We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water damaged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Best Western here in Golden Bc and were very disappointed. There is a big hole in the roof when you walk in that workers were working in. Above the pool you can see the ceiling is soaked and about to fall in. (I'm not joking). They must have had water damage very recently in the ceiling/roof and the rooms are very humid resulting in poor sleeps for myself. If you are contemplating staying here I would suggest that you call ahead and ask if the problems with the roof have been fixed. At least the staff were friendly, but I would have liked to be informed of the situation before I reserved a room in advance. Thank you and I hope this review is helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank brydon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not enjoy a restful stay. We experienced an unfortunate and sudden occurrence with broken roof drain during your visit. Our maintenance crew worked quickly to ensure that no water leaked into any guest rooms and was instead diverted into our lobby and pool area. The roof drain has since been repaired, and the lobby and pool ceiling are currently undergoing a complete revitalization. We aspire to provide every guest with a comfortable stay and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Golden in the future. – Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mountainview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The hotel comes in a bit pricey when compared to other three-star hotels in Golden. It's still well-located for someone looking for a cheaper hotel along highway 1 and it is within walking distance of restaurants along the strip, though walking to downtown Golden is a stretch. For all the skiers out there, there's no jacuzzi by the pool, though you can go to the Prestige hotel next door (same owner). Most bizarrely, many hotels in the area include breakfast in the price, but the BW charges extra. As for the rooms themselves, well outfitted with a flat screen TV and wifi. That being said, wifi service is middling, with upload/download speeds in the 1-2 Mbps range, though service was reliable. The rooms themselves had thin walls, which didn't bother us after an exhausting couple of days on the slopes, but for light sleepers, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor, that's apparently where they put all the people with pets.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your Ski trip to Golden. I am glad that you enjoyed the amenities featured in your guest room. We are currently working with our WIFI provider to boost the signal in our mountainous location. I have passed your comments on to our management team in Golden for further review. We look forward to your next visit. - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed for business on October 17, 2013 and was delighted by the charming girl at the desk. It was within walking distance to many things, gas station, liquor store and a bar/restaurant. When I woke up in the morning I went for some breakfast and the funny funny lady at the breakfast bar made me laugh the whole time and cooked me the most delicious breakfast sandwich. Fresh and home made. my room was so large and the bathroom was gigantic. I was in room 110. The pool is Ok but not spectacular. The scenery is great. I read the other reviews and was worried but not anymore. Really a pleasant experience. Only thing was breakfast only open at 7:30am

Room Tip: it doesn't have a restaurant, I was rating the breakfast meal that the little bistro cooked for...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay! Thank you for choosing to stay with us despite your hesitation. We had the opportunity to pleasantly surprise you - thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay! - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We always try and stay with best western but this although clean was very poor value we should have continued down the road . At 189 dollars we should have gone to revelstoke . The only good thing was we could walk to dinner .

Room Tip: Stay away this hotel seems to cater to truck drivers who like to warm up the rigs outside your room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I apologize that you felt you did not receive the value for your stay. I have passed your comments on to our management team for further review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next stay. - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Way too expensive for what you get! Check-in late and front desk clerk was rude, not a good start. The room was ok. The beds are comfy and bathroom is clean.. but the carpets were dirty! Lots of stains, there was a weird light smell when we got in the room. The hallways carpets as well, so old too. The next morning we tried the pool.. oh my god, don't go! So disgusting. So much sand and dirt in the bottom of the pool. I wonder how often they clean it! I usually don't have to stop in Golden but if I would have to again, I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LysChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is so important to improving our hotel and maintaining services standards. I apologize that you did not encounter our usual high standards of service. Please be assured that your feedback has been instrumental and our team in Golden is addressing your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit. - Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Holy crap, the rates here are over the top... Golden seems to have way over priced average motels and others that are low cost and low end. We usually stay at best Western when one is available and that's how we ended up here. The staff was at best indifferent, the room was clean but plain and stuffy, the halls were dirty. They need much higher standards. To add to the insult, the "free" breakfast that is expected at Best Westerns is absent here, and at these prices, that's the least they could do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations and that you did not feel that you received a true value. I have passed your feedback on to our management team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Golden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Inn is a very standard roadside hotel, just off the highway. It is container-built with regular rooms, nothing bad but nothing exciting to tell. All is clean, all is standard, the views are onto the parking lot which is quite spacious.

There are limited dining options close to the hotel but a nice diner just down the road.

Breakfast is served in a small café opposite reception. We had booked a room with breakfast (and seemed to be the only ones), but the reception would not recognise the rate and refuse to give us a breakfast voucher. I had to insist and show the reservation printout until the receptionist rather unwillingly produced the voucher. The attendant at the cafe was equally unattentive, but the quality of the food was sufficient.

A regular clean choice next to the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Mountainview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Golden. We greatly value your feedback as it is very important in improving our training, service and hotel. I have passed your comments on to our management team for review. We hope to see you again on your next trip! – Sonu Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#6 of 18 in Golden
474 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.0 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 18 in Golden
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 18 in Golden
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountainview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountainview Inn

Address: 1024 11th Street North | Box 2400, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: £79 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountainview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel situated off the Trans Canada Highway, 45 minutes west of Lake Louise. Spectacular mountain views. Deluxe family-size guestrooms, indoor heated swimming pool and guest laundry. Each guestroom features deluxe furnishings, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board and pay-per-view movies. Close to National Parks, hiking, skiing, golfing, whitewater rafting, snowmobiling and heli-skiing. Sport and Lifestyle packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Mountainview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainview Hotel Golden
Best Western Golden
Golden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing