We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Golden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home from home in Golden”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Five of us stayed with Jeannie at Kicking Horse Canyon B&B on a recent skiing trip to Canada from the UK. Having just come off a 9 hour flight and 3 hour drive from Calgary, it was just wonderful to be welcomed by Jeannie. We then stayed for 3 nights (and also had a further night later in the trip). It was really nice to be on the edge of Golden; the nights were so quiet. Jeannie's breakfasts were wonderful - different every day. There were always fresh buns or cakes in the afternoon. I'm just sorry that my co-trippers outvoted me and we didn't get to sample Jerry's lasagna! Then in the morning there were white tailed deer in the garden (7 of them) and of course's Jeannie's huge cuddly moose. Overall - a fantastic place to stay. So much nicer than very standard fare which typifies much Canadian accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bheald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
78
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We booked the whole lodge for 4 nights for a back-country ski vacation. Each guest had one comfortable and spacious room and we enjoyed Jeannie's amazing breakfasts, and Jerry was free to surprise us with 2 gourmet dinners. The location is ideally situated for our purpose : secluded in the midst of nature but very close to a heli-ski pad. We really enjoyed our stay and we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Only one room has its own bathroom. The other rooms share, there are enough facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This B&B was the best accommodation we stayed in throughout our 5 week stay in Canada, the only downside was that we only stayed one night! We stayed in the eagles nest room which was delightfully clean, spacious and comfortable with a luscious big bed and a lovely ensuite. We spent the evening on the private balcony with a glass of wine overlooking the garden, forest and mountains and even saw a family of deer pass by. Jeannie was a fantastic host, she recommended then booked our evening restaurant for us and in the morning cooked a delicious hearty breakfast before sending us on our way with fresh baked cookies. I would absolutely suggest this as a stop off for anyone in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach BC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a gem! We were warmly greeted by the host, Jeannie who made us tea and offered home baked goodies. This B&B is a cosy log home with everything you could possibly need.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with QS bed and ensuite with shower. The balcony overlooked the garden and forest beyond and mountains in the distance. Jeannie cooked the most amazing breakfast and the choices were amazing. More than enough food to last until dinner time! We will definitely make this a port of call when we are on our annual trip to visit our family in Manitoba. Would like to stay longer and explore the area.

Room Tip: We loved Eagle's Nest with its ensuite and wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights very much and would have liked to stay longer in the area and at Kicking Horse Canyon B&B. The place is conveniently located just outside Golden. I would recommend to stay here rather than in town which seems to have had better days. There is a lot to do and see in the area.
The room (eagle's nest) was nicely furnished, cosy and comfortable. The loghouse is fantastic and has nice large common areas. It has a true authentic feel to it. The two nights we stayed we met very nice friendly guests but if you are a less sociable type there is plenty of room to find your own corner.
Jeannie makes a fantastic generous breakfast. Our 4 year old son kept saying he wanted to go back to Jeannie's house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Ct.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The B&B is in a two story log home on a quiet hillside above the Kicking Horse Valley. Our very large room on the second floor had a balcony overlooking a mountain meadow, forests, and distance hills. A walk-through closet area led to a full bath. The bed had fleece sheets that were delightful. Downstairs was a large living room, dining room, kitchen, and TV lounge all part of the B&B. Jeannie, the owner, lives in an adjoining house. Wi-Fi was available throughout the B&B.

Breakfasts were nearly overwhelming. One morning she served croissant sandwiches with bacon and brie and also a frittata. Another morning it was pancakes, eggs, and sausage, plus nearly unlimited amounts of fresh fruit, granola, and yogurt both days.

The B&B also has a large family suite on the lower level. Three other rooms on the top level share two baths. The B&B is about five minutes off of the Trans-Canada highway, convenient to the town of Golden, the Kicking Horse Ski Area, Kicking Horse and Rogers passes, and Yoho, Glacier, and Revelstoke National Parks, as well as the entire upper Columbia Valley. The B&B is open year round for skiing and winter use.

Overall, it is an incredibly pretty mountain home in relaxing spot, and Jeanie was a great host. I would love spending a week there just doing nothing.

Room Tip: The large second floor room, "Eagles Nest", has the best views and comforts. There is a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a wonderful B&B! My boyfriend and I stumbled upon the Kicking Horse Canyon B&B while looking for a romantic, unique and quiet getaway. We were very excited to finally relax and enjoy our evening after our drive from Calgary. Let me tell you that everything about this stay made us want to come back!! The room (Eagle Nest) was cozy with a beautiful view of the moutains. Jeannie was beyond welcoming and so nice with us. And... her breakfasts are heaven!!
If you are looking for a one night stop over (which we did) or a weekend getaway this is where you want to go!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophieg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
5.1 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.9 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
2.2 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#3 of 19 in Golden
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicking Horse Canyon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicking Horse Canyon B&B

Property: Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
Address: 644 Lapp Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kicking Horse Canyon B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kicking Horse Canyon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing