We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Estevan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My fiancé and I loved the GREEN CHALET. Even though the weather was cold (it snowed the day we decided to go for a quick hike + snack on the mountain top), we made the best of it and snuggled on the wrapped around deck, played cards, listened to some good tunes, warmed up in the hot tub, and sipped wine while cherishing an AMAZING view. We will definitely return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tareina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
We are so happy that you and your fiancee enjoyed your stay at the Green Chalet. We thank you for choosing Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets and hope to see you both very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
112
218
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at the Adventure Chalet after a five day backpacking trip in Kootenay National Park. It was the perfect end to our summer vacation. The Chalet was modern, cozy and well appointed. The grounds were in pristine condition and there was even a beautiful veggie garden close to our Chalet. The deck was so private, it was as if we were alone on the property. The restaurant was amazing. It was hard to leave - can't wait to go back in the winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us Michelle, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

One of the most awesome chalets we've ever stayed in. The mountain view from the deck was breath taking. We loved it and will be back soon. Thanks again Darrin!

Kelly & Russ

Edmonton, Alberta

Room Tip: Everything we needed was there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
family in motion
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I were looking for a romantic spot to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. Based upon the previous reviews we booked the Adventure Chalet and were not disappointed. The lovely restaurant, cozy chalet, private hot tub and amazing location made it the perfect destination. We will definitely return. Having such a wonderful restaurant only steps from our accommodation was perfect.

Room Tip: Adventure chalet is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Front Office Manager at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We hope that you had a wonderful 26th Wedding Anniversary and that you come back to celebrate other important dates with us very soon!

Best Regards,
Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and stayed here for one night, as part of a one week vacation in mid July 2011. I never met any of the hotel staff, as we arrived late and left early. Darrin and his staff were always easy to reach and very professional and gracious. The chalet was left open for us, since we arrived late and had been readied for our arrival - When we arrived at 10PM at the Cedar Chalet (next to the restaurant), my initial impression of the indoors was that it looked a bit like a friend's vacation home - it's furnished in a very personal, casual, comfortable and unpretentious way. There is a very comfortable lazy boy recliner in the living room. I think that the owners have wanted to anticipate guests' every wish.

What struck me the most was that this place has a special romantic feel. All the lights dim. The kitchen has everything you would need to make an intimate meal together. There is even a nightlight...and an iPod station. The furnace style fireplace had been all prepared for a fire with plenty of extra kindling. This absolutely delighted me and I make a nice low steady fire that burned through the night, kept us cozy and smelled nice. But I did wake up hot in the early morning and turned the fire even lower and let in some air... Next to the sofa in the living room, there is a sound system and music to choose from and some books....In the left corner there is a small table, with two chairs and some silk flowers in a vase with a little table cloth perfect for enjoying the romantic that you made in the kitchen. Outdoors, you'll find a patio where the hot tub is ready for you -- Darrin heats it up prior to your arrival. To the right of the hot tub is a larger table with maybe 6 chairs for sitting outside friends. To the other side is a fire pit!!! So you can enjoy a fire inside or out. Adjacent to the bedroom is a utility closet with a washer/ dryer. In the bathroom, you will find complimentary robes. This chalet has many, large windows if you like to enjoy the mountain air.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. You will be comfortable and happy here. I can highly recommend it for either a very romantic time as a couple or some fun, relaxing time with friends.

My only suggestion is that you might want to consider privacy. Cedar Chalet is not very private. This was not a huge issue for us since we arrived late and left early. But, I understand that some chalets that are recessed from the main lot and restaurant and thus more private. The Adventure Chalet was booked but it has a hot tub that is completely private with a beautiful view.

There are some pictures on the hotel website and Darrin will email you a link with photos as well. Having seen pictures before hand going there in person exceeded my expectations.

We had dinner in town at the Whitetooth Grill which has good food and very nice cocktails.

The following day, we left early to go paragliding near Mount 7, with Altitude adventures which is 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: Each chalet is slightly different, some more private than others, with different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I had seen this place on Trip Advisor before we left home and we kept it in the back of our minds for our tour. We were travelling back to Vancouver from the Rockies and needed a one night stop to break the journey. We nearly decided not to stay as the chalets are a little remote, yet only a few minutes drive to a small supermarket or to Golden itself. The owner Darrin showed us his new chalet and that's where the WOW! came in. We were hooked. The chalet, which doesn't really describe this sunsuite, had everything you could ever need including Bose sound system, TV and i pod docking system etc. It had 3 bedrooms so would be great for families or groups of friends and a hot tub was close to being finished. The views from the sun room were beautiful even though it was a bad day when we stayed. The clouds were very dramatic and the views of the mountain changed almost by the minute.
Because of the location we decided to eat in the on site restaurant which was excellent. It isn't cheap but the food was delicious- wild mushroom risotto, scallops on quinoa with a light curry sauce, surf and turf ( steak, salmon, king prawns in a sherry and tarragon sauce) and raspberry and white chocolate cheesecake.
We would have stayed longer if it wasn't that we needed to make up more ground to get back to Vancouver. Good luck Darrin you work hard for it.

Room Tip: Only saw our property really, but the web site will probably explain more about each cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

What a perfect retreat! Stunning private location with charming and unique accomidations! The service was impecable and staff friendly and ready to help with anything including setting up our white water rafting trip.

Check out the resturant!!! Outstanding food. What an unexpected surprise!!

Mike and Susan

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
top50, Owner at Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Hello there,

Thank you two so much for staying with us and I hope you enjoyed the Green Chalet and Adventure Chalet! I look forward to seeing you again this winter!
Cheers Darrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden
6.3 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
4.2 mi away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Golden
108 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palliser Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
20.3 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets

Property: Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Address: 735 Hefti Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Chalets are located 5 minutes south of Golden B.C. And provide accommodations for 1- 40 guests in 7 unique guest houses. Each chalet is privately situated among towering spruce and surrounded by mountains. All chalets feature private hot tubs, beautifully decorated interiors, locally milled wood accents, comfy beds with warm down duvets, spacious bathrooms, full kitchens,wireless internet, TV's, wood stoves, and private decks with hot tubs and gas BBQ. All private chalets are conveniently located within a short stroll to our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing