We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, hospitality and accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kicking Horse Canyon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, hospitality and accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Jeanie made our stay perfect. She was so friendly and kind and was the perfect hostess. Nothing was too much trouble and she treated every guest with the same kindness. On top of this she is a brilliant cook. We couldn't wait for breakfast as every day was different with lots of fresh and homemade pancakes, frittatas, and other foods. Our room was large and spotless with a en-suite too. We couldn't have asked for more, only that we could have stayed longer. The downstairs communal area was filled with lots of interesting items, books and photos it was hard not to spend all our time me downstairs it was so comfy, instead of going out! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Eagles Nest is very big, has French doors and a balcony with en-suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing breakfast, comfortable bed, elegant decorating, and the warm hostess Jeannie. It's the best choice for stay in Golden. Three nights are not enough. We do enjoy the Kicking Horse Canyon B&B! And we'll come back absolutely!
Harry & Starry

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Jeannie became family and we made friends with the other people staying here. The breakfasts are incredible and Golden is the perfect central spot from which you can explore all the national parks. We had an amazing 2nd anniversary celebration there (stayed 8 nights). Beautiful!

Room Tip: The room downstairs is huge and has a private bath, sauna and a private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Jeannie, one of the owners of this B & B provided a warm welcome and a most lovely breakfast for us. We stayed in the basement suite, which has recently been redone quite pleasantly. The breakfast of fresh fruit with yogurt, and a lovely frittata with a variety of vegetables, as well as tasty bacon, was delicious and gluten free. Jeannie was kind enough to prepare a special meal for us, given our allergies, and it was lovely. The log home is quirkily delightful in decor, with some beautiful hand made furniture, made by her husband. Quite a fun living space, the yard pretty, and the view is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Kicking Horse Canyon B&B. It's a lovely spot, away from the central part of Golden on a beautiful piece of property with a view of the mountains. We were lucky to get the "master suite" which not only had a balcony (with that wonderful view, of course), a private shower, and a dressing room, but a huge room with beautiful linens and a huge, comfortable bed. Jeannie was a terrific hostess, serving huge breakfasts family style. What fun it was to sit around the table and discuss where to go and what we had seen with other like-minded travelers. Jeannie went out of her way for us also. Upon hearing it was just about my birthday, she baked two enormous strawberry shortcakes, invited the other guests to join with us on her spacious patio and everyone sang Happy Birthday and celebrated with us. Just delightful! The house is full of cute, whimsical decorations as well as an enormous wood burning stove! Guaranteed to delight!

Room Tip: The master suite was the only room with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This B&B is a gem. If you need to stay in Golden, or you're even thinking about it, stop here and book now.

The location is beautiful with a lovely garden and view overlooking the mountains. Jeannie is the lovely owner who made use feel like family and took care of us in the same manner. She made an already extraordinary location and layout exceptional.

We had booked the wildflower room which is a two twin room with shared bathroom on the upper floor but since there were no guests in the lower level suite she upgraded us at no cost.

The lower level suite had a queen, two twins and a couch with lots of light and a separate entrance. There is a full bathroom with a sauna which we unfortunately didn't have time to use. The beds were incredibly comfortable.

Breakfast was a feast including pancakes, bacon, eggs, yogurt, fruit salad, granola, tea, coffee, and juice.

We loved it so much that on our way back we booked again and actually stayed in the wildflower room which was lovely.

If you are worried about shared bathrooms, don't be. The shower is separate from the upstairs bath and is located on the main floor as well as a half bath. There was never an issue waiting for the bathroom.

The eagle's nest is where I plan on staying next time. We got to peek in and found a lovely bedroom with attached balcony and mountain views along with an on-suite.

The prices are very reasonable, the location is beautiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is amazing and Jeannie will make you feel like you are at home with her bright personality. Enjoy your privacy while being able to make new acquaintances from all over the world at Kicking Horse Canyon B&B.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SibinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The views are great since you are on the side of a mountain. The rooms are clean and spacious. The main floor has two common sitting areas and a large dinning area. Jeannie provides a delicious breakfast and fresh baked snacks during the day. Would highly recommend staying here even if it is a bit outside off town. About a ten minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aljovaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
5.0 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.1 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
1.4 mi away
Auberge Kicking Horse B&B
1.4 mi away
Le Beausoleil Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicking Horse Canyon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicking Horse Canyon B&B

Property: Kicking Horse Canyon B&B
Address: 644 Lapp Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kicking Horse Canyon B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kicking Horse Canyon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing