! Hope to return someday.

Room Tip: "Cabin by lodge was great."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

When we arrived the hosts were more than accommodating. It was so easy to fall asleep. In the morning, We put a log in the stove, which started right away from the embers still hot from the previous night. Taking the dog out, I noticed the mountains that seemed to surround us. Huge snow capped mountains looking down on us. Out the window, there were horses running and eating near our cabin. We had breakfast at the lodge, and we were greeted with a smile by our hosts. There was homemade bread (several different kinds) and each one tasted so wonderful. Stay one night, if it is only just to try the bread! Everyone there seemed to love it. Coffees, teas, even decaf which I prefer. We explored the property and before we knew it the day was over! Maybe because we had no reason to keep time at a place like this. In my opinion this is a place to come if you would like to feel comfortable and cozy, have some natural and healthy home made food, and connect with nature off the beaten path.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandawideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review. It was a record summer and nice people like you make it worth the effort.
All the best and safe travels!!
Catherine, Raph and all our family and staff.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Serendipity brought us to Beaverfoot. There was very little accommodation at short notice in the Golden area, so we booked a covered wagon for two nights, knowing that this might be a bit of a risk for two people in their mid 50s who haven't camped or hostelled for 30+ years. We don't travel with sleeping bags but were able to get these from the lodge. Contrary to some of the other reviews there is nothing wrong with the matresses. The only disturbance to a good night's sleep was being dragged out of bed by my husband to see the starts at 2am. There were awesome - if you live in a town of even many parts of the developed world you will not have seen anything like it because of the reflected manmade light. Fantastic - we even saw shooting stars! The lodge is in the back of beyond but that is the point - that is why it is unspoilt! - the national park is on the other side of the river, Wapta Falls nearby. Extensive grounds on the property, nature abounds. Raph and Catherine are very friendly and welcoming. Yes it is a bit different - being oldies we would probably book the lodge if we able to visit again, but it was a really memorable hihglight in a holiday full of highlights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
The timing of your review is so much appreciated. The wagons are not for everyone but many people do love them. All the best in all your travels and your kindness did not go unnoticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here 3rd - 7th July 2013. We had originally booked to stay for 3 nights in a covered wagon but decided after 2 nights that we wanted to stay for longer and as a room was available moved into the main lodge for 2 nights (double room with a Balcony). Beaverfoot Lodge is a relaxing retreat away from it all and not just because of the long magical drive down the logging road to get there. The atmosphere created by Catherine, Raph and their kids plus the staff and other guests is what makes this such a special place to visit. The excellent, healthy and plentiful home cooked food was among the best we had on our month long tour of Canada. Catherine gave us excellent advice on where to eat and visit locally. The local white water rafting on the Kicking Horse river was amazing, Truffle pigs in nearby Field served us excellent food both recommended by Catherine.

We were Lucky enough to stay there with other lovely guests, swapping tips and advising each other on journeys to take. It felt more like one big happy family.

If you're looking for a luxury hotel / lodge then this won't be for you... but if you're looking for somewhere unique where you will be made to feel more like a welcome visiter than a customer, from eating together in the dinning room to chatting on the porch in the evenings then this could be just the place you're looking for.

You don't have to be into horses to enjoy it as we loved wandering around the grounds, using their canoes on their private lake or just looking at the amazing view from the porch. Catherine, Raph and the other staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble... When we needed to leave before breakfast one morning they made alternate arrangements just for us that meant we could make our own breakfast. This is not a large corporate hotel with inflexible rules and staff who are looking for a better job.

We had seen other guests reluctance to leave when checking out and when our time came we were in no hurry to leave either and stayed on the porch talking to Catherine until early evening.

If you are looking for a rustic ranch style retreat in a unique setting then this is for you. We loved our stay in Canada and Beaverfoot Lodge was one of the highlights... In hindsight we could and should have stayed at Beaverfoot Lodge longer...We will certainly return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SENUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you love the outdoors and want the perfect place for your wedding with accommodations for all of your guests then this is the perfect resort. The resort was able to accommodate people of all different diets with excellent food (there were Vegetarians, Gluten Free options available). Ask for the nut loaf!!! There are beautiful horses on the property that just keep to themselves making the scenery more magical, especially down by the river. Easily my favorite wedding I have ever been to! At this wedding family was in the main cabin and friends were in the covered wagons. As a guest staying in the covered wagon it was endless amounts better than a tent..spacious for 2 people!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverfoot, Manager at Beaverfoot Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks Erin it is much appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
24.0 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
24.0 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
23.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
7.7 mi away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#18 of 42 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
19.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaverfoot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaverfoot Lodge

Property: Beaverfoot Lodge
Address: Beaverfoot Forest Service Road, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaverfoot Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modernized wilderness log-built lodge originally constructed as a hunting cabin in 1928, offering a relaxing atmosphere, 11 comfortable rooms and great home cooking. Adjacent to Yoho National Park in the heart of Canada's Rocky Mountains, Beaverfoot is also an ideal setting for family reunions, club meetings and retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beaverfoot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing