We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Golden
steinbach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one nite on our way back to manitoba.We had a wonderful room well appointed.We did not ski but what a great place to stay if you ski.Right out the back of the lodge is the Gondola and Chair lifts really convenient .When we go back that way we will take advantage of the convenients .Wonderfull staff and beautiful scenery .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SteinbachGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Gord,

Thanks for your stellar review of The Glacier Mountaineer Lodge!

We absolutely cater to a die hard skiing clientele in the winter but also make for a great overnight stop with our beautiful views and scenery!

We hope to have you back for a longer stay next time!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    73
    49
    27
    21
See reviews for
87
124
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Right at the base of the gondola and on top of and near restaurants and shops. Most units have great views. Friendly staff (naturally, it's BC). The most convenient place to stay on a Kicking Horse vacation. Maintenance in the units is a bit spotty, TV does not get a lot of channels (plenty of hockey on the tube in season, of course). Wifi in the units. All in all, we've stayed there 4 years in a row and we'll be there next ski season as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraWanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear SierraWanderer2013,

Thank you kindly for your spending your time on this great review - we appreciate the feedback!

I have to agree with you, our location and views are unbeatable! Thank you for your compliment regarding the friendly service our team offers.

We are just going in to the off-season when we go through each unit and correct any issues that may have incurred throughout the season as well as general wear and tear.

We hope to see you again next year! If you are not already an eClub member, please visit our website to sign up for the best and most exclusive deals and packages that Bellstar has to offer!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

First visit to this wonderful Resort in Golden BC. Very happy with our Suite. All amenities close at hand. The resort couldn't make it any easier for die hard skiers and snow boarders with facilities just outside the resort s doors. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return again when in the Golden area.

Room Tip: Our room was facing towards the Town of Golden , Not sure if that is west. Had very quiet and restf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willliam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear William,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience as well. I must agree with you, everything is at your fingertips, well ski tips actually. We are the only accommodation to offer pillow to powder in a matter of minutes. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing stay.

Until next time!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fantastic pricing to stay right on the hill. Great accommodations and good eats! The food pricing was a bit high, but was worth every penny. All places that we ate were excellent food. The Mountaineer Lodge was also excellent. For what we paid, we were pleasantly surprised! Fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a Floor # 1 room so you are right near the hot tub & ski lockers! No elevator trips for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Christine,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and that we exceeded your expectational with an exceptional Stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meal experiences on mountain as well.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We went for a ski weekend and the location and services were really great. Unfortunately, there was a group making loud noise late Saturday night and I decided to make a call to the front desk at 2am to ask if there was something they could do. They asked for some details and a little bit after, the noise stopped. Maybe I should have asked sooner...

The staff was overall very nice and helpful. The room was small but all we needed - and clean.

We would go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Subee_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Subee_111,

Thank you very much for your review.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our team and service levels, I have passed them on. People can always get a bit carried away in a resort environment and often forget they have neighbours. We always do our absolute best to maintain a balance and keep everyone happy. I am happy to hear we were able to resolve the problem promptly, in the future please give us a call right away and we will be sure to respond immediately.

I hope you can make the trip out from Calgary once again before the end of the season for some great spring conditions!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The skiing in Kicking Horse is amazing but the view from the hotel is also amazing. Waking up to the sun rising over the mountain is just awesome.

I had a great 1 bedroom suite that was very spacious and comfortable. Nice to have a full kitchen in the room to prepare meals before heading out for the day for sure.

Everyone was great and very friendly. Looking forward to my next visit before the seasons ends.

Room Tip: Get a room facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjcan8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear sjcan8119,

Thank you kindly for spending the time to share your exceptional experience us with, we greatly appreciate it!

I am thrilled to hear you really enjoyed everything! I must say the views are unbeatable whether you have a mountain or valley view!

We can't wait to have you back, make sure you mention you are a repeat guest for a special deal or join our eClub for the most exclusive offers at any Bellstar Resort in Western Canada.

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

With breathtaking mountain views, Glacier Mountaineer Lodge can offer the best experience. The suites are spacious and well equip and offers multiple advantages compared to a single room. Equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, fireplace and tv in rooms, in short, all the essential comforts of a home. Ideal for saving the costs of restaurant and rest a few minutes mid-day to recuperate. The only negative thing about this hotel is the lack of available box for storing equipment. The rest is pure happiness.

Room Tip: We chose the top floor to have the most beautiful mountain views. Between 8pm and 8am the place is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davlar_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy C, Hotel Manager at Glacier Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your stellar review! We greatly appreciate the feedback.

I must admit, in terms of location and views it doesn't get much better than the Glacier Mountaineer. We are the only accommodation on hill that offers pillow to power in just a few minutes.

We are currently addressing our locker issues and will have a solution in place by next season, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope to see you again soon, please mention you are a return guest for a special deal or join our eClub by visiting our website!

Yours in hospitality,

Timothy Charron
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
3.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Mountaineer Lodge

Property: Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
Address: 1549 Kicking Horse Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Mountaineer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the base of the ski runs and just steps from the gondola are the Glacier and Mountaineer lodges. These beautiful executive style condos and rooms are fully furnished and were designed with creature comfort in mind. All condos have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and spectacular views. For your relaxation and enjoyment both lodges are equipped with a fitness room complete with a sauna, steam bath and an outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Mountaineer Hotel Golden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing