We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cranbrook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

My teenaged son and I travelled to Golden for a hockey tournament. I had booked a room using an accomodation website, but when we arrived at the hotel to check in, the front desk staff volunteered the lower rate that they offer to organized sports teams. I appreciated that! I asked for a quiet room, and so was given a room on the top floor (apparently quieter) and had no problem. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious enough to enable us to spread out hockey equipment to dry.
The front desk was very willing to give me a late check-out. Even so, I wanted to go for a run/jog after checking out, and they allowed me to come back to the hotel and shower in the pool change room. Overall, I would say that the hotel staff and managers did everything reasonable to make our stay better. Incidently, most of the chain hotels in Golden are right on the Trans-Canada Highway (busy and noisy); the Best Western is a block further away & I think this makes a significant difference.

  • Liked — The hotel staff went out of their way to accomodate our particular needs
  • Disliked — Is located near highway strip & industrial area, but so are nearly all Golden hotels
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MtSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    103
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
109
121
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 July 2006

The hotel looks ok from the outside, but inside it is very old and a little smelly. The rooms are quite old, as are the towels and furniture. There is a little fridge in the room, but no microwave.

The promised "high speed" internet was the slowest that I've experienced on my cross country road trip. Often the connection failed all together.

Considering that they initially wanted to charge me $150 to stay the night, it's definitely a poor value. I would not stay here again, or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 March 2006

If you are looking for a reasonable overnight stay in the small mountain town of Golden, then definitley check out the Best Western Mountainview Inn. The staff are professional and are always interested in chit chatting about the area and what there is to do. We have stayed at many hotels as we travel quite frequently and we found the service here to be top notch. It was very apparent that the staff care about the guest and that they really want to make sure everything is taken care of. The rooms are tidy, a little out dated but the desk clerk said they would be getting some new upgrades this year, we will be back to see the changes and to enjoy the excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2005

My wife and I stayed at this hotel, for one night. This was one night too many. I know one's expectations should be low, when staying at roadside motels. But, this place had no air conditioning, and the staff was unbelievably rude. I wrote a letter to the management of the motel, and the senior management of Best Western, but received no response. The place was dirty, filled with ants. Would not suggest this place to my worst enemy. Hotels are limited in the area, but there should something better than this.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MichaelChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
449 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 19 in Golden
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountainview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountainview Inn

Property: Best Western Mountainview Inn
Address: 1024 11th Street North | Box 2400, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountainview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel situated off the Trans Canada Highway, 45 minutes west of Lake Louise. Spectacular mountain views. Deluxe family-size guestrooms, indoor heated swimming pool and guest laundry. Each guestroom features deluxe furnishings, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board and pay-per-view movies. Close to National Parks, hiking, skiing, golfing, whitewater rafting, snowmobiling and heli-skiing. Sport and Lifestyle packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountainview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountainview Hotel Golden
Best Western Golden
Golden Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing