We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place and responsive service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice place and responsive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We went for a ski weekend and the location and services were really great. Unfortunately, there was a group making loud noise late Saturday night and I decided to make a call to the front desk at 2am to ask if there was something they could do. They asked for some details and a little bit after, the noise stopped. Maybe I should have asked sooner...

The staff was overall very nice and helpful. The room was small but all we needed - and clean.

We would go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Subee_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Subee_111,

Thank you very much for your review.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our team and service levels, I have passed them on. People can always get a bit carried away in a resort environment and often forget they have neighbours. We always do our absolute best to maintain a balance and keep everyone happy. I am happy to hear we were able to resolve the problem promptly, in the future please give us a call right away and we will be sure to respond immediately.

I hope you can make the trip out from Calgary once again before the end of the season for some great spring conditions!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    73
    49
    27
    21
See reviews for
87
124
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The skiing in Kicking Horse is amazing but the view from the hotel is also amazing. Waking up to the sun rising over the mountain is just awesome.

I had a great 1 bedroom suite that was very spacious and comfortable. Nice to have a full kitchen in the room to prepare meals before heading out for the day for sure.

Everyone was great and very friendly. Looking forward to my next visit before the seasons ends.

Room Tip: Get a room facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjcan8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear sjcan8119,

Thank you kindly for spending the time to share your exceptional experience us with, we greatly appreciate it!

I am thrilled to hear you really enjoyed everything! I must say the views are unbeatable whether you have a mountain or valley view!

We can't wait to have you back, make sure you mention you are a repeat guest for a special deal or join our eClub for the most exclusive offers at any Bellstar Resort in Western Canada.

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

With breathtaking mountain views, Glacier Mountaineer Lodge can offer the best experience. The suites are spacious and well equip and offers multiple advantages compared to a single room. Equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, fireplace and tv in rooms, in short, all the essential comforts of a home. Ideal for saving the costs of restaurant and rest a few minutes mid-day to recuperate. The only negative thing about this hotel is the lack of available box for storing equipment. The rest is pure happiness.

Room Tip: We chose the top floor to have the most beautiful mountain views. Between 8pm and 8am the place is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davlar_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your stellar review! We greatly appreciate the feedback.

I must admit, in terms of location and views it doesn't get much better than the Glacier Mountaineer. We are the only accommodation on hill that offers pillow to power in just a few minutes.

We are currently addressing our locker issues and will have a solution in place by next season, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope to see you again soon, please mention you are a return guest for a special deal or join our eClub by visiting our website!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This place is clean with comfortable beds. Suite has a fireplace, balcony, full kitchen and washer dryer with some clothes detergent. Really EVERYTHING you need!

There only a general store though so do pick up groceries on your way up. Also, if you are shuttling it over to Golden, and the shuttle doesn't bring you all the way up to the ski resort, expect a very bad cab service (only one cab for the whole town!) and a overpriced 50$ charge! The manager of the hotel was kind enough to come pick us up from the shuttle station, which tells you a lot about their amazing customer service, but it's not a typical service they offer, and unlikely that there is always someone available to do this...

Outdoor hot tub for each different building makes it not crowded. Truly ski in ski out. Good pub with excellent food right in the hotel (10 outdoor steps) / bottom of slopes.
Look no further, this place is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melnadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Mel,

Thank you for sharing your outstanding review with the TripAdvisor community! We appreciate it!

Firstly, it was a pleasure coming to down to pick you and your colleague up for the bus station. Personally, I know how annoying transportation can be here! We always do our best to go the extra mile, especially for fellow Montrealers!

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here (and found some powder!) and hope you had a great conference in Lake Louise!

Please mention you are a return guest for special deal upon your next visit.

Yours in hospitality,

W. Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great service! It is a bit more pricy but I recommend staying here for a great ski in/out option. Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in February and enjoyed our stayed. The suite was nice with full kitchen, very large bathroom, fireplace. Had access to hot tub, sauna and steam shower which we enjoyed after long day skiing. Loved our huge ski locker and boots warmer. When we arrived staff was just finishing preping the room from previous guest and asked us whether we need anything else. When we requested a lock for the ski locker they immediately came back with one. Upon departure again they wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abanulescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your exceptional review of the Glacier Mountaineer Lodge!

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your boyfriend at our resort. I am very happy to here we exceeded your exceptions! I must agree nothing beats a hot tub and steam after a great day on the ski hill!

Thanks again for your kind compliments regarding our staff!

Don't forget to mention our return guest rate for a special deal next time!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crib Point
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed in Mountaineer Lodge prior and this time Glacier Lodge, yes same place but different accommodation standards. In fact paid a lot more and got far less. Reception fantastic so you cannot blame the staff you meet on a daily basis; but the management and association that manages this establishment needs to open their eyes.

First up, told LAST ski locker' yes this is a problem as lockers are also occupied by non staying guests, ski school staff and others. Car Park, first in basis - no allocation to actual room, so if you want to go for a drive, good luck on getting a car park on your return.

Room - first night and when trying to hit the slopes the following morning LOCKED IN ROOM. The door would not open. Yes reception and maintenance fantastic, problem solved within a couple of minutes and then latch replaced but this should not have happened. When a memo was sent to management the answer I got was (THE OWNER WAS ONLY HERE A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO AND VERY HAPPY) The shower was an absolute joke, had to run around to find the water, yes I did manage to get replaced but again this should not happen. The TV is so antiquated in fact did not know that you could still watch TV on NON flat screen TV screens.

Fifth day and no room service, asked if we could at least get some new towels. Arranged room service and what did we get new towels and some coffee as requested. No dusting, no vacuum, no cleaning of bathroom, no changing of bed linen. You could write your name on the furnishings, so dusty!

The spa is so small, do they honestly expect this to be used as a communal spa.

Totally disappointed, our last stay was so different, their is no comparison. Has this establishment been taken over by another chain I cannot answer this but until they do something to improve Glacier Lodge I would not recommend. And yes please think again if you want to stay in the summer months, no air-conditioning

Room Tip: If you have to come here make sure you get Mountaineer Lodge NOT Glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Janet,

Last we spoke, all was well as you confirmed to me in an email that also thanked us. As I never heard back from the multiple emails and voicemails I left you during your stay, I will address your comments here.

Once again, I am very sorry for the issues you experienced during your second stay with us. Most of them are unacceptable. In regards to technology and hardware in the room, nothing has changed since your last stay, TVs and hardware are identical in the Mountaineer and Glacier Lodges. I am sorry you didn't take us up on offers to move you to an alternate suite with updated TV's and beds and I am also sorry we were not given the opportunity to make things right during your stay. We tried our best to satisfy you while you were here.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future for another ski holiday and provide you with an exceptional stay.

Should you change your mind in terms of a discussion, I am available by email or telephone at 250-439-1160 ext 7503.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed here for a extended long weekend with a group of 6. Having a ski-in/ski-out is great, especially in larger groups. You have more freedom - people can start when they want, come back early/late, take more breaks. The convenience of the location somewhat justifies the cost. However, I think the price is still quite high considering this is a three star lodge.
Our place (we got an one-bedroom +loft) was a decent size - but a little crowded for six. It would be perfect for four, but we were trying to save some money.

The place was clean and well kept. I liked that we had a kitchen. They do provide a "Starter cleaning kit" with a couple dishwashing tabs and laundry detergent packets. We ended up using the majority of the dishwashing soap on the first day since all the dishes in the cupboards were dirty. I would recommend that if you plan on using the kitchen, to bring your own dishwashing detergent - the stuff they sell at the general store on the hill is a whopping $15!!

A few downsides, which is why I didn't give the place 5/5. The beds were uncomfortable and stiff, the pullout couch was also uncomfortable (to be expected for a pullout couch). The walls are paper thin, so you can hear everything even if you close the door and you can also hear all the noise outside. Since we were facing the gondola and the hill, we didn't need alarm clocks to wake up in the morning.

The underground parking is limited. If you want underground parking, be sure to get there early, or else you'll be parking in the overflow parking lot. The ski lockers (they don't allow skis/boots up in the rooms) are also limited, so try to grab one ASAP. The lodge provides locks if you don't have one.

We had a great time here and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of the Glacier Mountaineer. We appreciate the feedback!

I must agree, our location and views are unbeatable! Our One Bedroom and Loft units are great for families or 4 people. We always have the option of adding on an adjoining unit with an additional bathroom, king or queen bed and kitchenette if you do require some more space.

I would like to offer my personal apologies for the dishware in your kitchen as that is unacceptable and most certainly does not meet our standards.

As for the bedding concerns, we are currently working on putting together a new bedding program to be presented to our owners here at the Glacier Mountaineer.

Thank you for all your helpful tips! As mentioned, we appreciate the feedback as it only helps us grow!

I hope we can welcome you back for another stay at our resort, the only place on the hill where you can go from pillow to powder in a few minutes!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
3.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Mountaineer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the base of the ski runs and just steps from the gondola are the Glacier and Mountaineer lodges. These beautiful executive style condos and rooms are fully furnished and were designed with creature comfort in mind. All condos have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and spectacular views. For your relaxation and enjoyment both lodges are equipped with a fitness room complete with a sauna, steam bath and an outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glacier Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Mountaineer Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing